We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It suited us!”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed for three nights - very comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Room was on the third floor and overlooked the sea - the room was comfortable and all facilities clean and tidy. The hotel has an excellent Indian restaurant and comfortable residents lounge. Conveniently placed for the beach, town and transport (Hastings is well served with buses and trains). We enjoyed our stay at The Chatsworth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter and Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Chatsworth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights, staff very friendly ..when can be found..had a feeling they were all hiding behind the big mirror in the reception area. This place needs updating all over. Apart from that I had a pleasant stay, apart from needing water one night..and got charged 4 pound for a bottle of water..then later reading the menu that its only 3pounds..this place is ok for a short stay. But I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived late in Hastings and had no option but to stay at the Chatsworth Hotel. However if we'd had the choice I would of slept on the beach. The room was dated and had mould/damp stains on the walls and ceilings. We did not try the restaurant as it was closed. Concierge reminded us twice it was an 11am checkout, bit rude as we we're only checking in at 12.50am. Plan ahead and stay elsewhere, standards here are old British B&B not a hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulshopboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Feel I have to do this review for the sake of other possible 'guests' - Bed linen clean - one pillow which had to be folded and raised with own clothing, carpets ok, actual walls of the room dirty, covered in stains, bathroom awful, no overhead light - just mirror light, one hand towel and bath towel between two adults and had to show Staff there were no more in the room when they brought two more towels to the room! Bath had been painted white gloss but was now 'dark yellow' - let's just say disgusting so used the sink to bathe! Disgusting! Breakfast not the best, am not fussy but cold food must be put out day after day, cooked breakfast - sausages raw in the middle both nights and the rest lukewarm - toast was the best thing to be had! Did not complain as was a short break but not even a goodbye when handing in the key on leaving - not a word spoken! No words of exaggeration in any of this - feeling 'icky' even typing this. All in all awful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel.
As before (Dec 2011), we found the room cost very reasonable. We did add the cost of breakfast onto our booking, but that was only £7 per person for a buffet style eat all you want meal, and there a good choice. True- the rooms are a little dated, but clean. And we did have hot water during this visit!! As other reviewers have found, the ravers of Hastings do like to party till 3am ish on a Saturday so nights can be somewhat disturbed, not the fault of the hotel though! One huge plus is the fantastic Indian restaurant situated within the hotel - a definate must, the food is superb.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthfleetSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Booked through late rooms...I would not pay the full price for this room. Double room at the back of the hotel, dust carts arrived at 6am. Bathroom clean but broken hand basin and sparodic hot water. Decor dated although room was clean and made up dailiy with clean towels a linen.
The Indian restaurant in the evening was excellent the best food we hav eaten in an Indian in along time so this made our stay worth while
In a good location for town and old town..

Room Tip: Take a gun for the seagulls they never let up!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexDavidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night with my partner. Booked a double room and got room 204 - at the back of the hotel. I was mildly unimpressed at the start - clean though.
The main problems were:

1) Noise. The window wasn't double glazed and Hasting's ravers were out until 3 am. The noise from the clubs was loud and made sleeping impossible. Just when we thought it had stopped the bin lorry arrived at 5am....
So it wasn't a very restful night to say the least.

2) Bathroom was very dated. It was clean, but window didn't close properly but oddly ventilation was really bad.

On the plus side the staff were nice, breakfast was ok. I think with a bit of spend this hotel could be incrementally a lot better - people don't want to put up with this kind of thing anymore.
I certainly won't be going back - I only booked it as it was the highest star rating still free that week.
If you do find yourself having to book a room ask for one at the front of the hotel - it may be less noisy - unless you like raving in which case book room 204....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonmane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, Guest Relations Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are sorry you left somewhat disappointed.that you found the accommodation dated.

We are slowly working through the hotel doing what refurbishment work we can in rather challenging economic times.

You may have noticed that we have recently changed the carpets in the majority of public areas and a number of bedrooms have been re-decorated.

Kind regards

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £49 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing