We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, well kitted out, generously sized...”
Mount Pleasant House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mount Pleasant House
3D Internet TV with Home Cinema System, Wii Console & WiFi Comfortable Lounge with reclining suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Mount Pleasant House
3D Internet TV with Home Cinema System, Wii Console & WiFi
Comfortable Lounge with reclining suite
The Well Equipped Kitchen with Induction Cooker
Kitchen/Diner with 2 high chairs
Superking Downstairs Bedroom
Shower room Ground Floor
Double Bedroom
Back bedroom, Twin
Shower Room Upstairs
Bright Front Twin Bedroom
Bathroom with Shower/Bath
Cabin / Games Room
Snooker / Pool Table, Table Football & Darts
Secure Enclosed Garden
Pets are Welcome
The BOS playing field
West Hill, Looking over the Old Town
Alexandra Park
Lovely Walks at Fairlight
Hastings Fishing Boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mikemcr
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, well kitted out, generously sized holiday home”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stayed at this house many times over the last five years and find it comfortable, well-resourced and a fantastic place for a large family.

Sheila (the owner) and her family have done nothing but go the extra mile for us – which is especially convenient as she lives next door. From scones and jam on arrival to providing a battery charger (and assistance from a local mechanic) when our car failed to start. On our first stay, Sheila even bought our daughter a present when she realised it was her birthday.

Unlike other holiday homes we have stayed at in the area, this place has ample space for eight people. It has a large dining table, plenty of chairs in the front room and a decent sized rear garden. The beds are comfortable with an easy access bedroom on the ground floor and three bedrooms upstairs. There is a convenient shower and toilet downstairs and a shower room upstairs as well as another bathroom with a bath.

Plenty of activities are available for rainy days; the games room has pool, snooker, darts and table football. There are board games in the house, a Wii and a TV with access to iPlayer, ITV player, all4 etc.… The internet is fast and reliable: I regularly download TV programmes to my laptop and stream programmes on the 42” telly. There is also a 5.1 system with a Blu Ray player.

The kitchen is spacious with a decent sized fridge/freezer and an electric oven with electric hobs. The dishwasher and washing machine come in very handy with plenty of tableware available. We have had many enjoyable meals round the table and there are drying rails upstairs for clothes.

Free off street parking is great: right next to the door with two spaces (very rare in Hastings). If ever we need anything we pop next door to Sheila who can sort almost anything out. A park with an excellent play area for children is a short walk away as is Morrisons supermarket. You will also benefit from a workout if you walk as the route back is uphill!

If you need a large sized relaxing family home in Hastings for a week or two with free off street parking, you will struggle to do better than this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you for giving us such a good review. We do our best to make our guests stay a positive one. It is always a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay in Hastings & at Mount Pleasant House. We look forward to your next visit.
Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Big let down ”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We hired this house for our daughter to be married from as we don't live in Hastings, as we had to hire for 7 days we decided to stay on with my Mother, other daughter and her family for a few days holiday.
I am at a loss with earlier reviews, the house had a horrible musty smell we had to burn candles nightly to eradicate it. The water had no pressure at all yes there is 3 showers but they trickle there is no presdure the bath took an age to fill for our granddaughters bath each evening. The hot water takes forever to warm up. The biggest shock was the bedding no duvets just a sheet and old blankets with 1970 type old eiderdowns. We actually went out and bought bedding.
The owner was welcoming and yes there were baked scones waiting which was nice but we were so upset with what we found it took 3 days for us to settle, we spent all our time out of the house. The afore acclaimed wifi was useless we ran our phones on 4g, we did use the BBQ which was preferable to using the cooker.
I have never hired a private house before and would hesitate to do so again.
The request was to check out by 10am and we were on course to do this however on the morning we were leaving dead on 10am the owner walked in to clean we felt like we'd been evicted.
A wonderful occasion of our daughters wedding will always be blighted by our biggest mistake of renting this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the house. As we are only next door & wish you had mentioned any of these issues while you were with us. We have never had problems before. It was after 10am when we came in to see if you were ready to vacated the property & we needed to do intensive cleaning after you left. We had divided the zip link bed downstairs, put 2 beds together upstairs & made up a zbed & blow up bed along with looking after your dog for the day of the wedding. You had a party on the friday night & the BBQ was left needing an hour to clean. We have never had problems with the summer bedding as visitors say they don't want duvets in the hot weather. As for the WiFi when alot of people are using it, it will become less powerful. The visitors this week say that they can't agree with your review & we feel hurt after trying so hard to cater for all your needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan van B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and luxurious Hastings home!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fine week in this spacious and lyxurious house, quite close to the centre of Hastings. For the dog walks in nearby Alexandra park was a treat. From Hastings, not to be missed places as London and Battle are wuthin reach. The friendly reception of Sheila makes one feel comfortable right from the start. No hesitation here to recommend this house!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your review & telling others about the interesting places nearby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpvile
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing house for a great holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From arriving to a guided tour and fresh scones, this house made our holiday a truly relaxing time for the whole family.

The house was amazingly equipped with the kids turning the games room into their own club / den while we enjoyed the garden and the dog lazed in the sunshine.

There was everything you could ever need supplied (we always go prepared but were amazed at how well we were looked after) And the showers, toilets and rooms were spacious, clean and fantastically equipped.

The Wii led to family 'Olympic' games, and then enabled us to use Netflix and YouTube as well. The internet was fast and enabled all the family devices to work happily.

The house is in a great location, with Morrisons a short (If slightly uphill on the return journey) 10 mins away on foot. Its a 30 minute walk into town over the West Hill (Very steep but worth it with great views of the old town and the First In Last Out pub lies at the other end with very good beer brewed in Hastings)

We could have done something different every day for a year, but sadly only had a week available. There is just so much to do, and its worth looking as booking activities online can save you between 10% and 20% on entry prices.

We will come back and would not want to stay anywhere else. Also this has set a new standard we will look for when ever we travel anywhere else.

Thank you for making your home ours for our stay, and we hope to see you again!

The Bloomfields

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was so easy to adapt to it felt like home straight away
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you for a lovely review. You left the house spotless & we were sorry to see you go home. It was nice to hear laughter over the fence & thank you for writing in our holiday book to let other visitors know good places to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banana300...
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for a party and multi generations”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted with the Mount Pleasant property. It is spacious and very well equipped with generous bathroom provision. Dogs are made to feel very welcome and the games cabin and toy cupboard were an added bonus. Sheila was very kind and accommodating; we held a 70th birthday party, which the house was perfect for. The reclining sofas in the lounge were super. We are a family of three generations and the house caters for all those generations.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review & taking the time to write it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma L
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming people, and very clean homely home.”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sheila and Robert am sorry taken me so long to write a review,

We stayed here at the end of sept, a family of 5 adults 3 young children and a dog, we had a lovely time, fab base to lots of places, the house was lovely and plenty of room for all to sit and eat, as we spent a lot of time there to,

Due mum having a accident while on holiday, Sheila was very good with her nursing skills, and making sure mum traveled home in comfort,

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Hope all the family are well & maybe see you again one day.
We wish you a happy, healthy year ahead.
Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutly wonderful”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very spacious and extremely well-equipped.
We were very warmly welcomed by the owners Sheila and Robert. We especially enjoyed the games shed in the garden. Sheila was very helpful and picked us up from the supermarket and even drove us to the station at the crack of dawn on the day of out departure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
It was a pleasure to have you stay. We try to make your holiday a happy & memorable one .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing