We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked most of our boxes”
Review of Town House Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Town House Rooms
Ranked #24 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ticked most of our boxes”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

View from room #1 was over the car park. That said, the location for us couldn't have been better. One hanging rail and a storage bench did us okay for 2 nights but I can imagine I would have become annoyed by our clutter if we had stayed any longer. The ensuite was actually 2 separate 'cupboards' - one with a shower and the other with the WC and a very tiny basin - but we were only staying 2 nights so we coped.
Friday night is music night and, fair enough, the music stopped at 11.30pm. But then there was a little noise from packing up etc
Breakfast was okay but we had to ask for various things like hot water for the tea bags and our clean side plates were whisked away so we had to use plates off another table for the toast which you can make yourself in the toaster. The coffee was terrible. Very strong and muddy. Was this filter coffee in a cafetiere?
I would not recommend this room for anyone who is large because of the ensuites...
Very steep steps up to the room so not disabled friendly at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siouxsie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    46
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend and we had a very comfortable room and stay:-) our room was more like a mini flat and very clean and lovely decoration. We had tea and coffee making facilities, a lovely bathroom with shower and toiletries provided. A wide screen TV and comfortable furniture. It was on the first floor corner of the building, room 2. The only slight criticism is that the very thick mattress on the bed had a too small fitted sheet that kept coming off which was annoying but otherwise very comfortable! We parked in the shopping centre carpark opposite and we were given a ticket to exit the carpark on checking out included:-) The breakfast in the morning was a delicious full English and good value at about £5.75 each. We enjoy our stay and would go back again if we visited Hastings again :-) thankyou :-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Esmeralda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night in July and I have waited to post this review as hoped the refund we were offered and promised as a result of a dreadful stay with a catalogue of Faulty Towers errors would have arrived but it hasn't.

For what we wanted the location was good as we were going to Hastings Beer Festival so knew that it was walking distance. We were not expecting anything amazing but did expect the breakfast we paid for, working electrical sockets and hot water for a shower...

The room itself was clean and was newly decorated in fact there was still painting cloths and covers in all the hallways which was a little odd. Check in was via the pub, the person who checked us in couldn't get away quick enough!

We quickly discovered that the electrics were not great and no sockets seemed to work or lights. Given the poor check in we decided to figure out ourselves and discovered the trip switch to our room was off, we restored and then we had power although 1 socket didn't work and there was no light in the bathroom. The bathroom had less than half a toilet roll and no hand towel which is just really poor attention to detail. Because we were literally going straight out, we didn't have the opportunity to resolve so this meant bringing our own toilet roll back with us at midnight and having to use the bathroom with the door open to use the light from the room!

The nights sleep was fine although we wanted to sleep with the windows open as it was very warm but some of the windows didn't work. In the morning, looking forward to a shower, we discovered we had no hot water at all. So no shower as there was no one to query this with.

We went downstairs for breakfast at 8am and everything was locked up. Thinking of giving up and going, we tried again at 8.15am and there was someone there who openly admitted he had been roped in and had no idea what to do. That was an understatement, there was no orange juice and he couldn't find the milk. It took 30 minutes to get a cup of tea (we, 2 of us, were the only people there) and even then we were served with a 4 jug plastic carton on our table. Because he couldn't find the milk, we couldn't have cereal so we said we would have toast. He took forever to locate some bread and then gave us a loaf of frozen bread still in its plastic packet! I am serious but it gets worse! The good old electrics to the hotel, clearly didn't work in the breakfast room either as the toaster wouldn't work. We had to crawl under the table, unplug and find a working plug elsewhere placing the toaster on the floor. We didn't bother to try to get anything else and promptly left. We had actually paid extra for this breakfast experience!

I sent a polite email to the owner a few days later, I did get a phone call, we spoke, he apologised and offered a refund which he said I would get the following week. Nothing happened so I followed up again and heard nothing. I left a message and emailed again recently and have heard nothing back. This is shocking customer service, well lack of customer service.

I am sure this was an isolated incident however to receive such bad service, inadequate facilities and no breakfast with a promise of a refund but never to get the refund (3 months now) I really am quite outraged.

My recommendation would be to avoid here and stay in the old town where there is a good selection of quality B&B's and they appreciate your business.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becks30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'm originally from Hastings and was looking for a last minute hotel to go and visit family and booked here for a good deal, we ate in the restaurant and had the steak it was the best steak I've ever had! And you get 10% off as a guest! Room was comfy and clean I'd 100% stay here again so close to town (2min walk )

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

For a town centre hotel this is great value. Our only grumbles re the room were the absence of a plug for the bath and the fact the extractor fan doesn't work. And the shower's a bit weird. But aside from that, the room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were lovely. Could have done without the loud piped music at breakfast on the first day, and we were glad of the peaceful silence the next morning. Breakfast coffee was very good. We'll be back, that's for sure (and we'll bring our own plug!).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews having never been to Hastings before, we were staying for one night and didn't want to pay 'silly money' for a fancy hotel. We were shown to our room by one of the restaurant staff and were given our key and details about the breakfast availability etc. We stayed in room 4, and whilst not the biggest room I've stayed in, it was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels, shampoo and shower gel. we mentioned that we had parked in the car park opposite and were given an exit ticket which meant the parking was free, a very nice touch. We wanted to go to the Old Town in the evening and the staff told us it was about 20 mins walk away or they could order us a cab, which they did and it arrived in just a few minutes. All the staff were very attentive and happy to help where they could. All in all a great place to stay for a night or two at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matildacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Chose this hotel for an overnight stay in Hastings thanks to the excellent reviews, and we were not disappointed.

Check in is via the pub/restaurant attached, although when you get your key, you have a separate door to return to your room. Be aware, when dark, you have to switch the light on before ascending, otherwise it's quite scary! Light switch via the separate entrance is on your left hand side just as you open the door.

Very friendly people who checked us in, and showed us to the room.

Room itself was spacious with a huge bed, although it was a slight disappointment to us that it was two singles shoved together, but it was still very comfortable. The shower room and toilet are seperate, which was useful, and the shower itself was excellent.

We decided to have lunch in the pub (£5.95 for a variety of different meals, including a very good burger and chips that I had, and that included an alcoholic or soft drink. Great value for money), before heading off into Hastings.

Location-wise, its five minutes from the rail station and very close to the seafront and old/new town.

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 46 in Hastings
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Hastings
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millifont Guest House
Millifont Guest House
#41 of 46 in Hastings
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phoenix Guest House
Phoenix Guest House
#12 of 46 in Hastings
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town House Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Rooms

Property: Town House Rooms
Address: 9 South Terrace, Hastings TN34 1SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town House Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Town House Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing