We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekender”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Weekender”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Chatsworth during the Hastings carnival week, (August) we have stayed several times before, the hotel is comfortable, clean, with friendly staff, it was £180 for three nights for a double room, we had a sea view this time which is always a bonus.
We don't have breakfast in the hotel which costs £7 each we prefer to go to the Angling club which is right by the Life Boat Station, if the weather is good there is a balcony which looks out to sea a hearty brekky is about £4.50.
We have booked again for one night for the Bonfire night which happens to be the nearest Saturday to the battle of Hastings (14/Oct/1066) so on that basis it cant be bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markyridders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    59
    72
    46
    48
See reviews for
40
95
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chesham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed for one night at the Chatsworth Hotel, the staff were very friendly and attentive when ever help was needed.
The hotel is a clean 3 star, and good value for money, it is not a 5 star hotel and the decor reflects this, however it is in a great location and a good budget hotel.
The town center is a 5 min walk away and not very far from the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lone-Girl-Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Basically you get what you pay for, but any short comings were swiftly dealt with- extra pillows, towels etc provided on request. The rooms were very clean, although somewhat shabby. The sea views and sounds were great (ask for a room with a sea view); the food was satisfactory and improving, with extra veggies provided as required, or cheese and biscuits alternative to pud'. The staff could not have been more cheerful and obliging, in exchange for a smile and a thankyou!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the sight and sound of the sea from just across the road, rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizburgess157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor, Derbyshire.
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Having been to nine different Shearings budget, coastal hotels in the past several years; my wife and I feel well experience to judge this type of establishment.
The idea of this type of hotel holiday is that you do not pay 5 star prices so have no right to criticise based upon what you may perceive as 5 star standards of food or presentation.
We have just returned today from The Chatsworth where we went self-drive. We had an excellent holiday and in several ways the Chatsworth was better than Shearings Bay Hotels where we have also enjoyed holidays .
The evening food was well presented, modest ; but well cooked and enjoyable with decent presentation , tasty sauces and soups.. The coffee was delicious. The service a little slow , but excellent. The evening food was better than the average Shearings hotel.
The breakfast was of fair quality and we enjoyed it but it fell slightly short of Shearings standards which we feel is a strong suite in the Shearings offering.
The Chatsworth breakfast was presented in bain marie style water bath heated trays whereas Shearings cook and serve fresh food. One was only given single cups of tea or coffee at breakfast one at stime rather than having pots provided to the table. One had to toast ones own bread whereas Shearings serve toast in a rack .
All the staff at Chatsworth were very polite and efficient , if a little formal .
The sea view room we had was excellent although we noted , like others on Tripadvisor that the bath was a bit careworn. The road outside was had loud traffic sounds if you kept windows open. The pillows were thin and quite hard and we needed three each , which is not the norm.

Room Tip: Take softer pillows..Sea view rooms are nice but if its really hot you can not really sleep with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night over the weekend and was greeted by the nice girl in reception,but surprised to pay up front for a service I haven't received.The room was the usual fare but interior wise it was tired and dated,with the bath badly in need of replacing as it was badly stained.through trip advisor we heard good things about the Indian Restraunt which doubles as the breakfast room,the signs were good with almost a full house but after ordering our choice we waited a good hour for the food.The beds were comfortable and in the morning we looked forward to an English breakfast,but for £7 a person it was rubbish with self-service of the buffet,make your own toast and the hot food kept warm in trays usually found in Curry buffets.how can anyone get an English breakfast wrong and not supply a meal direct from the kitchen,with waitress service is just laziness by the management.If you don't have a care for the standard you want then the Chatsworth Hotel is for you.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We turned up here about 9pm and there were quite a few drunk people in the hotel foyer and hanging around outside. The receptionist asked us several times if we were OK with a double bed and despite us saying that was fine (as a same sex couple) she asked us again and again. Rooms were clean but shabby and the bath was really really stained. Probelsm with damp on walls as well. Indian food smell really strong in the hall. Breakfast was horrible. Criossants and bread was stale and coffee was really stewed. Still was relatively cheap and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on Friday 2 August and found it excellent value for money. Yes the hotel was a bit dated but our room and bedding were very clean and we felt that for what we had paid we had no complaints.

We had a good size room with a view seaview and never heard any noise through the night except for the waves crashing against the beach which was actually quite relaxing.

We arrived after 6pm and so parking in the road outside was free until 9am the next morning when we paid for an hour so we could have breakfast in the hotel.

The breakfast was great, a good selection of food and coffee was regularly topped up.

A good relaxing night and would visit again.

As for Hastings itself, it was a shame to see the seafront had gone downhill a bit since previous visits, homelessness and begging were more evident and there were more boarded up shops/cafes on the seafront which we walked along in the early evening. I would imagine at night time it could actually be a bit intimidating – if Hastings Council want people to visit and feel safe then maybe more needs to be done to help these people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
3.1 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing