We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but pleasant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Life Boat Restaurant

Life Boat Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 351 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Basic but pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stopped off here after a sunday stroll and bought fish and chips. Quality of fish in Hastings is always good and this was no exception.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pchelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    35
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hastings
Level Contributor
184 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“superb traditional fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I can't believe I've never tried this fish and chip shop before, so tucked away it doesn't look anything worth delving into BUT my god what a treat I have been missing out on. These really were fantastic,delicious, non-greasy, delicate batter, fresh fish that I have ever for a long long time.
really a take away with a few tables in and out but so worth stopping for. Ive given it excellent for atmosphere because it isn't trying to be anything other than a dam good traditional fish and chip show and should be applauded for that, nothing fancy but good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips but this ain't no restaurant !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visiting Hastings for the first time this place was recommended to us by one of the locals. Lets get the bad bit over first - this is not a restaurant - a few tables crammed into a quarter of a chip shop does not make it a restaurant. This is a take away fish and chip shop stroke cafe at best. All that being said the staff were friendly and the fish and chips were excellent. The portions were large, tasty and delicious. A customer told us that she came down from London every Friday especially to have her fish and chips from this shop and I can believe her. I was also told that the owners have had the shop over fifty years which proves how good the food is. Bottom line is if you want to eat at a proper fish and chip restaurant go elsewhere but if you want really good fish and chips and don't mind keeping your arms in whilst eating in fear of getting your fork up your nose (as you will be sitting very very close to someone) this is the place to go. I must admit I prefer the latter every time. I gave them a tip when I paid the bill and I wish them well - I just think that it is a shame that they don't have a proper restaurant !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OldBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really Good Fish n Chips..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were lucky to have a table as it was busy - always a good sign - and I'm glad we chose the Lighthouse. Excellent Fish and Chips, crispy batter and well made chips. It will be my first choice next time..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“As good as I've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just bought cod and chips, driven to the Stade car park and ate them. I've lived in Hastings all my life and eaten fish & chips everywhere and I can tell you these are as good as they get. Try them, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Redmayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Life Boat Restaurant also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Life Boat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing