We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC but good place to stay.”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC but good place to stay.”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Happy to say my first impressions of the hotel were wrong. As my boyfriend had booked the hotel I did'nt know what to expect. I was Feeling a tad worried as we were led up a shabby looking staircase, passing the broken glassed door and into our room. But once in, our room was lovely! Clean, spacious and with a lovely little balcony over looking the sea front. If you can get over the odd bit of chipped paint and dodgy looking plastering it had a shabby chic feel to it (which you get with older buildings) Also, special mention to the staff who were always polite and friendly ( despite being moaned at by some family who had definitely got out of bed the wrong side that mornings) all in all, loved it and even stayed for an extra night on possibly the most comfortable hotel bed ever!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to write your review - really appreciate your straightforward and honest comments - my team were delighted to read them and that you enjoyed your visit.
Looking forward to welcoming you back the next time!

Kind Regards,
Gurnake Cheema
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    99
    67
    35
    24
See reviews for
50
139
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My first impression of the hotel was that it looked shabby. On closer inspection it was very shabby and could do with a lick of paint or two to freshen it up. The glass was smashed on the hallway door we went through to get to our room. The layout of the room was okay but it was very run down, the central heating didn't work, none of the lights above the mirrors worked, the toilet seat was broken, there was no water from one of the sink taps and the shower didn't work properly. The bathroom could definitely do with a re-vamp and the carpet (very unhygienic in a shared bathroom I thought) should be replaced. My parents room downstairs was slightly better quality however the bathroom was very narrow and the toilet was at a very strange angle right next to the sink so you could brush your teeth while sitting on the toilet if you wanted to!! On the plus side the owners were very friendly, the service was good, the breakfast was adequate the towels and bedding were clean. I think the owners have recently taken over this hotel and if they invested a bit of money I think this hotel could be greatly improved and could be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodwido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Manager at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review. We appreciate both negative and positive comments from our guests as this enables us to continually review our service standards

We deeply regret that you found your room and the general décor for the hotel less than satisfactory. You are indeed correct in stating that we have only recently taken over the Lansdowne, and, stated on our website, we are in fact in the process of refurbishing the entire building with the specific intention of becoming at the very least, one of the best hotels in Hastings.

We are most grateful for your constructive comments, and would respond as follows:
The glass in the hallway fire door was cracked just prior to your arrival. It was not replaced during your stay as we like to keep noise, mess and inconvenience of our guests to the absolute minimum. As soon as the adjoining rooms became empty, it was replaced.

With regards to the central heating not working. In fact, as the temperature at the time was significantly in excess of ten degrees, the central heating was turned off, but electric radiators and convection heaters are readily available to all our guests on request should they prefer a warmer environment. It is for this reason hat we have someone on duty 24 hours a day, seven days a week and stress that guests should contact the staff should they have any requirements of queries.

The lights above the mirrors were replaced as soon as we were aware of the problem. Sadly, we were not aware of a problem with the water supply or the shower, and have had both of these checked.

We were pleased to note that your parents found the newly refurbished room they were given satisfactory - As stated, we are in the process of refurbishing to quite a high standard not withstanding the limitations of design in a building that is over 100 years old. With regard to the design and layout of the bathroom, our options were quite limited without major structural work, which is why the bathroom is arranged in this fashion.

We were delighted to note that you found our staff friendly, the linen and bedding clean and were satisfied with our breakfasts. All the beds, linen and towels are new.

Again, you are entirely correct in stating that the hotel can be greatly improved and this is in the process of being addressed – you may have noticed for example that during your time here, the front walls were being stripped, ready for such maintenance as is required and re painting.

As stated on our website, full renovation is in progress and when we complete it, this will be a magnificent hotel. We do, however, feel that the word “shabby” is somewhat undeserved – certainly the décor is dated, and it does need the ongoing refurbishment, but it is, we feel somewhat better than shabby, as many of our guests both past and present will confirm.

Sincerely

G. Cheemwa
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I have seen pictures of the hotel at various booking sites and at TripAdvisor prior to our arrival. After visiting the hotel I have absolutely no clue as to where in the hotel these photos were taken. If taken at the Lansdowne Hotel they must have hired a very skilled photographer and a brilliant photo editor!

From the outside, the hotel looked like a repair and paint job would be very welcome. Inside the hotel, everything appeared somewhat clean, but the room and public areas were so old and in need of maintenance, that it will not be able to appear clean at any time.

We had a standard room with a view of the courtyard behind the hotel. The door to the room was mostly like a cupboard door and in order to stay closed, it had to be locked by key from the inside. Though the window in the room was closed, there was still a gap of about 1 cm in the left side and a window glass in the bathroom was broken. The wooden panels in the bathroom were starting to rot. The beds were relatively comfortable and there was even a trouser press, a hair dryer and a kettle with complimentary coffee and tea.

Based on the general condition of the hotel, we were concerned about the food hygiene and therefore somewhat reluctant to have drinks and breakfast. The breakfast turned out to be a quite reasonable breakfast, with cereals, yoghurt and hot meals as well.

The staff was very friendly and sure, it's a place to sleep, however I would prefer to stay at some other hotel if I should come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phm1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Manager at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 30 April 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to write and post your comments and concerns on Trip Advisor. I only wish we had the opportunity to resolve any concerns you had at the time of your stay, if any issues had been brought to our attention we would have dealt with it immediately. We are most grateful for your comments and are revising our refurbishment schedule in order to address them.

It is our understanding that in accordance with our policy and staff training, you were asked what kind of accommodation they required and requested room within the price bracket of the room that was allocated.

The pictures placed on the website of photographs of our newly refurbished rooms. The fact that the hotel is under new management and we are currently in the process of carrying out refurbishment of the entire hotel is clearly stated on the website.

In order to allay some of your doubts, we wish to emphasise that none of the photographs on the website have in any way been edited. Renovation of the exterior of the hotel is currently in progress; the interior is cleaned meticulously on a daily basis. As stated, the interior is also in the process of being renovated.

As our regular fire inspections will attest, the doors to all rooms, in order to comply with the stringent fire regulations applicable throughout the United Kingdom, are considerably more solid than a cupboard door.

All the beds are new and were selected for comfort and quality, so we were delighted to hear that they were comfortable. In addition, we would very much like to emphasise that all our kitchen staff are highly accomplished and fully cognizant of food hygiene procedures and our kitchens are maintained to a scrupulous exacting standard of cleanliness.

It is nice to know, however, that even in the face of such deeply regrettable stress you appreciated the facilities provided in our and quality of our breakfasts. It is also good to know that the friendliness of our staff was of some comfort.

I do hope this experience will not deter you from using the Lansdowne Hotel again in the future Should you have any queries or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,
Gurnake Cheema
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stay one night, good location,very friendly people , parking ok, room ok, worth the price, will recommend good value for money

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymonduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The room we stayed in (11) was excellent. It was large, had a very comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. The view was excellent, and the balcony was a bonus. The rest of the hotel was a little average though, the lounge area seemed nice, but the hall ways, entrence, and and foyer were more like a run down hostel. Overall pleasent stay, and would recommend it to a couple looking for value for money, and a comfy weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiinLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

A pleasant Building on the seafront with some gorgeous, unobscured views of sea and nice balconies on the first floor rooms. The hotel is right in the midle of hastings, and a stones throw from the town centre [a two minute walk in either direction]. The Owners - Olga and Gurnake, along with all the staff are freindly and understanding. They bent over backwards to accomodate me putting up with my pedantic nature without batting an eyelid.
Remarkly flexible multi lingual staff - i dont know how many languages they speak collectively, but i counted at least six. their barman - Michael seems fluent in Polish, french, german, itallian and latin that i could identify and possibly more.. I suspoect they select their staff very carefully.

The rooms are more than large enough [and i arrived with a truckload of books, papers etc. The beds are some of the most comfortable i have come across, the showers are nice and powerful, even on the third and fourth floors - water always hot!

The rooms are cleaned regularly, the bar- well stocked and reasonably priced is open into the small hours and happy to remain so as long as anyone wishes it to be so [ Four a.m. was the latest i left the bar] - please note that from upstairs you cant hear a thing - and i tried.

The meals are great; more than sufficeint and well prepared. prices reasonable and as i discovered they are more than happy to reduce teh rates for those peole taying for an extended period.

Yes, they are currently undergoing a rolling refurbishment, but i was there for over a month and was neither disturbed not inconvenienced by the work. in fact they have just opened some magnificanet suites on the top floor that are as good as if not better in my opinion than the best of the rest in hastings.

Its a nice oplace with friendly people who seem to really want to help. If you ask they will cater for just about any diet you ask for and yes they will do yo an alligator sandwhich if you ask in advance - theres a butchers round the corner who sells alligator among other things..

Lovely town, lovely peole, loads to see and do. I would reccomend both the town and the lansdowne hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soapcrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I travelled to Hastings with my partner, to catch up with family and friends whom i haven't seen for over 4 years. Our stay at the Lansdowne Hotel made the entire holiday even more worthwhile as Olga, Michal and the team were extremely friendly and welcoming, always eager to share a conversation. Our room (11) was exceptional-large and with plenty of light thanks to the large windows, and access onto the balcony to take on board the sea view. The shower room was perfect for our needs, and there was plenty of room for our clothes and accessories. All in all we were overjoyed with our stay and look forward to when another opportunity arises to sample the delights of this hotel once again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepertony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
245 reviews
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing