We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some great restaurants around here”
Review of Old Town Hastings

Old Town Hastings
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Some great restaurants around here”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had some fantastic seafood meals down here. People watching is fun as there are some real "characters" hanging around in Hastings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank netyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,101
    596
    106
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely seaside spot with the quirky fishermen's huts, lovely little beach area (pebbles), easy to park and plenty of places to eat

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaelcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoux, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“More than just a tourist site”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've been visiting Hastings for some time and always enjoyed it's laid back attitude. This last time, I went to eat the very best Fish and Chips ever at Molly's fish restaurant, sited in one of the old smoke houses in the area of Rock-A-Nore. Gourmet is good but fantastic traditional food can't be beaten, particularly at amazing low prices.
Visit Rock-A-Nore fisheries and buy their smoked salmon, kippers, haddock etc. Superb quality and flavour, good prices and such good service. I am very impressed by these little Hastings specialities. I hope to go back soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fishy”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to visit with lots of interesting shops. The fishing museum is well worth a visit. Good seafood stalls. There is plenty of activities and amusements for all.

Helpful?
Thank paegant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Locals, we always bring people here to visit”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Love the old town. As we are locals, we are here nearly every other night!
Lots of shops, great restaurants, activities and all sorts. We normally take people to see the following;
-Take the old lift up to visit the Smugglers Caves
-Walk along Rock a Nore on the beach as weird fish carcasses left from the fishing boats
-See the fishing boats and huts
-Great for eating and drinking in and outside
-Old Town week is always really good! Including pirate day, Jack in the green festival etc
-Crazy golf on the sea front
-Visit all the antique shops
-Always something going on there every night

Its good to visit any time of day.
Really recommend visiting on the days and nights of festivals

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank alexis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town Hastings also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Old Town Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing