We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Northrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northrise Lodge
Ranked #9 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in marple for a long weekend the room was immaculate Nick and Andrea was very friendly and helpful they recommended activities and restaurants for us to go to for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was really good with plenty of choice, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be definitely booking again. Thanks Nick and Andrea for a lovely stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roastietoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
116
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at this gorgeous B&B last night for my Partner Mark's birthday and have to say this is one of the best we have stayed in. Andrea and Nick are really friendly and gave us lots of information on the local area, including on the best places to eat (we ate at Lathams which was fab). There was even a birthday card and sweets waiting for Mark on arrival.
The whole house is just beautiful, with very modern decor. Our room was lovely, with a really comfy bed and it was spotless. We really couldn't find one fault.
We would not hesitate to return if we stay in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenpattenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the August bank holiday. We liked it so much we hoped to stay another night but unfortunately they were fully booked. We stayed in the marple room which has an extremely comfortable super king bed. They have clearly spent money on important features which made the stay very enjoyable. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with arranging taxis to the old town which is five minutes away and has lovely places to eat and drink. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in the 'Rosemary & Thyme' room for two nights and were made to feel very welcome by Andrea & Nick. The room was modern, clean & comfortable, & everything you could want or expect. The room is at the front of the building & you can see the sea from the front window (albeit in the distance). I have a wheat allergy & was offered gluten free options for breakfast which was fantastic. We could not recommend Northrise Lodge highly enough & will be recommending this B&B to our friends & family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I recently decided on a short break away in Hastings, this was very much a last-minute type affair. We gave Northrise a ring after looking at the recent reviews and were very happy when they said a room was available. Upon arrival we were greeted by Nick and shown to our room 'Rosemary and Thyme' (the Kingsize room). All the rooms are named after detectives, are colour co-ordinated and vary in size but all of them as well as their overall home itself are absolutely immaculate. It is very plain to see that Nick and Andrea take a lot of time and pride in what they do and in the service that they provide. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have EVER laid on and the bathroom was of a lovely modern contemporary type with sliding glass door, LED mirror lights and electric power shower. Overall, a lovely stay in a beautiful B&B with a couple who couldn't do enough to help. After renovation of the house, work is about to commence on increasing much needed parking on site and adding a self-contained apartment with sea views.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner and I stayed in Northrise Lodge for one night on our return trip from Sussex to Belgium. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stopover and were sorry we couldn't stay a bit longer. Our hosts, Andrea and Nick, made us feel very welcome and obviously run this B&B with a lot of passion. The room,'Frost', was very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean (and had one of the best showers we've ever used). The breakfast was 'cooked to measure' and also very tasty. We hope to come back sometimes to stay an extra couple of days longer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just arrived back from a two night stay away celebrating my husband's birthday. Exceptionally clean. Beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout. It was very homely. Marple room with super kingsize bed had a view of the sea in the distance. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay perfect. Everything you could possibly need in the room and more. Even a birthday card and sweets. How thoughtful. Nick and Andrea deserve to do well in their business. They should both feel very proud of their achievement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
2.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#6 of 11 in Hastings
433 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#7 of 47 in Hastings
301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
826 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 47 in Hastings
149 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#3 of 47 in Hastings
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrise Lodge

Property: Northrise Lodge
Address: 97 Fairlight Road, Hastings TN35 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Northrise Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Beautifully renovated Edwardian House into a Four Star Silver Bed and Breakfast" Great location for a weekend or mid-week break. We are now licenced to sell alcohol which is an excellent additional service to offer our guests. We are situated with sea views across the roof tops. Northrise Lodge is approximately 5-10 minute drive from Hastings old town seafront. If you enjoy walking, it would take approximately a 35-45 minutes steady walk to reach Hastings Old Town seafront. The Country park is just opposite and with 850 acres its accessible just across the road, within a five minute walk, with the Firehills, Fairlight Road Picnic Site, Warren Glen, Fairlight Glen, plenty of wildlife, all beautiful places for you to explore, and stunning cliff top walks, we are an excellent base for walkers and cyclists. We have free street parking at the rear entrance to the B&B, in Beacon Road. There is secure driveway parking for motorbikes. We have 4 individually styled and beautifully decorated to a very high standard rooms, all with stunning modern en-suites with an excellent power shower. There is plenty of wardrobe space in each room, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer, fridge, slippers and dressing gowns for your comfort. Excellent quality beds with medium/firm orthopaedic mattresses, and luxury bedding. Complimentary Toiletries and luxurious towels and an excellent selection of teas and coffee, hot chocolate on the hospitality tray with sweets, biscuits and even cake for that extra treat. If you prefer fresh milk just ask. "Rosemary & Thyme" is a stunning king-size spacious room, king-size bed, boasts views of the roof tops to the country park and sea, a beautiful original fire place, also has an 42" LCD TV, two comfy tub chairs, "Marple" is a stunning spacious room, this has a super-kingsize bed,a beautiful original fire place, this room boasts a sea view. 42" Flat screen television on the wall. Two comfy tub chairs. "Clouseau" is a lovely larger double room, with a double bed, fire place, also has an 32" LCD TV, one comfy tub chair. "Frost" A lovely small double room, double bed, 32" LCD TV. There are no chairs in this room. However we do have a lovely guest lounge you are welcome to use. A lovely newly decorated dining/breakfast room. We also have a comfortable guest lounge with sofas, a tea and coffee machine, television. Its a lovely room to relax in after a day exploring or after breakfast. Local interests include Battle, Rye, Bodiam, Winchelsea, Golf Clubs, Museums & Art Galleries, Castles, Theatre, Country walks, all beautiful and interesting places for you to explore during your stay. Please note that breakfast is only available on weekends and not available Monday to Friday's. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Northrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing