We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff, Dirty Rooms and Common areas Avoided like the black plague!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Staff, Dirty Rooms and Common areas Avoided like the black plague!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The look of the outside looks nothing like it does on the website and upon arriving i can see why! the building looks like it hasn't been looked after in years, once inside the reception in the corridor is old and the fact that theirs no customer service from the staff who i have to say are rude and dismisal.

Taken to my room and then all i can say what a huge dissapointment from the pics are all i have to say complete LIES! my room was old and run down, dirty carpets, dirty cups, dust on top of lamps and mirrors and the mould in the bathroom was the worst iv seen in years which is probably about the lenghth of time since it was replaced and the smell, i dont even want to mention.

Come evening time it was getting cold and did the heating work! NO cold room which made it unpleasent to be in, shower didnt work either and after talking to the rude manager whom of which spent most of his time on his computer in the bar with his mates around making it feel uncomfortable for a single woman to be in i went back to my room to '' run the water for a while till it works'' as the ''manager'' said to do this and he also told me that the owners had no intention off dealing with this issue in the forseable future, nice to know that they dont care and all there after is your money by the sounds of it.

Next morning woke up before my meeting to a VERY VERY COLD room, seems they dont put the heating on to save on costs which i think is very poor. breakfast was ok but i wish i hadn't added this to the room charge when booking as i dont think it was value for money

And when checking out no one to be seen at reception there great customer service for you.

All in all i would not stay here again or even reccomend it to my worst enemy, after looking there seen to be alot better places to stay for you money in the area even if it is a b&b.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel and stay well clear of this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterSb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Madam,
 
 
Firstly, please allow us to apologise for the problem with the hot water. This is an old and historically significant building, being one of the structures erected by the first person to build on what was originally the America Grounds and a self declared independent state of America, when the crown and church together re possessed it.

We were deeply concerned to read your comments regarding our Bed and Breakfast establishment, although frankly confounded by some of the details we were appalled by your experience.
I say confounded because you mention a number of rather confusing issues: Firstly, you state that the outside looks nothing like the photo on the website – I can assure you that this is indeed the same building.  Furthermore, redecoration of the exterior was completed somewhat less than six months ago.

The interior, likewise has been in the process of redecoration for some time and all the public areas, as well as most of the rooms have been completely overhauled and while we have retained the wood panelled reception area this is because we feel that genuine wood is far more tasteful that shiny plastic.  It is a matter of taste and I can assure you that all areas are fully maintained.  The carpets are new, all walls, woodwork etc well cared for.

We would respectfully point out that to state publicly, especially on so prominent a website as Trip Advisor that we tell “lies” is tantamount to slander, and we are now considering legal advice regarding any future statements of such an egregious nature. We do not begrudge the right of the individual to their own opinions, feelings and free speech, but there are limits. Especially when such statements are not in fact accurate.

With regard to our night manager spending time n the bar on his computer, we were in the habit of allowing this when the hotel is quiet, as we felt that the presence of a member of staff in the lounge might actually make solitary guests feel more comfortable, but on the basis of your report, we have now dismissed both the manager and the staff with whom he associated, and discouraged this form of activity among the other staff.
We do our utmost to instil in our staff the importance of service, courtesy and customer satisfaction – both from a professional perspective and on the basis that their jobs depend on it.
We have inspected your room and can find no trace of mould – perhaps you would be kind enough to provide us with more specific details regarding this so that we can take the appropriate measures to rectify it?
 
THE fact that you found so much dust in your room is also of some conen as we employ a small army of cleaners who sole task is to visit and thoroughly clean each and every room every day – We do, incidentally, inspect the rooms regularly to confirm their activity, although it is hard for us to be everywhere at once. We deeply regret that fact that you did not see fit to point this out to us at the time, as we would have made certain that you were moved to a more satisfactory room.
 
Very few people find fault with our breakfasts, and we would be most grateful if you could provide us with some pointers as to how, specifically we could improve them – in your opinion.
As you will no doubt understand, with both staff and customers moving in and out at breakfast, people leaving and new guests arriving, it is highly unusual for a member of staff to be missing form his post on the on reception at this time, and we are frankly at a loss as to why specifically he would not be there given that this is the busiest time of the day for reception.
We would like to take this opportunity to correct you on one point, however.  While this is, as you may have guessed, a business, to say that, in your words: “they don't care and all there after is your money”  is most emphatically wrong.

This or any other professionally run B&B, Hotel or other service based business is only ever as good as its reputation and the loyalty of its customers. Without them, we do not exist.  Money is what pays the bills, but the good will of our guests is what keeps any such establishment alive.
What we are “after” most of all is happy and content customers who return regularly and recommend us to others.   
We are a family business and care deeply about all our guests, their happiness and their satisfaction.
Sincerely,

Mr Gurnake Cheema
OWNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    98
    63
    31
    22
See reviews for
49
131
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed at The Lansdowne for one night while taking my daughter back to Uni. Booked a single room but got upgraded to a double which was a nice touch. Loved the room, it was clean and airy, with a sea view and a small accessible balcony. Good standard of furniture and fittings and the bed was comfortable with good quality linen. En-suite was slightly dated but very clean.
There is work ongoing in the hotel, with rooms being refurbished, but this did not detract from my stay, and the staff could not have been more helpful.
I have tried different places in Hastings and am pleased to say that I have now found my ideal place to stay.
This is a seafront period hotel, which would have been magnificent when built, but as with many buildings of this type, needs constant repair and attention. Threfore it still has an element of faded granduer, with much work to be done, but the owners seem to be up for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony doors that open, mine did but some don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_taxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here over new years. Room was very old and shabby, uneven and patchy lino, dirty bathroom tiles, very dirty suspended ceiling. We asked for a sea view in advance and ended up with a 'sea view' obscured by a filthy window (couldn't open- room was boiling) and building equipment. Window was partially covered by boards and machinery etc. We didn't ask for a different room as we were told that our room was 'one of the nicest rooms they had'.

We didn't realise there was no parking at the hotel (which is probably on their website), so had to return to the car every 2 hrs (but there was free parking on new years day). This was quite expensive. Would have thought a 4 star hotel would make some provision for this or warn guests when they book. The hotel staff were v friendly and it's a good location for the shops and front, but it really is quite run down and definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Fine for short visit. Room small but perfectly adequate although we were at the back and got the full force of Hastings night life - not the fault of the hotel! Staff very friendly and helpful, room clean with more than adequate towels! Very good cooked breakfast.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Back room 18 was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndare279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed one night and found the hotel very acceptable for a shirt stay whilst passing through. Although the outside looks a bit shabby looks can be deceiving!

The interior is acceptable and although it looks like its not going to be all that nice it turns out just fine when in the rooms. My room was 25 with an exceptional view of the British channel(see photos)

Room was modern and had free bottles of drinking water with tea and coffee making facilities. Decor was very high quality and tv was a plasma on the wall with wires hidden.

Big double bed and nice single bed perfect as a family room I would say.

Downsides, room is on top floor so long walk if taking stairs? Lift only takes 2 people and very clostraphobic. Our room had an annoying water trickling noise coming from behind the boxed in pipes. This noise is constant so if a light sleeper don't get this room. Shower goes a little hot and cold and water pressure comes and goes. Bathroom is very clean and tiled throughout. Parking outside is pay and display and costs £3 for 2 hours. Free overnight parking from 6pm till 9pm

Overall staff very polite and welcoming and better than I expected.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We were a party of 3 adults and 1 baby staying at the Lansdowne for 2 nights in October 2011. We had booked 2 rooms, both with a seaview, one for single occupancy, one double with room for baby. On arrival we managed to get parked outside the hotel, there are a number of spaces nearby which are free to park between 6pm and 9am, although charges apply during the day. The staff were friendly, especially the owner who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and show us to our rooms on the first floor. The room for single occupancy was actually a double room, very good value for the price we paid. This room had a new carpet and flatscreen TV and a large, reasonably clean bathroom. Perfectly fine for our needs. The other room was unfortunately not as good. On a good point the room was spacious, also with new carpet and big flatscreen TV and the views were amazing. However, the overall finish was not great. The curtains didn't fully cover the windows/patio doors, and there was broken glass on one of the chairs and a long pin on the floor (something I found unacceptable with having a baby in the room). Also, the bathroom in this room was tiny, creaky and the bath was badly scratched. The over-the-bath shower was ok but the shower holder was plastic and broken so could not be used and the water seemed to smell strange to me, slightly musty. On the plus side, the water pressure was very good but I ended up bathing my baby and having a shower in the other bathroom. During the nights the rooms were reasonably quiet, very little noise heard from other guests and we all slept reasonably well.
Overall this hotel was fine, but would have benefitted from attention to detail prior to our stay. I would say the Lansdowne will be a fantastic hotel once all the rooms have been refurbished but I'm not sure I would want to pay the extra price for this (although the higher price does include breakfast - which is excellent).
If you're planning a trip away, consider the Lansdowne and, if you can afford it, request one of the refurbished rooms.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are quiet with good views but choose a refurbished room if possible and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fullula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I was staying in this hotel in september. Really niceplace, Staff so hapful and friendly. Love it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing