We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner shame about the staff.”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in a room that was yet to be refurbished on the ground floor next to lift. The owner was very welcoming shame about the rest of staff. We were served the wrong breakfast twice when asked to send them back waitress was very rude. When checking out although reception was manned we only saw her back as she was looking at computer the whole time. We were told to leave key on counter. There was no goodbye. Great location but attitude of staff would put me off staying again

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chasndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We were both surprised and distressed to receive your comments regarding our staff. Obviously, a hotel is only ever as good as its staff and customer relations are subsequently always paramount.

That you should have encountered one example of such poor behaviour in our hotel is reprehensible; that you encountered two is deplorable. and i must admit that we were thoroughly astounded as all our staff are employed on the clear understanding that any form of rudeness or inconsiderate behaviour toward guests will result in immediate dismissal.

It is a great shame that you waited form April until August to pass this information on. Having stayed here you will be aware that we greet most of our guests in person when there is time, and it is our policy to make it clear to them that we are always available should they have any problems or be in an way dissatisfied.

Unfortunately, due to the delay between the incidents to which you refer and your notification in the form of your review, it is proving difficult to identify the culprits. Our inquiries are however continuing and we will not rest until they have been identified and, if still working for us, summarily dismissed without pay, at which time you will be notified accordingly.

In the meantime we can only offer our sincere apologies and ask that you forward any description or details of these reprobates that yo might recall.

Sincerely,


Mr and Mrs Cheema,
Lansdowne Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for one night. Good, friendly check in. Balcony room which was very nice. Clean, fresh and modern. Also a fridge in the room. The shower room was small and had not been renovated which was a shame as it was the only down side of the room, hopefully they will be updating this as it does really need it.

Close to the Old Town and the theatre.

Unfortunately we woke up too late for breakfast so I cannot comment but they do have a bar menu and room service (including breakfast).

Underground parking across the road, although the gates are locked from 11pm until the morning.

We went to the theatre and when we got back it was lovely to sit out on the balcony with a glass of wine overlooking the sea.

All in all very nice for the price and would definately stay there again if in Hastings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your favourable comments on your Lansdowne Hotel experience. We were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and services lived up to your expectations.

We are also pleased that you were happy with your room and it is correct that the En Suite has not been refurbished yet but this is to be addressed in the near future.

We look forward to hosting you again at our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Olga & Gurnake Cheema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The Lansdowne is in beautiful location. At night with the window open you can hear the waves.
The hotel is in an on going period of refurbishment. We booked a deluxe double, fully refurbished on the top floor. This was an excellent room, lovely bathroom, LCD TV, spacious, fantastic sea views (Room 25). The extra touches of a bottle of wine and mineral water were pleasant surprises and most welcome. Breakfast was of excellent quality and having stayed in many hotels including 5* this was a rare occasion of breakfast being hot when served and not lukewarm as so often is the case
The owners were very pleasant and helpful. We didn't use the bar but its a great area with TV and Computer available. It is easy to walk to shops bars and restaurants from the hotel.

The lift to the top floor is a necessity, but it is a bit scary! It is exceedingly small - max 2 people. It got stuck a couple of times (not with anyone in it!) and made us quite apprehensive, but I don't think we could have made it up the stairs!

We had a second room booked for a friend. A single with sea view. The room itself was lovely had a double bed and triple bunks. The downside was the bathroom which has not been refurbished. It was clean but not desirable. I don't think I could have had a shower in it (maybe I am a bit fussy!). I do think it could be clearer which rooms have been refurbished on the website. The price was half that of a double room.
However it is clear on the website that the hotel being refurbished

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had 5 star treatment at all times.
The room was lovely, modern, bright and comfy and the complementary tea and coffee was a lovely touch.
The food was exceptional for the price.
The Wi-fi was a great advantage, eventough I had brought my own laptop, they had a PC set up for usage.
The hotel is very well situated to get to the centre of the town.
We would like to thank them once again for a lovely 4 night break. We had a fantastic time and will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurrowsLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay at the Lansdowne Hotel. We are committed to providing excellent service to our guests and any appreciation goes a long way in motivating our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Lansdowne Hotel.

Best Regards,

Olga & Gurnake Cheema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have just completed a Bowls Tour, staying at the Lansdowne Hotel for three nights. We took 26 people and the coach driver. We all found that the hotel rooms were nice and large and very comfortable. The breakfasts were everything that a good breakfast should be and the staff were very helpful and friendly. When all the decorating is finished, This Hotel will be one of the Best in Hastings. We have already told them that we would deffinately return when next in Hastings.
Spinney Hill Park Bowls Club Leicester.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornerstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your favourable comments on your Lansdowne Hotel experience. We were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and services lived up to your expectations. We look forward to hosting your group again at our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Olga & Gurnake Cheema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

On arrival the front of the hotel looked very tired and in need of decoration. Once inside the staff member who greeted us was very polite and friendly. He took our luggage and showed us to the room leaving immediately with no explanation of how to contact reception via the phone or how to get an outside line. The room, number 22 was clean as was the shower room. The towels and bedding were white and spotless. However I would not consider it a deluxe room as it was sold to me for the following reasons. There is no information in the room at all! No explanation on how to use the phone or what time meals are available, what time check-out is, none of which was explained during our very brief check-in either. There is a kettle in the room but nothing in the bathroom to indicate whether the water is drinking water or not. The windows were dirty and the divan bed had no cover on the bottom half. The hallways are grotty looking and the carpets prevent the fire doors from opening and closing properly. The location was maybe worth £75 but the room really wasn't. I have read the managements response to other review on this site and if they do want to be classed as one of the better hotels in Hastings then I would suggest they pay more attention to detail, ie covering the lower divan and stop using cheap toilet paper.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A-MacDon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

There is a nostalgia for these old crumbling run down seaside hotels for the British but for this American on business I don't see the charm. Spoiled on luxury hotels, I can't see past the cramped halls and dirty carpets. And what's with no hot water. The view was fantastic, and the manager was cordial.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms with seaside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

Dear Guest

We were deeply saddened to receive your recent comments, and feel compelled to offer both our apologies and some degree of explanation,

IT is an unfortunate fact of life that Hastings, being a place of incomparable historic significance even in a country like Great Britain - [First settled in the Bronze Age and the scene of many battles listed as far back as the eighth century, then becoming a Cinque port and standing in the first line of defence of these shores against Napoleon, then of course the site of the Battle of Hastings  between the armies of William of Normandy and King Harold, and recently the home of the beginning of television,], is riddled with ancient and historic buildings.

Of which the Lansdowne hotel is a [relatively] recent example, being built roughly 100 years ago by Roberston, the first major player to build on land that is still known as Ameria Grounds after it was wrested from those who settled here and gave it it's name almost 100 years beforehand by the crown and the church.

The building is in itself of considerable historic significance and - being rather old, could well be said to be somewhat convoluted - an unavoidable consequence of the architectural style of that era.

We can but apologize if you feel that the hotel was misrepresented in any way and assure you that while we constantly review and revise the information on our website, we will re consider  the current format with your comments in mind.

Regarding the carpets, We are, as is clearly stated on our website in the midst of a rolling refurbishment operation, and no matter what protective measures are taken, it seems that dust, plaster and paint have remarkably penetrative properties. This is immensely embarrassing, but while we do replace the carpets periodically, we endeavour to minimize such works on order to avoid passing on the cost to our valued guests.

The rooms on the top two floors are some distance form the boilers and therefore there is an inevitable delay of up to perhaps a minute and a half before hot water reaches them. There are plans afoot to entirely re plumb the system but this has to wait for other works to be completed as significant structural alterations will be required.

We understand from your review that yo also had some problems with the shower. Regarding this matter, we can only point out that the I.E.E. [institute of Electrical Engineers] regulations regarding such appliances are quite specific an in this case stipulate that the shower be isolated by means of a switch placed OUTSIDE the shower room.
We try to make this apparent but it appears that you were not shown how to operate it, for which we can but apologize, although we would point out that we do have staff in attendance 24 hours a day, 7 days a week who are trained to assist in resolving any problems of this sort and to facilitate your stay to the best of their ability if called upon to do so.


We thank you for your recommendation of our refurbished rooms, but for the benefit of those who read it, would point out that the significantly higher standard of these rooms is reflected in the price.

We deeply regret that your stay was unsatisfactory and can only assure you that having owned the hotel for less than a year, we constantly strive to improve both the standards of the accommodation and the service in every way and are doing so on a daily basis.

Should you choose to revisit us in the future we are sure you will be delighted with the ongoing changes.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
897 reviews
0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Rock Hotel
The White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing