We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortes Pizzeria

Fortes Pizzeria
Ranked #24 of 357 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have dined here for a Saturday dinner with friends as well as a couple of lunches. It's lovely being greeted like old friends on your return trips!
The menu is typical Italian with old favourites as well as some more localised offerings featuring seafood. Their pizzas are especially good and I'm slowly working my way through the menu... Unluckily for my diet they also deliver!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    31
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No nonsense, just good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Been here twice and would like to come back. Been here with toddler, and without and both times a success. Three Italian brothers have had the restaurant for almost 50 years, and the food and the atmosphere almost make you believe, you are in Italy. We've had pasta and pizza and dessert, and all was very good. The service was a mix of Italian indifference and feeling like a long waited friend. Very reasonable prices. We noticed that there was quite a few frequent customers, and were we staying in Hastings, we would become that too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NN-CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Birthday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Seven friends and myself had a lovely birthday meal at fortes last Sunday
Good, simple, quality Italian food the sea bass was excellent
Friendly service will definitely return

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davedge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxed and fun! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We are staying in St Leonard's for a few days and were wondering along the 'front' when we came across this little Italian run by Tony and his brother. They have been in St Leonard's for over 40 years and they love it here. They made us very welcome and the restaurant is just down to earth, not pretentious in any way, and very relaxed. The food we had was good, hot and tasty, maybe not great, but certainly good enough for us to want to go back again before we go home. Two courses for two hungry people, a nice bottle of wine and an indecent number of an excellent Limoncello and coffee came to just over £50 and we enjoyed ourselves a lot. Well done guys!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
582 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Overall this was an enjoyable meal. The food is better than your average Italian and the prices are reasonable. However, service was quite slow and there was nothing which made this meal 'excellent'.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortes Pizzeria also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Fortes Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing