We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly place”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 4 March 2014

me and my fiance stayed here for one night , and i think that one night here was enough (Hastings i mean not the hotel), the hotel is in a great place right on the sea front, we had a perfect view. the room was very basic though lovely clean white sheets, the staff were lovely and really welcoming , they even let me use their pc to book our next stay as we were travelling along the south coast.
the breakfast was nice and a good size .
our advise is to use the car park that is underground and opposite the hotel, the hotel will give you a ticket for your window and it will only cost you a few quid for all night.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a terrace or balcony as they all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I and my fiancé stayed in Lansdowne for one week due to business reasons.

Our room was spacious and well-equipped. We had all the things we needed provided by the hotel such as: iron, ironing board, kettle, cutlery, satellite TV, Internet access, hairdryer, fridge, laundry service. The bed was comfortable with clean bedding. The bathroom was also spacious and very neat. The shower was strong and the water was always hot oh and it was warm enough in the hotel, which I find very important.
Reception was friendly and always helpful. The staff went to great lengths whenever we needed them.
Breakfast was great. There was a variety of meals to choose from.
We really liked the location. The view of the see from the window – just perfect. The hotel is in the heart of Hastings so it is close to the old town and all the entertainment.

The most delightful hotel we have had the pleasure of staying in. We will definitely get back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We fancied a little trip away as my partner is off in the navy, and we saw this and the reviews looked lovely. We paid £90 for a double on-suite balcony and sea view for 2 nights (didn't include breakfast), in half term which we felt was very reasonable. The room was lovely and clean, warm and comfortable with great amenities. The room was cleaned every day and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Very close to the old town, with restaurants, bars and a little convenience store which was nice. There is also underground parking 50m away which is secure (locked at night) and only £7 for 24 hours. Even in February we used the balcony, as it was quite novel. A lovely place to stay and lovely break away. Couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: definitely get a south facing sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 158Rachel_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We booked the Lansdowne on a very last minute ( same day ) night away for a family funeral. We couldn't find any other local vacancies and looking at their website thought the pictures looked lovely. Don't get me wrong for the price of £55 & £45 for 2 rooms the price was fab, and the rooms adequate and clean but we felt the room doors to be unsafe. When we arrived we were greeted firstly by the smell of curry and then secondly by a man who appeared to hardly speak English and was dressed in scruffy tracksuit bottoms , hardly receptionist material! We were shown to our rooms but they were no where near each other and we didn't feel safe leaving our 16 year old daughter in room 9 where it had an odd see through door. In the end we all stayed in one room as we were told there was no more available rooms, even though on booking.com it said there were 3 left! To sum up the hotel had an awful smell all the time, felt unsafe and seemed to be run by different men. Odd!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank MsPenelopeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My first ever stay @ The Lansdowne hotel has been nothing but one of the most pleasurable experiences with such an convenient price. All the staffs were so welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout the stay. The hotel is very close to many nearby restaurants, museums, high street, castle, car parks and many more beautiful sight seeings therefore lots of time and money can be saved as its so easily accessible.Big sized room with well presented sea-view balcony and the room itself was very neat,clean and tidy with an ensuite bathroom. There is nothing to complain about and this has to be by far one of the most memorable stay. I am very much impressed and would highly recommend anyone to visit and stay @ the Lansdowne at least once if planning to visit in Hastings in the near future.PS MIllion thanks to the Staffs for returning back my property without a slight hesitation:))

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilokdave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent two nights in the Lansdowne Hotel. Our first room No 3 was a Double with Sea View and Balcony, the second was No 11 the Deluxe with Sea View and Balcony, both rooms were excellent.
The rooms were spotless, the beds were comfortable and both rooms had nice furnishings and fittings. The Showers were modern, spacious and had plenty of hot water. The Hotel has a 24 hr Reception and a cosy bar. The Staff were very friendly and helpful and the Full English Breakfast and service was very good. Would definitely recommend. Thank you.

Room Tip: The Deluxe with Balcony includes a fridge and filter coffee machine a seating area and table and cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've stayed at lots of hotels in and around Hastings. The location of the Lansdowne couldn't be better if you like the sea and great views. The room had everything I could think of and the fridge was a surprising extra. I usually bring extra milk to hotels for extra cups of tea and it was nice to have a place to keep it cool. The shower was hot and powerful.
Parking on the seafront was handy and cheap. DO NOT park just outside the hotel, that's a bit more expensive. Friendly staff that blend into the background and are not in your face. One of the best breakfasts I've had in East Sussex.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
626 reviews
0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £57 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing