We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful one-night stay”
Review of Northrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northrise Lodge
Ranked #9 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I recently decided on a short break away in Hastings, this was very much a last-minute type affair. We gave Northrise a ring after looking at the recent reviews and were very happy when they said a room was available. Upon arrival we were greeted by Nick and shown to our room 'Rosemary and Thyme' (the Kingsize room). All the rooms are named after detectives, are colour co-ordinated and vary in size but all of them as well as their overall home itself are absolutely immaculate. It is very plain to see that Nick and Andrea take a lot of time and pride in what they do and in the service that they provide. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have EVER laid on and the bathroom was of a lovely modern contemporary type with sliding glass door, LED mirror lights and electric power shower. Overall, a lovely stay in a beautiful B&B with a couple who couldn't do enough to help. After renovation of the house, work is about to commence on increasing much needed parking on site and adding a self-contained apartment with sea views.

Room Tip: They're all good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Northrise Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner and I stayed in Northrise Lodge for one night on our return trip from Sussex to Belgium. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stopover and were sorry we couldn't stay a bit longer. Our hosts, Andrea and Nick, made us feel very welcome and obviously run this B&B with a lot of passion. The room,'Frost', was very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean (and had one of the best showers we've ever used). The breakfast was 'cooked to measure' and also very tasty. We hope to come back sometimes to stay an extra couple of days longer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just arrived back from a two night stay away celebrating my husband's birthday. Exceptionally clean. Beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout. It was very homely. Marple room with super kingsize bed had a view of the sea in the distance. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay perfect. Everything you could possibly need in the room and more. Even a birthday card and sweets. How thoughtful. Nick and Andrea deserve to do well in their business. They should both feel very proud of their achievement.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

very very clean and friendly, great room, brill brekky deffo will stay again - we stayed in the Purple room - veiws of the sea and Eastbourne in the distance, bed room had all the bits and peices and alot extra

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wow - a fabulous bed and breakfast. The rooms are extra special, so clean and modern with lovely little touches. There is a lovely guest lounge and garden area to relax in. The breakfast was lovely too. Andrea and Nick made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend staying here, we certainly will return.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely, the rosemary and thyme room has a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Northrise Lodge which is a beautifully appointed guest house on the outskirts of Hastings. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and have been beautifully decorated by the owners, Andrea and Nick - who are friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to ensure guests have a wonderful stay. We would thoroughly recommend a stay with them. When we are next in the area we will certainly return to Northrise. Thank you Andrea and Nick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

room "Marple": we had a huge kingsize bed, amazing shower, flatscreen tv, salon hairdryer, free wifi, everything you need. There were bathrobes and slippers, fresh bottles of water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate & cookies. The house itself was so beautiful, everything was new & in mint...
more

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank misles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
3.1 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
860 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 47 in Hastings
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
832 reviews
2.1 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
190 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#11 of 47 in Hastings
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrise Lodge

Address: 97 Fairlight Road, Hastings TN35 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £80 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northrise Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Beautifully renovated Edwardian House into a Four Star Silver Bed and Breakfast" Great location for a weekend or mid-week break. We are now licenced to sell alcohol which is an excellent additional service to offer our guests. We are situated with sea views across the roof tops. Northrise Lodge is approximately 5-10 minute drive from Hastings old town seafront. If you enjoy walking, it would take approximately a 35-45 minutes steady walk to reach Hastings Old Town seafront. The Country park is just opposite and with 850 acres its accessible just across the road, within a five minute walk, with the Firehills, Fairlight Road Picnic Site, Warren Glen, Fairlight Glen, plenty of wildlife, all beautiful places for you to explore, and stunning cliff top walks, we are an excellent base for walkers and cyclists. We have free street parking at the rear entrance to the B&B, in Beacon Road. There is secure driveway parking for motorbikes. We have 4 individually styled and beautifully decorated to a very high standard rooms, all with stunning modern en-suites with an excellent power shower. There is plenty of wardrobe space in each room, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer, fridge, slippers and dressing gowns for your comfort. Excellent quality beds with medium/firm orthopaedic mattresses, and luxury bedding. Complimentary Toiletries and luxurious towels and an excellent selection of teas and coffee, hot chocolate on the hospitality tray with sweets, biscuits and even cake for that extra treat. If you prefer fresh milk just ask. "Rosemary & Thyme" is a stunning king-size spacious room, king-size bed, boasts views of the roof tops to the country park and sea, a beautiful original fire place, also has an 42" LCD TV, two comfy tub chairs, "Marple" is a stunning spacious room, this has a super-kingsize bed,a beautiful original fire place, this room boasts a sea view. 42" Flat screen television on the wall. Two comfy tub chairs. "Clouseau" is a lovely larger double room, with a double bed, fire place, also has an 32" LCD TV, one comfy tub chair. "Frost" A lovely small double room, double bed, 32" LCD TV. There are no chairs in this room. However we do have a lovely guest lounge you are welcome to use. A lovely newly decorated dining/breakfast room. We also have a comfortable guest lounge with sofas, a tea and coffee machine, television. Its a lovely room to relax in after a day exploring or after breakfast. Local interests include Battle, Rye, Bodiam, Winchelsea, Golf Clubs, Museums & Art Galleries, Castles, Theatre, Country walks, all beautiful and interesting places for you to explore during your stay. Please note that breakfast is only available on weekends and not available Monday to Friday's. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing