We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This place is in a great location right on the seafront 5 mins walk from the town centre. Its clean, warm, and has everything we needed for a few days stay. Our room was at the front with a great sea view, comfy bed ( apart from the zipper thingy down the middle), a fridge, ironing board, iron, hairdryer, the bathroom was clean, a little tatty maybe but did the job with a good size shower. Some paintwork had clearly been touched up on the walls in the bedroom with a slightly different colour paint which was a shame as the room was nicely decorated and it was no big deal, just an observation.The outside looks a bit 'tired' but got the impression the overhall and decoration of the place is a work in progress so I expect its on the 'to do' list with the rooms coming first as after all that's the important bit :-) ..... Would definitely stay hereaagain should we be in hastings.

Room Tip: Definatly ask for a room at the front when you book :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheliacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

The guest house I had originally booked with let me down the night before, but they found me this hotel instead. I had to make a pretty quick decision but I am happy I did. I had paid £38 for the original booking - this was about £46 I think, but the original hotel covered the extra charge.

Hotel was a very short walk from the station and near to the shops. The service was friendly when I checked in, room was fine. It was nicely decorated and a reasonable size. The single mattress was a bit thin though, but there were two pillows which was better than what you sometimes get. Headboard had these button decorations on it - one or two fell off during the night! I got a good night's sleep though (which I needed, as I was running the half marathon the next day).
I can't comment much on breakfast as all I had was tea and toast. There was another group in the dinning room though and it seemed like they had trouble getting the waitress to understand what they wanted and she did not know what porridge was or that it had to be warm.

All in all fine for a short stay and very glad they had a room the night before!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aizxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great place to stay . Large rooms , very clean, comfortable , warm , modern hot shower and all the amenities you require for a great stay tea coffee flat screen TV etc . Great staff who could not do enough for you . Excellent breakfast with a choice of cereals and fruit , thats if you didn't want a cooked breakfast I would definitely stay there again when in the area .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you are after a sea view at the shopping end of town (there is a Debenhams in the same crescent as the hotel!) quite near the cliffs and the fisherman's sheds then this is great value for money. Hotel is clean, and decor 'okay', but our bathroom was tight if you wanted to swing a kitten. Parking is good - get there for 6pm and park free overnight outside the hotel then top up at the meter from 9am. The owner seemed genuinely concerned that we were happy with everything, and whilst there's no restaurant, there is a great value, tasty breakfast

Room Tip: Pay extra for the deluxe and get a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent place of stay. As friends whom travelled around the South Coast have fount this to be one Of the most nicest hotels. Clean , reasonable price. Good breakfast and excellent staff. We wast able to hve a sea view room due to them being booked out. However the room 15 and 9 were very comfortable and satisfying.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 4muskertiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Not the best destination for a rainy Tuesday. Hotel was fine, lovely large room, nice and warm, bathroom was fine. Would stay in hotel again and staff on duty were keen to please. Parking nearby, but unfortunately that's all that was. Would stay at Lansdowne again, but not Hastings,

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights as we were running the Hastings Half Marathon.

We loved this hotel, and had a great sea view room - it's worth paying the nominal upgrade for a sea view room. The Polish lady who owns/runs the hotel (sorry, I forget her name), was really helpful and friendly, and we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast at just £5 extra was a bargain too.

It's just a 10 minute stroll to Old Hastings, which is the nicest, most authentic part of town, though the JD Bar & Bistro was a good spot for a drink and a lunch just around the corner.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duzron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
896 reviews
0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Rock Hotel
The White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £56 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing