We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had gud time in lansdowne”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“had gud time in lansdowne”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

i had gud time in lansdowne .... that was my really excellent time in this hotel . i love every thing there i had eat food and beer & a very gud view around it i went on beach at evening ......!!
i had been stay for one week there only. i like every thing in this hotel all staff been nice a very reception and if we would say about rooms very nice and clean and i wish i will go there soon with my friend then it would be more fun :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank view849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    99
    65
    34
    24
See reviews for
50
138
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed 1 night with a room on the 4 th. floor. No lift for the less able bodied. Street noise and a view facing the back of other buildings.
The bedlinen were clean and lovely except the beds were old and mattress were too soft. Unable to sleep with backache from soft mattress and street noise.
The hot shower was the best!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views during booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabaheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend with 2 of our friends.I have mixed feelings about the hotel. It is family run, and the owners are in the middle of a big refurbishment, and it shows. We booked one of the deluxe sea view rooms, the views were fabulous. The room was large, clean and well equipped. Although our friends who also booked a deluxe room had no mirror above the basin in the bathroom and said their room was very cold. Our room was lovely and warm, but the duvet was in a cover that was too small for it , so it was bunched up inside the cover and only just covered the mattress.
The public areas were all very cold including the dining room, I would not have wanted to sit in the bar/lounge area for too long. Also there was a rather drunk group of youngsters drinking in there on the first night.
Breakfast was good, cooked to order but a rather limited choice. The staff were all helpful and friendly.
Parking was good although it may not be so easy to get spaces at the meters on the seafront in peak times.
The hotel has an excellent location, short walk to the old town and cliff top funiculars. Two good restaurants within easy walking distance, Whites seafood restaurant and the Italian Trattoria. Both served lovely food and had good service.
Overall not a bad hotel , think you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you have a deluxe refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Having stayed at the Hilton Metropole the night before we were worried about coming here, we were pleasantly surprised at the lovely sea view room following some terrible reviews on this site.

The inside of the hotel is being renovated but is clean and tidy, the lounge is comfotable with a nice equipped bar, our room was lovely (see pic), and the view from the balcony gorgeous. It had a lovely modern bathroom and gorgeous shower, excellent LCD TV on wall with great channels, better than the TV provided by the Hilton. The beds were very comfotable and I had a great nights sleep in it, considering I stayed in a chain hotel in Hastings last year and the bed was awful! The room had a fridge which was an added extra, to be honest we were delighted with the amenities in the room.

Sadly we did not have breakfast as it was too early for us, might we suggest at a weekend you add an extra hour to accomodate us that like to wake up later in the morning, apart from that a lovely stay.

Thank you.

G Killick & D Roberts.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, did book for 2 nights to start with but needed extra 2 nights. was very nice place and really good value for money. Good service. Rooms very nice and up to date with a great view of the sea front. In town centre, so good for looking around the shops.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcSparkysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, quiet yet central amazing value for money beautifuly decorated, perfectly clean, kind and helpful staff would happily return:-)! My room had lovely big windows with amazing sea views very comfy bed with plenty of pillows, delighted by the facilities in my room!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsnvcsapsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Arrived for a one night short break with family member, booked 2 rooms. Located approx 10 - 15 minute walk from railway station and a stones throw from the main shopping streets in Hastings. The White Rock theatre was also less than a 10 minute walk. Facing the seafront, yet that little bit away from the main road, location wise it could not really be beaten.

On arrival was greeted by pleasant gentleman (Sandeep I recall) whom made us feel very welcome from the moment we walked through the door. Both rooms were on higher floors with excellent views overlooking the sea. There are some minor renovations going on in the stairway but this did not have any adverse effect.

The rooms were extremely well furnished including a desk, small table, 2 chairs, wardrobe, fridge, tea making facilities - all much better than expected. The bathroom was modern with a walk-in shower and cleaned to a very high standard. There was a generous size LCD TV mounted on the wall. There were also several framed printed artwork on the wall which added to a luxurious feel. Clearly efforts had been made to make the rooms look attractive/practical.

Overall a very enjoyable short break, pleasant staff and rooms of a decent standard. Would certainly staff again if visiting the area and recommend to others looking for a central place to stay in Hastings.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing