We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location needs major revamp”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location needs major revamp”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Managed to book the last room in town here on a bank holiday. Paid 95 but was very basic for what was meant to be luxury the bathroom was disgusting.
Receptionist was lovely and very helpful but wouldn't go again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyoftwo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    72
    46
    48
See reviews for
39
95
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed for a weekend in mid-May while visiting people in Hastings; I hadn't visited the town for over 12 years and really only remember the Chatsworth as a late-night drinking venue after the pubs had shut - which it certainly isn't now. There was nobody at reception when I arrived around 4pm; a card instructed one to use the adjacent telephone to summon assistance. I was checked in efficiently enough by the person on duty, who arrived after I'd made the telephone call. The room I was given (a single room with a single bed) was on the first floor, with a sea view as requested, and the corridor either side of it had a fire door. The room was pleasant enough for the price paid, although the net curtain could have done with cleaning/replacing and the main curtain was not easy to close. The bathroom was adequate and there was hot water whenever I wanted it.

Among the guests on the first night were several youth sporting teams, a team of railway maintenance workers, a group of English-language students and the usual assortment of other visitors, as a result of which the hotel was full. I was out in the evening but issues experienced later after returning included the fire doors outside the room banging often (better door closers would have helped) as people passed along the corridor, noisy sports people and students (you have to accept a certain amount of youthful exuberance and excitement, but their leaders could have mentioned showing consideration for other guests), and the fire bell ringing at 2:30am... The hotel appeared to be a lot emptier the second night and was far more peaceful.

Breakfast the first morning was buffet-style. All the ingredients were cheap and the scrambled egg was very watery. I really don't know what they had done with the bacon. I'd read comments about the sausages from other reviewers so just had to try one and yes, it was as awful as described :-) However, breakfast the next day was very different. I discovered the buffet arrangement is only used when the hotel is very busy (and presumably a lot of guests have ordered breakfast in advance), otherwise it is cooked to order. I asked for scrambled egg and was asked (by I guess a member of management) if I wanted bacon too. On explaining that I had not liked it the previous morning, he said he would check with the cook, and bacon arrived on a separate plate for me to try. It was still not very nice (those cheap ingredients...), but better and at least the effort at service had been made.

On checking out, I was asked if I had enjoyed my stay. I mentioned the banging fire doors and was told that I should have reported the problem, because they could have wedged them open!!! In summary, this is not an expensive hotel and is probably run with costs minimized so far as possible, so certainly do not expect anything above basic. A hotel such as this does have a place in the scheme of things and Its rates will obviously draw lots of budget travellers. If you don't want the issues described above, pay a bit more and stay elsewhere. If you do stay, however, it might be best to go out for breakfast :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

upon arrival exterior is very delapedated curtains discoloured drain pipes and gutters broken interior is from the 60s still staff were ok tho (at this point).got into our room to find a 3/4 bed with a double matress on and a leg broken on the bed so it was unstable..bathroom only light was from the shaver light so very dark but that still did not disguise that moldy broken tiles in the shower cubicle ...bedding had a big hole in it... asked for some one to come and see and got a load of excusses "its not mold its paint from last week " what did they paint its all dull still... bed i done that the hole and the broken leg.moved us to a different room to find a massive sick stain on wall and splats still very visable .this almost made us vomit our self "oh thats rain water leaking from the roof " what in chunks ????
got refund and ran as fast as we could

Room Tip: unless u ask for seaview all you see is a noisy night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Chatsworth Hotel is situated 220m to the east of the old pier (now a wreck!) so well placed on the seafront. Parking at a nightly fee of just £2 is at the nearby underground park at Carlisle Parade. Unloading possible, if you are quick, at the hotel itself.

Food was generally good (only breakfast taken) and more than adequate for those on normal diets .However, the hotel which is under new catering management, was unable to meet specific dietary needs.....no non-dairy or gluten free food.With more and more people falling into the gluten and dairy free categories this is a situation which needs to be addressed.

Rooms were clean and generally spacious. Decor throughout the hotel was in serious need of a makeover.

Staff were, without exception, kind and friendly and anxious to please.

We suffered none of the problems of drunkenness that previous reviewers seemed to have suffered. Indeed the hotel was mainly occupied by a large group of courteous and friendly Swedish middle aged guests who were quite happy with the hotel provision..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here a few times now and have to say this time was unfortunate. Woken up at all hours from 2.30 am onwards by doors banging with drunk people coming home. That problem could be halved if the doors had doors closers on that actually worked, I.e. Closed slowly!

The other half could be solved if people showed respect for others. But we all know that's not going to happen and beyond the hotels capabilities. Still, new door closers would be a start.

There was a constant smell of cigarette smoke as you came out onto the landing of the first floor opposite room 112 which seemed to waft its way around that floor. After doing four months packing up, I hated it! I don't need temptation :-)

The rear of the hotel is much much quieter than the front, but the view is grim. The front sea view is lovely but all night traffic noise and sirens and drunks should be expected. Ok for townies.

The rooms are very clean but basic and costed fairly. The breakfast exceeds the standards of the hotel. They usually do parking tickets for the underground car park which is very handy, but had ran out this time. So this time was a real pain.

Overall basic hotel for basic cost.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. The rooms are clean but could do with modernising. The downside was that each night we were woken by our neighbours banging doors whilst coming in at 3.30 am each night ! We were at the rear of the hotel which meant although we had no sea view there was no road noise . The breakfast was lovely each morning with a varied choice of continental or cooked breakfast and because of the two hour breakfast time it was never really busy. The staff were helpful and attentive . A nice stay at a cheap price ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crossyshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

stayed here on a university trip. It was better than what i expected. There is a wide selection of food at breakfast. The rooms are clean and quite homely, especially the bathroom. There is a bar but I never saw it open once during my stay. The location is the most convenient, as the beach is right across the road. I would recommend this hotel overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing