We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok with us”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Plumstead, London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ok with us”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

we only spent one night there during the 'Hastings bonfire event', but everything was clean. There was a trouser press, coffee facilities and hairdryer and we had a sea view. The room was warm and shower great! Didn't have time for breakfast though! spent worst nights elsewhere ....

Room Tip: room 3 with balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    99
    67
    35
    24
See reviews for
50
139
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, rooms 28 and 29. Beware that although these have a sea view (not really that important), they are at the top of the hotel which means a climb up 8 sets of stairs (I think we counted 86 in total), often steep, with no lift. A bit of a struggle but not too bad - with bags it's a bit much.

The room was ok, beds were comfortable, it was clean, not massive but for the money (about £70 for a £65 for a double, £40 for a single) it was about right. Bathroom had soap and shower gel, the shower lacked pressure and as one reviewer also said was either super hot or cold - but again it was ok.

The door is locked most of the time so you need to ring a bell, that is a good thing for security reasons.

There was a bar/lounge which we didn't need to use.

All in all an ok hotel for the money in a good location, 3 stars as it was just right for the money.

Room Tip: 28 and 29 are the rooms in the top left corner as you look at the hotel photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Booked 2 nights at the Lansdowne for £70 per night. We were given room 2, ground floor at the back of the hotel. Dated decor, kind of looked a bit like a backpackers double room. Tiny ensuite with a awkward angled toilet (?) quite quirky, but not designed for larger people.

During the night we suffered with the constant bass from the neighbouring club, it was a Saturday night but management mentioned this was the case on a Thurs, Fri and Saturday every week. It is a very central hotel, so you do expect some noise but after 3 phone calls to the night porter (who really didnt care at all, kept telling me I must wait till 2am) I was very frustrated. We did get moved to a seafront room for the 2nd night, and I manged to get a refund of £20 only (as in managements eyes we had been upgraded which should have been enough to keep us happy).

The upgraded room was better quality, recently refurbished. Good ensuite facilities. The bed was one of those ones that could be turned into a twin but it has a hard bit running down the middle of it.

I left this hotel with a bad taste in my mouth, management are completely aware of an ongoing noise problem with a neighbouring business (They offered to show me the letters of complaint to the Council) but continue to sell the rooms. I didnt feel like my complaints were taken seriously by the night porter, which only added to the frustration of being kept awake.

The location is good, 10mins walk to the Railway Station, right on the beach, 10 mins walk to the Old Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The best relationship between price and accomodation, kindness, helpfulness, respond to requests,... that I ever experienced. Lovely seaview and a bit away from the noise of the street along the beach. Very good location: just in the middle between the old city and St Leonards. Some of the rooms are spacious, some are very small...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaview: nr 14, 16 or the room right above those two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bie m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked just for the one night double room with seaview, the room was OK and the Seaview was excellent just a shame the shower alternated between either scorching hot or freezing cold. certainly wakes you up though! The mattress was far too soft and saggy for my liking.
I supose it didn't start very well when I was asked to pay the total in advance on arrival before having even seen the room. The guy who booked me in was totally disinterested and the fact I had to climb six flights of cramped stairs with my luggage because the lift was out of order didn't seem to bother him at all.Let alone offer any help.

The location is good not far from the Old Town center and you can park right outside for free until 9.00am but how this place ever got 3 stars is beyond me.

Room Tip: Another Hotel would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I've stayed here several times over the last few years. The check in process was simple and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. I enjoy staying here and either take the single room with a sea view or a double room for sole occupancy to the rear of the hotel. I have tried most of the hotels in Hastings and would recommend the Lansdowne for friendliness and convenience. It's not a 5* hotel, but it is comfortable for a few nights at a good price.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to get the best on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have just returned from a four day stay at the Lansdowne Hotel, Hastings. I stayed in a first floor room with a sea view and balcony. Everything at the hotel was perfect. The room was just that, roomy; the view was great; the amenities were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend a stay here. It was just right.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
245 reviews
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing