We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing architecture, amazing atmosphere, amazing place and amazing it's so little known.”

St.Mary in the Castle
Ranked #28 of 66 things to do in Hastings
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture, amazing atmosphere, amazing place and amazing it's so little known.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have been to see three things at St Mary in the Castle recently. The Purcell double bill back in September, the Show of Hands concert in October and Emily Barker last Saturday. All the concerts were fantastic, and the amazing architecture of St Mary in the Castle meant the concerts had a staggeringly beautiful back drop. I have often heard the acoustics for St Mary in the Castle praised for un-amplified music and criticised for amplified. The concerts I went to were a mixture and all sounded wonderful. I can't wait to go back again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoodServicePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Potentially excellent venue, needs restoration completing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Visited as part of Hastings Composers Festival 2013. Very interesting building and good acoustic, good potential for arts events like this and of various sizes: intimate space but with much more seating in the gallery. Nasty smell of damp and many walls unflustered, and too limited dressing-room space (only one room).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sionascaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It wasn't there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

"I met a man who wasn't there." No cafe, no obvious way in either. And it's not really clear who is running it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very quirky building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I have been for several different activities e.g. an auction, a school activity and a wedding party. The front cafe bit was quite off putting, with nothing making you realise what is behind it. We did have a nice back, and staff were very chatty and interesting. The rest of the building is a maze of corridors and rooms with a tuning central area. We heard live music and the acoustics were stunning. A very different looking place when dressed with candles and decorations, rather when left bear.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dearmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“a gem in hastings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Visitors to Hastings should take the time to visit this beautiful building, the new cafe and management are bringing the attraction back to the forefront

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyARogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St.Mary in the Castle also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to St.Mary in the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing