We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, friendly & ideally situated”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
DeuxServes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“comfortable, friendly & ideally situated”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were made to feel welcome by all the staff for the duration of our stay. The hotel is currently under refurbishment and we were lucky to stay in one of the newly improved rooms. It was clean, tidy & welcoming. the double bed was very comfy and the bed linen was crisp and clean. The room had extensive views over Hastings seafront. Lots of available channels on the flat screen TV, trouser-press, tea/coffee and bottled water was provided in our room. There was a fridge for use and some toiletries provided in the bathroom.
Free WiFi. There is a bar/TV lounge were you can meet other guests and also where you can get food in the evening if wanted. Here there is also a computer to use if you didn't bring your own. There is a wide choice of breakfast with all cooked food cooked fresh to order.
There is no onsite parking, but the underground car park opposite has CCTV, is locked at night and cost £6 for 24 hours.
We had an enjoyable stay and would certainly bok again if we visit Hastings in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    99
    64
    31
    22
See reviews for
49
133
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
301 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I must have visited the wrong website, as it was advertised as a 4 star hotel and as we have stayed in The Thistle in Brighton which is 4 star, we had some expectations.

However, when we arrived we could see the sign saying it was 3 star, but actually I think that it should be rated 2 stars.

The room was very small, if one person wanted to get to the wardrobe or loo, the other had to sit on the bed as there was not enough room to pass each other (and we are not fat people!) The "en suite" was slightly bigger than a wardrobe with dodgy plumbing!

The shower was actually fine, quite a good one in fact, but the toilet was coming away from the floor and didn't flush properly.

The walls are thin, so you can hear other guests. I dreaded staying, but actually the bed itself was very comfortable and so was the bedding and temperature.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, car parking was £6 for 24 hours.

We didn't eat there, but noticed a small bar on our way into reception.

I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishboneWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel was just how it was described on line, brilliant location with sea views, clean and presentable, breakfast served was more than plentiful, located on sea front and close to all amenities.On a negative note it would have beneficial if I had been told what floor I was on when I booked as on arrival I was allocated the top floor and as I don't like lifts that was a lot of stairs to walk up!
Would definately recommend a visit to the Lansdowne.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay at the Lansdowne Hotel. We are committed to providing excellent service to our guests and any appreciation goes a long way in motivating our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Lansdowne Hotel.

Best Regards,
Mr and Mrs Cheema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in a room that was yet to be refurbished on the ground floor next to lift. The owner was very welcoming shame about the rest of staff. We were served the wrong breakfast twice when asked to send them back waitress was very rude. When checking out although reception was manned we only saw her back as she was looking at computer the whole time. We were told to leave key on counter. There was no goodbye. Great location but attitude of staff would put me off staying again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest,

We were both surprised and distressed to receive your comments regarding our staff. Obviously, a hotel is only ever as good as its staff and customer relations are subsequently always paramount.

That you should have encountered one example of such poor behaviour in our hotel is reprehensible; that you encountered two is deplorable. and i must admit that we were thoroughly astounded as all our staff are employed on the clear understanding that any form of rudeness or inconsiderate behaviour toward guests will result in immediate dismissal.

It is a great shame that you waited form April until August to pass this information on. Having stayed here you will be aware that we greet most of our guests in person when there is time, and it is our policy to make it clear to them that we are always available should they have any problems or be in an way dissatisfied.

Unfortunately, due to the delay between the incidents to which you refer and your notification in the form of your review, it is proving difficult to identify the culprits. Our inquiries are however continuing and we will not rest until they have been identified and, if still working for us, summarily dismissed without pay, at which time you will be notified accordingly.

In the meantime we can only offer our sincere apologies and ask that you forward any description or details of these reprobates that yo might recall.

Sincerely,


Mr and Mrs Cheema,
Lansdowne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here for one night. Good, friendly check in. Balcony room which was very nice. Clean, fresh and modern. Also a fridge in the room. The shower room was small and had not been renovated which was a shame as it was the only down side of the room, hopefully they will be updating this as it does really need it.

Close to the Old Town and the theatre.

Unfortunately we woke up too late for breakfast so I cannot comment but they do have a bar menu and room service (including breakfast).

Underground parking across the road, although the gates are locked from 11pm until the morning.

We went to the theatre and when we got back it was lovely to sit out on the balcony with a glass of wine overlooking the sea.

All in all very nice for the price and would definately stay there again if in Hastings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your favourable comments on your Lansdowne Hotel experience. We were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and services lived up to your expectations.

We are also pleased that you were happy with your room and it is correct that the En Suite has not been refurbished yet but this is to be addressed in the near future.

We look forward to hosting you again at our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Olga & Gurnake Cheema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The Lansdowne is in beautiful location. At night with the window open you can hear the waves.
The hotel is in an on going period of refurbishment. We booked a deluxe double, fully refurbished on the top floor. This was an excellent room, lovely bathroom, LCD TV, spacious, fantastic sea views (Room 25). The extra touches of a bottle of wine and mineral water were pleasant surprises and most welcome. Breakfast was of excellent quality and having stayed in many hotels including 5* this was a rare occasion of breakfast being hot when served and not lukewarm as so often is the case
The owners were very pleasant and helpful. We didn't use the bar but its a great area with TV and Computer available. It is easy to walk to shops bars and restaurants from the hotel.

The lift to the top floor is a necessity, but it is a bit scary! It is exceedingly small - max 2 people. It got stuck a couple of times (not with anyone in it!) and made us quite apprehensive, but I don't think we could have made it up the stairs!

We had a second room booked for a friend. A single with sea view. The room itself was lovely had a double bed and triple bunks. The downside was the bathroom which has not been refurbished. It was clean but not desirable. I don't think I could have had a shower in it (maybe I am a bit fussy!). I do think it could be clearer which rooms have been refurbished on the website. The price was half that of a double room.
However it is clear on the website that the hotel being refurbished

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had 5 star treatment at all times.
The room was lovely, modern, bright and comfy and the complementary tea and coffee was a lovely touch.
The food was exceptional for the price.
The Wi-fi was a great advantage, eventough I had brought my own laptop, they had a PC set up for usage.
The hotel is very well situated to get to the centre of the town.
We would like to thank them once again for a lovely 4 night break. We had a fantastic time and will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurrowsLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay at the Lansdowne Hotel. We are committed to providing excellent service to our guests and any appreciation goes a long way in motivating our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Lansdowne Hotel.

Best Regards,

Olga & Gurnake Cheema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing