We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We stayed here for one night after another hotel could not provide us with the room we had booked. Our room - the family room - was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. The windows faced the seafront, which was very pleasant. The windows could be opened, which was nice - we awoke to the sound of the water. The bathroom was a good size and well lit. The breakfast was very pleasant as well. Staff was courteous. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, room comfort.
  • Disliked — Lack of face cloths.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    71
    46
    48
See reviews for
38
95
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

What a dreadful experience! I advise anyone not to go there!
From the outside it appears ok. However, on arrival the hotel smelt stale. We paid on arrival and received our keys and went up to our room. We wanted a sea view, but the net curains were so thick you could hardly see anything. One of the windows would not open either an appeared to be broken.
The beds were comfy but the decor was dated and very tired.
On looking in the bathroom, the toilet seat was practically off of it's hinges. Then the horror was the rusty and dated bath!!! There was so much rust..it was disgusting!
I could not put up with that, so I asked for another room. The receptionist was polite and obliged by showing me one room that was vacant. This was dark, but clean with a shower. It was acceptable but very hot and noisy due to the air conditioning or refrigeration units at the back of the hotel. The view was very grim indeed!!! To top it all...our kettle didn't work either. The receptionist again obliged politely by bringing us a new kettle.
On the flip side the breakfast was acceptable, but with very limited choice!
My advice...keep away!!!

  • Disliked — the whole experience
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pandabear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2007

We booked this hotel after reading all the details on their website and thought it would be a pleasant night away....Oh how wrong were we..............
The room was the size of a shoe box.........decoration was brown walls, the double bed was tiny with a horrible itchy brown blanket (No duvets), the shower just trickled, window didnt shut, view looked onto concrete walls and thats just for starters.
They warn you that there could be "Minimal Noise" from the nightclub underneath, but we felt like our bed was in the middle of the dance floor all night, we didnt get any sleep all night due to noise and drunks staggering past the windows.
Best Advice.........if you are looking for a relaxing night away dont stay here!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

This hotel is a 2 star AA rated hotel right on the sea front in Hastings. All the amenities are close by; you are literally 5 minutes from the town centre and there are a host of restaurants and pubs nearby. I’ve heard a lot about Hastings and not all of them good, but when you go past the bank and they close the lobby where the cash points are due to excessive vandalism, you know you aren’t in the best of places!

Here on business, I stayed at the Chatsworth because it represented the best value for money in terms of the facilities (wireless internet, etc). The room rate was £65 per night at a special introductory rate which I managed to haggle down to £45 and when I checked in, everything was fine.

The single room was quite spacious, but looked and felt very small, if that makes sense. The bed was comfy; however there were a few things that weren’t quite right… I asked for an iron and when they delivered it, there was a big sticker on it saying that it had failed the PAT test. There was ‘debris’ on the floor, a few tiles missing from the bathroom floor, which could have caused quite a serious injury, the kettle auto cut off didn’t work, so as soon as you plugged it in, it was on and there was no pressure from the cold water tap, so you had to brush your teeth in warm water.

Parking is on street although the hotel does have parking facilities on a first come, first served basis. The car park is behind the hotel but is situated right next door to a nightclub which is fine from Monday to Wednesday, but they do advise that you move your car from 6.00pm on a Thursday night as the late night revellers have to go through the car park to and from the club. If you are parking on the street, then you can do so for free between the hours of 6.00pm and 8.00am. Outside of these hours, you will have to pay the parking meter charges.

I stayed here for 4 nights and the stay was not unpleasant despite the problems experienced in the hotel. The staff were very friendly and hospitable. I guess if you are going to be in Hastings, then it will do, but I have been assured by the locals, that Rye, Battle or St. Leonard’s are much better options (check distance on a map as they are only a short drive away).

My one recommendation while you are in Hastings is that you visit the Jali restaurant which is adjacent to the Chatsworth Hotel. A short menu but fine Indian food. You can’t order your standard Lamb Bhuna, but what they do have on the menu is absolutely magnificent.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Crouching_Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samoa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2007

Checked in and struggled up to the room in the tiny lift with no help. The room looked like an army barracks with brown walls and brown, hairy Army blankets on the beds. We had asked for twin room with shower - we got shower over bath. No use to us as I am disabled. Was offered another room the next night - what was I supposed to do that night? Thanks for nothing. Decided to go for the option with no shower that night when suddenly we were told we could use the shower in another room. Couldn't have the room that night though in spite of it being empty! Was told the night club would be noisy - what nightclub?

So we stayed where we were and missed out on a wash and thought all would be well. Noise from the nightclub at the back of the hotel? - it was dreadful at the front!!! Thump thump thump till at least 2am. After that the screaming and fighting started till at least 3am. Then just to compound all our problems, when we went to go out in our car in the morning, one of the wing mirrors had been ripped off and there was blood on the ground from the hotel doors to our car. When we reported this it was of no concern to the receptionist who chatted away in "Indian" to someone at the back!

Can't emphasise this enough - do NOT go and stay at this hotel. The seaview is just visible through dirty windows which are locked, the staff couldn't care less and they are, and I quote "not responsible for the nightclub" . We were able to leave after one shocking night and get a refund for the others. This hotel should have NO stars let alone three - it is a disgrace to Hastings and should preferably be shut until further notice.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SamoaCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2006

Booked online and had confirmation very quickly emailed to me. The website explained the majority of rooms were facing the seafront and I put as my request for a surprise for my other half's birthday.

When we arrived we found parking nearby and when checking in there was a very strong smell of curry from their joined restaurant next door. We asked the receiption if where we parked was ok. He was unsure and said we best parked in car park nearby, but only when over heard by another guest they confirmed it was definitely to park after 6pm on Sat and free on Sundays.

We were informed there was no sea view room available so they apologised and offered us a free admission to their club instead which is on their lower ground basement. We kindly refused the offer as this was not what we intended to stay in Hastings for.

However when arrived in room it smelt terrible bad of curry and very noisey, with the window openend!! When undrawing the curtains we found there was a huge extractor fan from the Indian Restaurant and the view was of this and back of some very old dirty buildings.

We had to shut the windows and draw the curtains although it was not dark. Very disappointing and very depressing view! Leaving that alone we tried to enjoy the evening walking around the shore and having dinner, returning to our bedroom at 11pm. The club had started and the music was thumping outside sounding like it was only just by our window, and this went on til 2am. Once the club had closed there were screaming, shouting and fights going on which didn't finish until 3am! This has not finished, yet, by 8am there were people unloading bedding sheets right outside our room and leaving us with only a few hours of sleep for the awful night which was mean to be a memorable birthday.

We we highly recommend anyone to NOT stay at this hotel unless you wish to not sleep and have the smell of curry throughout your stay. Price we paid £90 for the night and was totally not worth it, when checking out they did not even ask how was our stay. Unbelievable, or unless they knew how awful they are. They were rated 2-3 star, which is total rubbish and should be 1 star!!

  • Liked — The lift!! It was new and very clean.
  • Disliked — The smell, the receptionist, the noise, the room view, the bathroom tap was leaking, extractor fan not working it just goes on!
  • Tips/Secrets — Yes, don't got there!! Chatsworth is the worst stay I have ever been in hotel and yet it was £90 per night!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lcsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2006

Location
On the sea front at Hastings. Part of a stretch of Georgian/Victorian hotel buildings interrupted by some new building near Debenhams (caused by 2nd World War bombing). There's a main road separating the hotels from the sea front which is busy with traffic

Check in
Rather slow and frosty. I'd booked a standard room over the internet with one of the main latebookers. I tried to negotiate a sea view but they weren't prepared to budge much on the price despite the fact it was early January and the hotel was almost empty.

Room
Small, very warm with a dismal view of skips and dilapidated buildings at the rear. Nice firm bed. Disco music from a local club/pub after midnight. Luckily we were able to keep the windows closed. Dodgy TV signal (not unusual in Hastings).

Bathroom
Small but clean. No bath, decent shower, shampoos and soaps supplied. Towels OK.

Cleaning
Room was fine but a food tray left outside a room opposite in the evening was still there the next morning.

Breakfast
Limited. Tinned fruit salad, a range of cereals, beans, sausages, fried eggs and hash browns. Toaster (fast) with a range of bread. No yoghurt or fresh fruit. Service, however, was very good. Scrambled egg was provided on request. Decent tea.

Car Parking
Difficult. On-street, can be expensive. There is an underground car park nearby but Hastings is pricey for car parking.

*Pros*
Location.
Nice view from restaurant.
Not too expensive.
Good breakfast staff.

*Cons*
Some rooms are small.
Building needs further refurbishment other than just slapping on paint.
Receptionist skills lacking.
Limited choice for breakfast.
Slow, quirky lift.
Car parking.

Overall: just about deserves its 2 star status but has potential. Obviously the chain's management isn't sufficiently customer focussed.

PS – we have stayed in another hotel owned by this chain and weren't impressed. We hadn't realised this when we booked the Hastings hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank histman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing