We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice rooms, with great view of the sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lansdowne
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice rooms, with great view of the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, did book for 2 nights to start with but needed extra 2 nights. was very nice place and really good value for money. Good service. Rooms very nice and up to date with a great view of the sea front. In town centre, so good for looking around the shops.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcSparkysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    98
    60
    31
    22
See reviews for
48
130
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, quiet yet central amazing value for money beautifuly decorated, perfectly clean, kind and helpful staff would happily return:-)! My room had lovely big windows with amazing sea views very comfy bed with plenty of pillows, delighted by the facilities in my room!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsnvcsapsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Arrived for a one night short break with family member, booked 2 rooms. Located approx 10 - 15 minute walk from railway station and a stones throw from the main shopping streets in Hastings. The White Rock theatre was also less than a 10 minute walk. Facing the seafront, yet that little bit away from the main road, location wise it could not really be beaten.

On arrival was greeted by pleasant gentleman (Sandeep I recall) whom made us feel very welcome from the moment we walked through the door. Both rooms were on higher floors with excellent views overlooking the sea. There are some minor renovations going on in the stairway but this did not have any adverse effect.

The rooms were extremely well furnished including a desk, small table, 2 chairs, wardrobe, fridge, tea making facilities - all much better than expected. The bathroom was modern with a walk-in shower and cleaned to a very high standard. There was a generous size LCD TV mounted on the wall. There were also several framed printed artwork on the wall which added to a luxurious feel. Clearly efforts had been made to make the rooms look attractive/practical.

Overall a very enjoyable short break, pleasant staff and rooms of a decent standard. Would certainly staff again if visiting the area and recommend to others looking for a central place to stay in Hastings.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Admittedly it was out of season and that it is picking up from a poor history but £30 for a four star room was very good value with a proper TV and a classy bed and lighting. Location on the seafront is perfect and you can walk to Tesco for a croissant for breakfast and make coffee in your room. Staff were friendly and helpful and there is a 24hr porter

Room Tip: make sure you get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

What a nice place this i went here for 2 nights, staff are nice room was good looking out at sea did not have B&B just room but my try that next time the town and bars very close by will be back soon thank you all

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

On the sea front, walkable to station and near buses, shops,market. Pleasant walk along the front to old town with museums and castle. Friendly, polite and very helpful service, good breakfast. Had room with sea view, recently decorated and ensuite with very hot water. Many steps but there is a lift. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

What a great place to stay, upon arrival I was greeted by a very friendly lady who told me that I had been upgraded at no extra charge. The room had a sea view & was very spacious & clean, the shower took a little bit of figureing out but that was just me.. The breakfast was excellent, freshly. cooked & it was nice to get it piping hot.(too many hotels serve a warm breakfast) The choice was ideal & you can have whatever combination you prefer.
The hotel is well situated for the station & buses, so getting around is not a problem.
I was feeling energetic, so I chose not to use the lift, but if you are upon the 2nd or 3rd floor, it may be an idea to use the lift.
The staff are very friendly & polite & nothing was to much trouble.
I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stupotran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing