We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pimms o'clock or not!”
Review of Black Market - CLOSED

Black Market
Price range: US$10 - US$39
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Black market is a brand new and exciting restaurant & bar based in the heart of the old town of Hastings.Providing quality and affordable food from sizzling grilled Persian kebabs & stews, burgers, to hand made pizzas & local fish! With our huge licensed bar, cocktail bar and pool table, there is plenty to get involved with at the Black market!
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Have been here before and food has been good.On this occassion after eating somewhere else for my friends 40th, ended up here for a late night drink. We wanted a couple of jugs of Pimms-wouldnt have thought this difficult as they pride themselves on making excellent cocktails, but no-the bar staff didnt know what to do-I thought they were joking, but went on to say they didnt know what I meant- I went on to explain how to make it and the bar manager was called over-oh what a surprise-they told me they couldnt make jugs of Pimms for us -what a joke-other customers at the bar were laughing as they couldnt believe it either! On another note, blackmarket, get staff to check the toilets throughout the day/evening as they were absolutely disgusting on so many levels-come on brighten your ideas up and get the basics right

    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackmarket-boy, Owner at Black Market, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your latest review, it means a lot to us when customers have a good experience with us, but not leave a good review on here, but the first negative experience they have, they do the 100M sprint faster than Mr Bolt himself to take a cheap shot, bless your heart.. Our Saturday nights are so hectic sometimes that it's difficult to tick all of the boxes, like many busy venues. There better ways of getting these matters resolved, I.e approaching me directly at the venue, it's a bit late for that now tho.. But I would have been able to tell you face to face that all of our jugs were in use for large parties and the new members of staff probably havn't made a jug of pimms before, hence why I am there to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

gorgeous drinks .. well priced! lovely staff ... was so good we goin back tommoro 4 lunch! highy recommended :)

2  Thank Kaylee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackmarket-boy, Owner at Black Market, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hi there! Thank you for your latest review, we're glad that you enjoyed your cocktails & hope to see you again soon! Remember happy hour (and a half) is 7:30-9 Thursday to Saturday :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Food is amazing, HUGE portions great value for money!!
I must say the vege burger is the best I've ever tasted!!
Staff looked after us very well and the atmosphere was great! Cant wait to go back and would highly recommend!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank susannah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackmarket-boy, Owner at Black Market, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your latest review! We're glad that you enjoyed the veggie burger, like everything on our menu, the burgers are all home made with fresh ingredients, hope to see you soon! :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great food and fantastic cocktails (especially happy hour) we have eaten/drank on our regular date nights and also bought the family for supper!

Highly recommended and very friendly staff,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ju D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackmarket-boy, Owner at Black Market, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hey there! First choice for date night sounds very flattering! We are always working on new ways to make the restaurant the first choice for every occasion! Hope to see you again soon! :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Been in a few times and never had a bad meal ... Great food and a brilliant day time menu with very good staff ..

1  Thank vful72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackmarket-boy, Owner at Black Market, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your latest review! We try our best to make every experience a positive one! Hope to see you again soon! :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing