We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location best thing about this Hotel!”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location best thing about this Hotel!”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Feel I have to do this review for the sake of other possible 'guests' - Bed linen clean - one pillow which had to be folded and raised with own clothing, carpets ok, actual walls of the room dirty, covered in stains, bathroom awful, no overhead light - just mirror light, one hand towel and bath towel between two adults and had to show Staff there were no more in the room when they brought two more towels to the room! Bath had been painted white gloss but was now 'dark yellow' - let's just say disgusting so used the sink to bathe! Disgusting! Breakfast not the best, am not fussy but cold food must be put out day after day, cooked breakfast - sausages raw in the middle both nights and the rest lukewarm - toast was the best thing to be had! Did not complain as was a short break but not even a goodbye when handing in the key on leaving - not a word spoken! No words of exaggeration in any of this - feeling 'icky' even typing this. All in all awful!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    71
    44
    47
See reviews for
36
94
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northfleet
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel.
As before (Dec 2011), we found the room cost very reasonable. We did add the cost of breakfast onto our booking, but that was only £7 per person for a buffet style eat all you want meal, and there a good choice. True- the rooms are a little dated, but clean. And we did have hot water during this visit!! As other reviewers have found, the ravers of Hastings do like to party till 3am ish on a Saturday so nights can be somewhat disturbed, not the fault of the hotel though! One huge plus is the fantastic Indian restaurant situated within the hotel - a definate must, the food is superb.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthfleetSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Booked through late rooms...I would not pay the full price for this room. Double room at the back of the hotel, dust carts arrived at 6am. Bathroom clean but broken hand basin and sparodic hot water. Decor dated although room was clean and made up dailiy with clean towels a linen.
The Indian restaurant in the evening was excellent the best food we hav eaten in an Indian in along time so this made our stay worth while
In a good location for town and old town..

Room Tip: Take a gun for the seagulls they never let up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexDavidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night with my partner. Booked a double room and got room 204 - at the back of the hotel. I was mildly unimpressed at the start - clean though.
The main problems were:

1) Noise. The window wasn't double glazed and Hasting's ravers were out until 3 am. The noise from the clubs was loud and made sleeping impossible. Just when we thought it had stopped the bin lorry arrived at 5am....
So it wasn't a very restful night to say the least.

2) Bathroom was very dated. It was clean, but window didn't close properly but oddly ventilation was really bad.

On the plus side the staff were nice, breakfast was ok. I think with a bit of spend this hotel could be incrementally a lot better - people don't want to put up with this kind of thing anymore.
I certainly won't be going back - I only booked it as it was the highest star rating still free that week.
If you do find yourself having to book a room ask for one at the front of the hotel - it may be less noisy - unless you like raving in which case book room 204....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonmane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are sorry you left somewhat disappointed.that you found the accommodation dated.

We are slowly working through the hotel doing what refurbishment work we can in rather challenging economic times.

You may have noticed that we have recently changed the carpets in the majority of public areas and a number of bedrooms have been re-decorated.

Kind regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Reception was great, the receptionist smiling, polite and enthusiastic. The entrance lobby looked in character from this kind of building, clean but a bit worn, which is what I expected.

It was the same in the lift or the corridor, it all looks clean but done on the cheapest budget possible, never quite making you feel that efforts have been made, which is a shame.

As for our bedroom, as we arrived at dusk, it looked lovely, very high ceilings, crisp white bedding. Alas, the lack of attention to details became rapidly obvious over the week-end in daylight... A door that you can't bolt from the inside, wallpaper/paint in severe need of freshening up, a bath that badly needs re-enamelling or replacing, curtains that have become brittle and torn near the radiator, and bed light fittings and switches placed at the most stupid location you could imagine, right in the middle of the headboard with the switch below at head level, so that you either bang your skull against the lights or switch the lights on and off when you turn in bed! The TV was a lovely flat screen one... but needed re-tuning every time you switched it off and back on. There is a grand total of TWO power sockets, one for the kettle, one for the TV so if you want to use it for a laptop or to recharge your mobile phone, you can't do that whilst watching TV, etc... oh yes, and our bed base was broken (BEFORE we got there! lol). On our second night, we also found out that every time someone was opening or closing the door at the top of the stairs our door was rattling like in a storm, to the point we had to jam some leaflets to keep it still.

That's my point, really. It's all ooo-kay... but barely so. A coat of paint, adding a couple of sockets, putting the lights in a sensible place, it's all basic stuff you'd expect done as standard and the fact it's not there just irritates because anyone can see how easy it would be to get it up to a good standard.

The location is on the seafront, which should be great, except that the busy road alongside the promenade is roaring at all times so you can't leave your windows open and you can't hear the sound of the waves, and for the life of me, I cannot understand why, if you have rooms opening onto the sea you wouldn't have big wide windows for people to enjoy it!

Would I go back there? No. It cost us £140 for 2 of us, 2 nights, room only, which I feel is overpriced. I was prepared to accept the price tag for the privilege of being on the sea front, but frankly for the view and sound of the seafront we got, I wish we hadn't bothered.

This was supposed to be a romantic getaway for our wedding anniversary and failed miserably. :-(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Room 314 has a great view of the sea - that is the end of any highlight. The bathroom floor was filthy, the room was dated with obvious damp patches on the walls were there are leaks coming in from the roof. It would not take a genius to include a receptical for any used tea bags next to the tea/ coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was the worst part (do yourself a favour - I walked through Old Hastings half an hour later and people were devouring great looking breakfasts that cost less!), the sausage was raw in the middle, the mushrooms were cooked beyond an inch of their lives and the tea came from a communal pot that was stewed to the point of being so bitter it was pain inducing. I would have gone for the continental breakfast but didn't fancy the swarm of flies above thr croissants.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Myself and my 8 year old stayed for 2 nights ,overall we had a good stay,staff was friendly ,good breakfast,excellant location to the town and along the seafront.we stayed in a twin room at the back of the hotel the view was nt pleasent,there was noise from near by clubs and pubs and a on going noise from a generator that did nt give me a good night sleep.could do with up dating rooms and bathrooms the net curtains was filthy,overall it was nt bad as somewhere to sleep the night.

Room Tip: we was on the 1st floor so don t know if it would of been quieter the higher you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing