We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value, great location.”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Decent value, great location.”
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The hotel is certainly well situated, right on the esplanade, close to new town and old town and easy access to the railway station.
The interior of the hotel along with most of it's amenities are rather dated. The rooms are small, very small. The bathroom area is tiny and all in all produces a somewhat claustrophobic feeling. Sparse on the grooming aids and the tea/coffee makings were not replenished after the first day but you are requested to ask for more in the hotel guide. Food was OK but personally I am tiring of the Full English, just wish some of these establishments would be a little more adventurous. The bar is part of the restuarant and a pretty soulless place for a drink.
All in all it is adequate for £55 but another £7.50 for breakfast, maybe a little over the top.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthseaRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevinfrensham, General Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We were saddened to learn that all was not well with your stay.
We have certainly taken on board your comments and from feedback received we believe that we have improved on customer satisfaction.
If wishing to visit Hastings we would like the opportunity of welcoming you back to Chatsworth Hotel.
Please accept our apologies for your disappointment.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    59
    71
    46
    48
See reviews for
38
95
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Promanade location just doesnt compensate for the jaded can't be bothered air that this hotel has. Dingy rooms, overworked houskeeping staff didn't get round to changing towels or making up the beds until prompted. Mean toiletries. Saturday nights noisy whether on the front or in the back. Adequate breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbuckner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevinfrensham, General Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We were saddened to learn that all was not well with your stay.
We have certainly taken on board your comments and from feedback received we believe that we have improved on customer satisfaction.
If wishing to visit Hastings we would like the opportunity of welcoming you back to Chatsworth Hotel.
Please accept our apologies for your disappointment.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I booked this hotel very last minute as we were attending a concert in Hastings. After a few bad reviews here, I took a gamble as the price was great. I originally booked a non seaview twin but we were given a double instead. When we went back to reception they were most apologetic and we ended up in a twin seaview room. Yes this place is a bit dated with a tired, old looking bathroom but we were only staying one night and you get what you pay for. The only slight complaint I have is that we arrived at 12pm aware of the 2pm check in but some hotels do let you check in early but hey, they were just adhering to their policies. A nice budget hotel on the seafront close to the city centre and all the other major attractions with helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shed_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevinfrensham, General Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We do hope to welcome you back to Hastings and in particular the Chatsworth Hotel on some future occasion.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hadlow
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2010

very central and had a very good Indian restaurant - food was first class

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc0093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevinfrensham, General Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We do hope to welcome you back to Hastings and in particular the Chatsworth Hotel on some future occasion.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2010

When you book the hotel, book the award winning restaraunt at the same time to avoid disappointment as it excellent and well booked. 4 out of 5 rooms had seaviews and we watched the storm with amazement. We took several young people with learning disabilities and there happened to be a Disco on in the Green Room, which was excellent and our young people thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The hotel is central and we didn't use our mini-bus during our stay. We visited the caves , brilliant and a chinese buffet restaurant within a very short walk. The staff were friendly and made us all welcome.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Our room, with a sea view, was basic, but adequate. The decor was dark, dreary and shabby. The bathroom was very cramped. Half the towels were kept in a drawer under the TV?!? and we had no bathmat. There was a long dark hair in the bath!!!!! The Indian food in the restaurant was terrific, but the English food left something to be desired. The bar facilities left a lot to be desired, although the barman was efficient and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevinfrensham, General Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We were saddened to learn that all was not well with your stay.
We have certainly taken on board your comments and from feedback received we believe that we have improved on customer satisfaction.
If wishing to visit Hastings we would like the opportunity of welcoming you back to Chatsworth Hotel.
Please accept our apologies for your disappointment.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

A couple of colleagues and I recently stayed at this sea facing hotel and we were shocked to hear that the Indian restaurant in the hotel had actually won a rosette for its food. We naturally had to try it especially being Indian food.

What a gem .The quality of the meal was absolutely marvellous and the service was very friendly. Any one passing through hasitngs should try out this hidden gem!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Showst3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 7-11 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatsworth Hotel is one of Hasting's landmarks, situated in a superb position on the sea front. The hotel is a short walk from the bus and train stations and has ample car parking just yards away. All of the Chatsworth's 52 bedrooms are tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard offering: Direct dial telephones with data port Remote controlled television and radio Tea and coffee making facilities Hair dryer The bedrooms are situated on 3 floors with lift access to all. All are ensuite and many enjoy the benefits of the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing