We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apart from the location, nothing 4 star about this hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lansdowne
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Apart from the location, nothing 4 star about this hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a sunny week- end in Hastings; we had purchased the stay as a special deal: for £79 we got 2 nights in a double room with breakfast. The normal price would have been £250, which I think is an absolute rip off given how basic this hotel is. Whilst the location, right opposite the beach, is unbeatable, the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired: the room we got, number 27 on the 4th floor, was very small - still adequate for 2 people who don't attend to spend a lot of time in there, but very small nonetheless- ; the bed was so narrow we could not sleep properly, even though we can't exactly be described as chunky people, quite the opposite. The mattress was so soft we felt as though we were sinking into it, and the duvet cover had quite a few stains of a rather dubious nature all over it. As for the shower, the water pressure was so weak that it could be best described as a trickle, and there was none of the little fancy toiletries which you would normally expect to find in the bathroom of a 4 star hotel - no soaps, conditioner, shower caps etc.... just 2 bottles screwed to the wall, one containing shampoo and the other one shower gel. As we were on the 4th floor, we had to use the lift to get to our room; i can honestly say that i've never seen such a tiny, obsolete lift in my life: it can not carry more than 2 people at a time, and on the 2nd day of our stay, it broke down altogether. The only slightly redeeming feature of this hotel was the breakfast, and even that I can't rave about: it had a buffet which was very limited ( cereals, apples, fruit juices, butter and jams, but if you want bread, you have to ask for it, and wait for it to be brought to you, which can take a while. There are no pastries, muffins or croissants, unlike what you would normally find in 4 star hotels). You can also order a cooked breakfast but again, you would have to wait for quite a while for it to be brought to you as it is made to order. It is worth the wait, though, and the waiting staff is very nice and courteous.
All in all, we had quite an ok stay as we were only there for 2 nights and only using the hotel for sleeping and eating breakfast and strictly nothing else; as i said before, the location is great so I can't fault the hotel entirely; however I am at a loss as to how it got its 4 stars, as it is at best a 2 star hotel. For the price which they normally charge, they should be offering far better amenities and have a major refurbishment of the place, as the rooms are really looking very tired. There are far better B&Bs for a fraction of the price, so don't waste your time going there unless you're prepared to forget about the fact that it is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khadijaassoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    98
    63
    31
    22
See reviews for
49
131
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night recently. I wouldn't say it was quite worth the price though,as supposed to be a 4 star B&B. -More like a 3 star really. They described it as a good deal. £62.00 for a small double. (Room only.) The room we expected to be compact, but not quite that compact! The double bed (not being a king and rather soft and very uncomfortable ) pushed right up against the wall which meant my husband had to climb over me to get to the bathroom.
The photos are not that accurate on the website either. The Room was clean,as was all bedding, carpeted, with an average spotless suite.-Towels sheets fine, everything you needed as far as tea coffee making facilities, etc but the ledge the kettle stood on was so narrow in danger of falling and therefore nowhere to put your belongings as such. Appreciated the laptop fitting but as we were supposed to be a romanytic coupke on wedding anniversary not used. Having a chair in the room was handy, cos you would have been too uncomfortable to get much support for your back if you laid on the bed to watch tv! Some toiletries. (very basic) was nice and had a hairdryer thank goodness. Pretty chandelier above the bed which was a nice touch.
However the whole place needs a bit of a good spruce and polish up really. Just a lick of fresh paint,flowers,paintings, fresh wall paper in the breakfast room as it was starting to peel. Just some nicer pictures/beach scenes...few cushions... a few vases of flowers here and there would enhance the place enormously.
Reception is pokey, yellowing drab, run down looking and hasn't seen the light of day or a fresh coat of paint in decades. That's really off putting to potential business guests that need you to make a good first impression. -Also staff on our arrival (lone Indian man on his own) was less than friendly really. Not very professional. Never smiled or greeted beyond duty...staring at the screen..No eye contact,not at all concerned we needed to know how and where to park very pre occupied with work focused activity rather than customer focused. Spoke curtly in a monotone voice didn't ask if we'd had a good journey or offer verbal welcome nor did he ask if we enjoyed our stay or welcomed us much verbally or anything. To be fair it was dark by the time we arrived and we were quite late as Hastings is a good 2 hours in traffic and we couldn't leave home until 6. But this shouldn't have mattered as it wasn't even 9pm.

The owners recently changed hands ,and they are apparently in their second year of refurbishment. (Which shows,unfortunately!) But whilst the areas were all clean that we could see, much needs to be done to get it up to 4 star scratch, yet. Never take seriously self graded stars by the way.

Even from being set back from the main road a little, we could still dimly hear traffic up and down throughout the night, and I am hard of hearing! We were given a room at the front, but squashed to the side- so any potential sea view was Nil.
The curtain was hanging on grimly.- hardly wide enough to block the light out as soon as you moved it. The flat screen tv worked fine and is positioned in a conveneint place, but that is about the only nice thing I can say about the room, unfortunately,as the room is very,very basic. Disapointing really.
The Ensuite fine. Pillows on bed very flat and lumpy. Mattress sagged A bit of a mixed bag. And I had so hoped when I rang them beforehand to ask (as it was for a romantic night away and for a wedding anniversary for the best refurbished/larger sized bed for the price if possible, due to back problems) but we were to be disapointed.
Overall the room too small to house a wardrobe in let alone a bed. so they give you one of these basic transportable wardroby things, but adequate for just 1 night, I suppose..Had we been staying longer I'd have requested a larger rooom. We paid breakfast as extra, aswell. Though this is well worth it. and very nice it is too. Huge. Full English and with all the cereals and hot milk you want they even had honey for my porridge, many other establishments don't, plus as much tea coffee toast and good quality yoghurts, other cereals as you wanted etc.etc. Just one gripe here- 2 of the large bowl of apples were brown and rotten in places! And- The sasuage was reallly poor quality though - so I left it. Eggs average.
For portion and refills worth its £7.95 price tag. We could go up as many times as we wanted for friuts cereals fresh orange juices etc. They cook your full english to order and the staff are nice in the mornings. European very friendly and charming.It has a charming website which doesn't really live up to its looks on there, though!
Not that many blooms and too far from the sea to watch the tide or anything....Location is great -central Hastings and quite close to the seafront and all amenities. No parking of course. Yet there is a large pavement seperating you from across the road and sea wall and the road so you cannot actually get a sea view even though we requested one! The area is mainly filled with other B&B's some residential and is a swine for parking when full.
We managed to find a low priced free parking bay for I think £2.00 for the whole night- right near the seafront. great for the car but Sadly the car had a wonderful sea view! much better than ours!

The hotel overall was pleasant enough I suppose, though the scaffolding next door is a bit off putting and took away the potential romance (if any!) of the place. I am sure it coulpd look and feel so much nicer with a bit more money spent on it.

I probably wouldn't stay again if looking for comfort space and/or romance. Forget it! A business base or a budget back packer? then yes. Mainly based on the luke warm reception we initially recieved and the very delapidated reception area,I almost left ..
To end on a high and on a good note, Staff at breakfast are kind attentive and lovely and really do their best to accomodate requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Windsor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

If you're considering a stay at the Lansdowne Hotel, Hastings, don't.

I recently had a 3 night break in a 'deluxe' room (goodness knows what a standard was like); it was adequate; the ensuite bathroom had a trickle of a shower. This 28 bedroomed b&b is internally shabby - the small service lift carried 2 people maximum, not a transport of delight. It was very basic, not a good deal at £90 per double room a night, but the breakfast is acceptable. I supose the price was based on its sea-front position. There is no free parking - an underground corporation car park at £6 a day is the cheapest option. I found the whole experience disappointing. Marks out of 10 = 4.

Hastings itself, apart from the Old Town, is run-down and derelict in many areas and in need of a serious refurb; adjoining St. Leonards appears to be much more up-market, tidy and cared-for, unlike hapless Hastings. Having stayed in the relatively nearby resorts of Eastbourne and Worthing, I can't imagine anyone wanting to spend time in Hastings - why? The one redeeming feature is the White Rock Theatre along the front - the staff are really enthusiastic and seem to care about their environment and heritage,

The question is - would I go back and stay again? The answer is definitely a resounding no - not even if you paid me. The wonderful historic town of Rye and all its delights further along the coast to the East, however, is another story enitrely .................

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenRoyalWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

sidcup
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My friend and I just got back from 2 nights staying here. From arrival to leaving all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The girl waiting at breakfast was really lovely.
Our room-29- was airy and plenty big enough. The weather was really hot this weekend so we adjusted the window to open wider and slept with it open. The views over Hastings beaches is fantastic. The shower room was nice and new. The only problem with it was it could've been cleaner-management need to make sure they're keeping an eye on standards. But not bad really.
It's obvious the whole place is being refurbished so the scruffy landings aren't a problem at all. The location, staff and breakfast all made this a great place to stay and I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: If possible definitely get a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebSidcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

we stayed for 2 nights here and loved it. the room was lovely and clean view outside was brilliant overlooking the sea, breakfast really good .all the staff were pleasant and wre around if we needed them we will certainly stay there again we could not fault it.

Room Tip: ask for a sea front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crumble50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very friendly owners/staff, very welcoming. Didn't get a seaview as they were fully booked but nevertheless had a nice room, although it would help if there was a black out curtain on the door (#9) as the light from landing kept me awake and the room was really hot in the night even with the window open, so some aircon would have been a bonus. The room was clean and fresh, very spacious bathroom with a good shower. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice but smaller tables would be better than having to share with people you don't know. £10 for late checkout was also great. Would go back.

Room Tip: Room 9 - was noisy with window open as quite near to the pub/bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I've had a warm welcome and then was shown to my room which was clean and fresh. All were very friendly and helpful... Its location, proximity to the rail station (literally 5 mins. away), the old town and the sea front makes this place just perfect. I've had the most pleasant stay at the Lansdowne and would highly recommend it.

Thank you.

Room Tip: The small room with balcony has stunning views and I found it was a good base to explore the region...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing