We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An All Round Great Experience :-))”
Review of Lansdowne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lansdowne
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An All Round Great Experience :-))”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Comfy bed, well equipped room with great sea view.
Flat screen tv has loads of channels. Hair dryer, tea/coffee, phone, free wi-fi

Friendly welcoming & helpful staff
No noise from outside or from neighbouring (occupied) rooms

There is a lift if you can't manage the stairs
Very convenient location

Will be staying again

PS no signs of any building work

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCoaster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    99
    65
    34
    24
See reviews for
50
138
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

10/10 goes to nice and friendly stuff, always helpful and respectful. The hotel itself has great location (10mins walk to the centre and the old town, very close to shops). Lovely sea view from the balcony room where clean and tidy bathroom with big shower room. Thanks!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gluszczenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel is well situated, with nice views over the sea. The management is friendly and helpful. The rooms are good value, but here and there a bit shabby and with insufficient isolation between floors. If you have heavy luggage, it can be a bit back-beaking if your room is on the top floor, without elevator. I've rated the hotel "very good" but was heistating with "average".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had originally planned to stay here for two nights and had booked a sea view room for the duration. On arriving at the hotel, it was pretty run down and there were vans and building materials around, signifying a degree of work being carried out. We were booked in by a very pleasant chap who sorted us out with our room and showed us where to go. The inside of the hotel was very tired looking and, on arrival at our room door, we weren't sure what to expect.

Well, when we opened the door, we were astonished! The room had been completely refurbished and was very nice indeed! Full double glazed door (which wasn't locked) led out onto a small stone balcony with just about the best sea view you could imagine! The bathroom was also brand new and beautifully decorated, everything was spotless and we had two great night's sleep. At £7.50 per person, the breakfast is, for a hotel, reasonable enough and everything is cooked to order.

We decided to stop for another night, but alas our room was booked. The manager was very helpful and sorted us out with another room - the last one - and gave us a discount, included breakfast and a free drink from the bar each. As we were out for the day, he even moved all of our bags to the new room. So far, so good.

We were shown to our new room, which was right at the back of the hotel. We went through the bar into another corridor, which was full of wooden planks and paint tins. The room we were shown to was tiny, with the most odd en-suite bathroom I have ever seen - a narrow corridor with a toilet stuck in at a very strange angle. The shower was squeezed into the back of the room and was low and quite grubby looking. The room itself was tired compared to the other and was very small, which only made the other room look like fabulous value.

The one thing to watch for is parking. This is a common problem in Hastings, the on-street parking is only free till 9am and then you have to move somewhere or pay. Watch for the wardens too, the first morning I got to my car just in time (at one minute past nine!) as the warden was already there! If you're getting up for breakfast, it's worth popping outside to get a parking ticket, but at 50p for 20 minutes, it's not exactly cheap.

Overall, it's not a bad place and once refurbished will be very pleasant indeed, but it's definitely worth getting a sea view room as these seem to be bigger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, it's the best reason to go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This place is in a great location right on the seafront 5 mins walk from the town centre. Its clean, warm, and has everything we needed for a few days stay. Our room was at the front with a great sea view, comfy bed ( apart from the zipper thingy down the middle), a fridge, ironing board, iron, hairdryer, the bathroom was clean, a little tatty maybe but did the job with a good size shower. Some paintwork had clearly been touched up on the walls in the bedroom with a slightly different colour paint which was a shame as the room was nicely decorated and it was no big deal, just an observation.The outside looks a bit 'tired' but got the impression the overhall and decoration of the place is a work in progress so I expect its on the 'to do' list with the rooms coming first as after all that's the important bit :-) ..... Would definitely stay hereaagain should we be in hastings.

Room Tip: Definatly ask for a room at the front when you book :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheliacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The guest house I had originally booked with let me down the night before, but they found me this hotel instead. I had to make a pretty quick decision but I am happy I did. I had paid £38 for the original booking - this was about £46 I think, but the original hotel covered the extra charge.

Hotel was a very short walk from the station and near to the shops. The service was friendly when I checked in, room was fine. It was nicely decorated and a reasonable size. The single mattress was a bit thin though, but there were two pillows which was better than what you sometimes get. Headboard had these button decorations on it - one or two fell off during the night! I got a good night's sleep though (which I needed, as I was running the half marathon the next day).
I can't comment much on breakfast as all I had was tea and toast. There was another group in the dinning room though and it seemed like they had trouble getting the waitress to understand what they wanted and she did not know what porridge was or that it had to be warm.

All in all fine for a short stay and very glad they had a room the night before!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aizxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great place to stay . Large rooms , very clean, comfortable , warm , modern hot shower and all the amenities you require for a great stay tea coffee flat screen TV etc . Great staff who could not do enough for you . Excellent breakfast with a choice of cereals and fruit , thats if you didn't want a cooked breakfast I would definitely stay there again when in the area .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
5.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Property: Lansdowne
Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing