We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Spice

Bay Spice
Ranked #17 of 351 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I went on a Sunday night, when they have a special offer of a 4 course meal for about £14. For that price I was expecting to find small portions and a limited menu, but just about everything from the full menu was available, which included some interesting regional dishes - much more than your average indian restaurant. Service was very good. Great experience all round.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerX99oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babumanager, Manager at Bay Spice, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
dear valued customer,Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again very soon.

bay spice management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    123
    30
    25
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“super food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Although we live near Hastings this was the first time we have been to this restaurant.
We went with friends who had been before and said how good it was.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babumanager, Manager at Bay Spice, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
dear customer, thank you for the lovely comments,hope to see you again soon.

thank you... babu manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had a takeaway from here on my first day of the holiday, the food tasted superb and the staff were very helpful...... Highly recommend..

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rishrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babumanager, Manager at Bay Spice, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
dear customer,thank you for your veiws and comments,very much appreciated and hope to serve you again very soon.

thank you...babu manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We keep going back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My partner and friend are from India and difficult to please when it comes to Indian restaurants. We keep going back here and take our friends. The whole experience is as good as I have ever had in a restaurant. The portions are generous and they are helpful about packing any surplus to take home.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babumanager, Manager at Bay Spice, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
dear valued customer,Thank you for your very kind comments, its always a pleasure serving and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

bay spice management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have eaten 3 times at the Bay Spice now and can't fault it. Each time has been with a group of people, all booked in advance. The last time there was 40 of us! I can't fault the food - there is a wide range of dishes to choose from, all reasonably priced. The staff work extremely hard and are really attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank julierichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babumanager, Manager at Bay Spice, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
dear customer, thank you for your kind comments, hope to serve you again soon,once again thank you on behalf of the whole bay spice team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Spice also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Bay Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing