We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to avoid - more like the Chavsworth”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 2 September 2008

A pretty depressing hotel.

On check-in it felt like the receptionist didn't know or care what she was doing.

The decor throughout was old fashioned and rundown and the beds small.

The bathroom stank of bleach yet hadn't been properly cleaned as there were hairs in the plughole and no toilet roll.

The only good thing was the nice breakfast in the Indian restaurant attached to the hotel.

I really wouldn't suggest staying at this hotel or Hastings - on the night of our stay there was a racist beating just down the road that killed a guy. Hastings is a total dump.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

1 night at this hotel was really enough. Our room had no toilet roll in the bathroom and pubic hair in the stained bath tub. The rooms are not air conditioned, and much of the hotel smelt of curry - not surprising since the hotel restaurant is now an indian restaurant. Carpets in the corridors had ripped.

The room itself was however clean but lacked basics - the number for reception/ housekeeping was never answered, having tried to have the bathroom problem rectified. When checking out reception couldn't care less about the quality of your stay. The one redeeming thing was the breakfast which was decent quality food and an adequate choice.

Street parking only, but there was space directly in front of the hotel.

Hastings itself seems rather faded and it was difficult for a first time visitor to find somewhere decent to go out to eat.

Thankfully I booked through a discount website, but the normal room rate is a joke for the standard.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RegularTravellerMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Booked a single room on the offchance the same evening having no idea as to how the Hotel was but couldn't argue with the convienience of location.

No single rooms were avaliable but the very friendly receptionist offered me a discount on a double for £60 with breakfast which I thought was pretty ok and accepted.

The room was quite old fashioned and basic with a creamy-brown decor (think 1970's/1980's Travelodge and you won't be far wrong) but clean, functional and tidy with a newly fitted bathroom which was of good quality.

My room was at the back of the Hotel which left me with poor views of the unsightly and dank rear which was also quite noisy due to the proximatey of the towns bars and nightclubs but the double glazing cut out most of the noise. This unfortunately made the, already very warm room, even warmer though if you closed it so it was a choice of noise or high heat.

I chose high heat and I have to say I slept pretty well. The Breakfast was pretty standard and all in all, it was a pretty average, no-frills stay and just about worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dunmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Location
This hotel definitely has a great location, right on the beach front and easy access to the town centre.

Parking
You can only park outside the hotel for two hours at a time and so we parked in the underground car park a short walk away (24hours for £6)

Check in
Although not particularly welcoming, a member of staff came to the reception to check us in, this was fairly quick. They failed to tell us that the whole hotel had no hot water and our room did not have heating either.

Room
We checked in early afternoon left our belongings in our smallish poky double room in need of modernisation, then went about seeing the sights of Hastings.

Facilities
Later in the evening when we returned to the room we found that there was no heating, but luckily lots of spare blankets and so we 'made do' with what we had. In the morning we found that there was not hot water and were directed by staff at the reception to boil the kettle to wash in the sink.

Food
The breakfast was ok. We ordered a cooked breakfast which arrived within a few minutes.

Outcome
We were not offered any discount whatsoever for the lack of basic amenities and will steer well clear of this place in future.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zed_was_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Stayed here over the August bank holiday 2007 for three nights. The description seemed preety nice but the reality was somewhat different! The hotel is on the seafront and from the outside seems quite nice, we had a room on the third floor to the rear of the hotel. There is no car park so you have to pay to park out on the street. On reaching the third floor you are greeted by a fairly musty damp smell which also greeted us when we enterd our room. Our view was dilapidated vacant buildings viewed through a window covered in seagull *** and very dirty net curtains. The "en suite" was full of mildew and mould and the room was tiny and the bed was propped up by an over turned plastic milk crate, I joke not!! We were kept awake til 3 am by a karaoke bar and had an early alarm call at 6 am when the hotel bottle bins are emptied by the refuse truck. this happened every single night of our stay.

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank farriermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We stayed here for one night after another hotel could not provide us with the room we had booked. Our room - the family room - was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. The windows faced the seafront, which was very pleasant. The windows could be opened, which was nice - we awoke to the sound of the water. The bathroom was a good size and well lit. The breakfast was very pleasant as well. Staff was courteous. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

What a dreadful experience! I advise anyone not to go there!
From the outside it appears ok. However, on arrival the hotel smelt stale. We paid on arrival and received our keys and went up to our room. We wanted a sea view, but the net curains were so thick you could hardly see anything. One of the windows would not open either an appeared to be broken.
The beds were comfy but the decor was dated and very tired.
On looking in the bathroom, the toilet seat was practically off of it's hinges. Then the horror was the rusty and dated bath!!! There was so much rust..it was disgusting!
I could not put up with that, so I asked for another room. The receptionist was polite and obliged by showing me one room that was vacant. This was dark, but clean with a shower. It was acceptable but very hot and noisy due to the air conditioning or refrigeration units at the back of the hotel. The view was very grim indeed!!! To top it all...our kettle didn't work either. The receptionist again obliged politely by bringing us a new kettle.
On the flip side the breakfast was acceptable, but with very limited choice!
My advice...keep away!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pandabear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £45 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing