We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, clean and cozy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lansdowne
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small, clean and cozy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Lansdowne in early April 2013. We arrived with a few heavy suitcases and right away the staff member at the front desk helped us up to our rooms with them. They have payed parking on the street out side the hotel but we opted to pay a 24hr parking fee in the underground parking lot across the street, it was 7 pounds a day. The breakfast times I thought were too early for us, I believe they were from 7:30am to 9am so we ate at the Debenhams cafe next door which had good food and not to expensive. Our room number was 11, it had a lovely sea view and a seagull that would visit us every morning. Room came equipped with a fridge, kettle for coffee and tea, T.V. and free WiFi. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Room 11 was a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    98
    60
    31
    22
See reviews for
48
130
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I only paid £35 for one night so I wasn't expecting much. My room was clean with a nice bathroom and brilliant location, being right on the sea front. The staff were helpful and friendly, but the only issue I have is this is not a 4 star hotel. But if you are looking for clean affordable accomodation in Hastings with a perfect location the this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teebee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at the Lansdowne Hotel. We are committed to providing excellent service to our guests and any appreciation goes a long way in motivating our team.

Please note that The Lansdowne is not a 4 star Hotel but is classified and rated by Visit England (the English Tourist Board) as a 4**** Guest Accommodation. Unfortunately we do not have in Hastings 4**** Hotel yet but you can enjoy your stay in one of a very high standard 5 and 4 stars B&Bs and Guest Accommodations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Lansdowne.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed here during the recent half term holidays for 5 days and 4 nights. Our room was on the 4th floor with great views of the sea.
The location is superb.
Cut through Debenhams which is only around 50 metres away and you can end up in Hastings town centre.
Breakfast each morning was piping hot and they would cook what you wanted.
Service levels were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
If you are up on the 3rd or 4th floor use the lift ( behind the bar ). It is a very small lift though so you may need to make a few journeys !
They were doing a lot of refurbishment when we stayed but as we were out all day it did not concern .
The rooms were spotlessly clean each day.
For the money we paid it was a good choice and if we come back to Hastings would stay here again .

Room Tip: The lift is behind the bar opposite room 1 or 2 . 429 had excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelansdowne, Owner at Lansdowne, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay at the Lansdowne Hotel. We are committed to providing excellent service to our guests and any appreciation goes a long way in motivating our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Lansdowne Hotel.

Best Regards,
Mr and Mrs Cheema
proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We just stayed the one night, the room would not have been out of place in a top hotel. It looks like they are refurbishing so I am not sure every room will be to the same standard. We paid £65.00 for room only, quite expensive for a B&B in March. Great views from our window, not so much from our bedroom door.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbadbaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

i had gud time in lansdowne .... that was my really excellent time in this hotel . i love every thing there i had eat food and beer & a very gud view around it i went on beach at evening ......!!
i had been stay for one week there only. i like every thing in this hotel all staff been nice a very reception and if we would say about rooms very nice and clean and i wish i will go there soon with my friend then it would be more fun :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank view849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed 1 night with a room on the 4 th. floor. No lift for the less able bodied. Street noise and a view facing the back of other buildings.
The bedlinen were clean and lovely except the beds were old and mattress were too soft. Unable to sleep with backache from soft mattress and street noise.
The hot shower was the best!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views during booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabaheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend with 2 of our friends.I have mixed feelings about the hotel. It is family run, and the owners are in the middle of a big refurbishment, and it shows. We booked one of the deluxe sea view rooms, the views were fabulous. The room was large, clean and well equipped. Although our friends who also booked a deluxe room had no mirror above the basin in the bathroom and said their room was very cold. Our room was lovely and warm, but the duvet was in a cover that was too small for it , so it was bunched up inside the cover and only just covered the mattress.
The public areas were all very cold including the dining room, I would not have wanted to sit in the bar/lounge area for too long. Also there was a rather drunk group of youngsters drinking in there on the first night.
Breakfast was good, cooked to order but a rather limited choice. The staff were all helpful and friendly.
Parking was good although it may not be so easy to get spaces at the meters on the seafront in peak times.
The hotel has an excellent location, short walk to the old town and cliff top funiculars. Two good restaurants within easy walking distance, Whites seafood restaurant and the Italian Trattoria. Both served lovely food and had good service.
Overall not a bad hotel , think you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you have a deluxe refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing