We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend Away”
Review of Northrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northrise Lodge
Ranked #9 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Northrise Lodge is a lovely B&B. Andrea and Nick made us feel very welcome and the room was very comfortable and decorated beautifully.
We stayed for 2 nights friday and saturday and had a great time. Hastings town centre is about half an hour walk away but it was a nice down hill walk there, always walked back, but those of you who are not keen on a bit of exercise will probably like to get the bus.
Breakfast was lovely very well presented, plenty of choice and tasty.
Would go back again. Thanks Andrea and Nick

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy65001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Andrea and Nick, a couple, and the owners of Northrise Lodge have created a lovely B and B. Firstly, the customer service is great. Both Andrea and Nick are down to earth and very warm and welcoming. They also go that extra mile offering flexibility. Secondly, the place is clean, spotless. When I walked into the bedroom it felt like I was their first ever guest. This was the same for the bathroom too. Thirdly, the owners clearly know what homely looks like. The B and B has a homely feel, and the decor in my room was lovely with a lovely colour scheme that wouldn't cause a fright to even the most sensitive eyes. The guest lounge is a welcome addition to Northrise too. I was actually a returning customer to Northrise Lodge. I previously stayed there earlier this year. I was planning to leave a review then, but forgot because of my heavy workload. Im a returning customer for a good reason. And Im sure that Northrise Lodge will be welcoming back many returning customers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericss0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The B&B was amazing. We stayed in the room "Marple": we had a huge kingsize bed, amazing shower, flatscreen tv, salon hairdryer, free wifi, everything you need. There were bathrobes and slippers, fresh bottles of water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate & cookies. The house itself was so beautiful, everything was new & in mint condition. The owners were very nice and helpfull. They even had adaptors for european devices. Breakfast was amazing as well. I would reccomend everyone to go and stay at The Northrise Lodge! It isn't cheap but it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maaike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The drive up to this bed and breakfast we were a bit unsure but as soon as we stepped through the front door of Northrise Lodge it was everything we were hoping it would be and more. We had a fabulous room (Marple room) that was so pretty and well thought out, with the lovely décor, sliding bathroom door and an added bonus of a separate guest lounge downstairs that we were able to use. Nick and Andrea are such lovely people, they couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was very tasty. We would recommend staying here. Recommend visiting Hastings country park for a lovely walk and breathtaking views.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Everything in this guest house was of the highest standard. We stayed in the Rosemary & Thyme room which has a modern immaculately clean ensuite with the most luxurious towels imaginable! The breakfasts were superb too and the owners extremely friendly and helpful. I would rate the Northrise Lodge as five star plus, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone proposing to visit Hastings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very friendly owners, they helped us with bookings at restaurants.
Rooms were new, very nice and spacious rooms. Luxury bath room. Materials were very high standard. Full English breakfast was tasty. We stayed there for 2 nights.

Room Tip: the purple room has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank vicky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in the Marple room overlooking the distant sea. The room was very comfortable, in fact brand new and spotlessly clean. A five star hotel couldn't do better! The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 47 in Hastings
320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#10 of 47 in Hastings
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#41 of 47 in Hastings
61 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower House 1066
Tower House 1066
#36 of 47 in Hastings
136 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Regent Motel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrise Lodge

Address: 97 Fairlight Road | Parking for all guests is on Beacon Road at the rear entrance, Hastings TN35 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northrise Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Beautifully renovated Edwardian House into a Four Star Silver Bed and Breakfast" Great location for a weekend or mid-week break. We are now licenced to sell alcohol which is an excellent additional service to offer our guests. We are situated with sea views across the roof tops. Northrise Lodge is approximately 5-10 minute drive from Hastings old town seafront. If you enjoy walking, it would take approximately a 35-45 minutes steady walk to reach Hastings Old Town seafront. The Country park is just opposite and with 850 acres its accessible just across the road, within a five minute walk, with the Firehills, Fairlight Road Picnic Site, Warren Glen, Fairlight Glen, plenty of wildlife, all beautiful places for you to explore, and stunning cliff top walks, we are an excellent base for walkers and cyclists. We have free street parking at the rear entrance to the B&B, in Beacon Road. There is secure driveway parking for motorbikes. We have 4 individually styled and beautifully decorated to a very high standard rooms, all with stunning modern en-suites with an excellent power shower. There is plenty of wardrobe space in each room, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer, fridge, slippers and dressing gowns for your comfort. Excellent quality beds with medium/firm orthopaedic mattresses, and luxury bedding. Complimentary Toiletries and luxurious towels and an excellent selection of teas and coffee, hot chocolate on the hospitality tray with sweets, biscuits and even cake for that extra treat. If you prefer fresh milk just ask. "Rosemary & Thyme" is a stunning king-size spacious room, king-size bed, boasts views of the roof tops to the country park and sea, a beautiful original fire place, also has an 42" LCD TV, two comfy tub chairs, "Marple" is a stunning spacious room, this has a super-kingsize bed,a beautiful original fire place, this room boasts a sea view. 42" Flat screen television on the wall. Two comfy tub chairs. "Clouseau" is a lovely larger double room, with a double bed, fire place, also has an 32" LCD TV, one comfy tub chair. "Frost" A lovely small double room, double bed, 32" LCD TV. There are no chairs in this room. However we do have a lovely guest lounge you are welcome to use. A lovely newly decorated dining/breakfast room. We also have a comfortable guest lounge with sofas, a tea and coffee machine, television. Its a lovely room to relax in after a day exploring or after breakfast. Local interests include Battle, Rye, Bodiam, Winchelsea, Golf Clubs, Museums & Art Galleries, Castles, Theatre, Country walks, all beautiful and interesting places for you to explore during your stay. Please note that breakfast is only available on weekends and not available Monday to Friday's. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing