We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful property”
other travellers have booked this property
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
candle lit nights by the fire beautiful boutique style french beds super comfy and hotel style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
gorgeous working  fireplaces and furnishings
candle lit nights by the fire
beautiful boutique style french beds super comfy and hotel style
fireplaces in every bedroom
the seating area in kitchen opens onto front garden so you can watch the world go by
there is a library in the toilet !
the front door is the your own personal access to apartment the bench to side is where we take break
the bicycles come with the flat
the kitchen is french style
all crockery and utensils provided
the front garden has a lawn for picnics or you have key to private huge garden
The master bedroom with enormous chateau style gold bed
bodiam castle is half an hour drive its a fairy tale castle
this is the famous cafe of the norman road in st leonards called the love cafe you cant miss it
we love soaking in the bateau bath by candlelight
georgian basins and the little seascape is of bexhill by my brother the artist of the house
restful environment the minute you enter you feel peaceful
stony dog guards the front door, the witching stones with holes on the door protect us
gorgeous george smith sofas to read our lovely art books on in the peaceful lounge
a beautiful desk to write your letter home ... except now you have wifi!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kathleen8...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Large flat with bohemian decor in a quiet residential area.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is a large flat, decorated in bohemian style, located in a quiet residential area with some elegant Georgian houses.

The bed in the back bedroom was turned down, whereas the bed in the front bedroom was not. Therefore, I assumed that I was expected to use the back bedroom. Of the two pillows on the back bedroom bed, one was rock hard and, therefore, far too uncomfortable to sleep on, and so was unusable. This bedroom had no wardrobe, and the wardrobe in the front bedroom was locked. The lighting in the living room was quite dim. However, there was a good TV and the central heating worked well.

The flat is about a mile away from St Leonards Town Centre, where the nearest shops, cafes and restaurants are - and it's uphill all the way back. However, there is a bus stop five to ten minutes' away (depending on how quickly you happen to walk) in London Road. Buses from here go to St Leonards Town Centre, the seafront and Hastings Town Centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flat was spacious and I liked the bohemian decor.
Liked least: Having to use the back bedroom, no wardrobe, one pillow unusable as far too hard.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
The pillows are of different sorts the hard one is a hypoallergenic pillow for feather allergies ( my brother suffers from this) we are sorry you didnt just use any bed you could have used both and we wouldnt have minded at all. the flat is there for your pleasure ,that bed was turned down just because my husband always does that at home and we use that bed when we stay.The bulbs in the front chandelier had blown and thats why the room was dim but we have happily replaced them.The spares are sittingin thecupboard . Sorry for your spoilt holiday I wish you had contacted us for clarification as we could have easily sorted this for you. Luckily it is the cheapest deal in hastings so it didnt break your bank as well as your hearts best wishes Andres wife
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon1970...
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful property”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I am just in the process of booking to return here, such was the quality of my stay. A beautiful Burton building that is decorated impeccably and is so comfy and cosy it was sometimes an effort to drag ourselves out to explore. Lovely surroundings in the conservation area and one of the many great things about the hosts is that they supply great notes upon the excellent local shopping and hostelries etc. It has fast become my favourite place for a break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous, informal yet luxurious feel of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
thankyou so much we are pleased you enjoyed it we do too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRBS2013
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, relaxing and quirky!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A lovely spacious flat, high ceilings and full of period features. The contents are a fascinating mix of old and new which give definite feeling of French chic leaning towards the Bohemian! The beds and sofa are large and comfortable and the flat warmed quickly in the chill September evenings once the heating was on. Good access into Hastings by bus if need be, although we wouldn't advise walking up from the seafront in the rain without a brolly! Nicely positioned for visits to NT properties like Bateman's and Bodiam too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good spacious feel, very relaxing. Good location for exploring Hastings and surrounding area.
Liked least: Kitchen layout not very practical. Sink too high, worktop space limited. Fridge and microwave tucked away in utility room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
oh we went to batemans its the home of rudyard kipling its a good tip we will put it in as a must do in the guide
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so beautifully decorated and furnished
Liked least: Hmmm them thar hills mean flat heels only
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
wow thanks for the review we so glad you liked , thats my personal dvd collection so I am flattered , it is our home too so thats why its so homey a bit like staying at a friends house , you can even borrow one of my jumpers if you get cold !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nicola w
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab holiday home. Gorgeous decor”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had such a nice time and its just so welcoming when you open the front door. We spent Easter here and had such a lovely break even though it was snowing! It's in a lovely area with a nice walk in to town. The owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The notes they gave us were invaluable to our trip. Lots of hints and tips on where to go and eat. Would love to return in the summer and have recommended it to all my friends. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeously large front room with the sea view and the cosy sofas
Liked least: The weather! Haa
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
Sorry about the snow in June ! And thank you for a lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: appartment was light and airy and very comfortable.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
Thank you so glad you enjoyed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
607Jannet...
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Relaxing, comfortable, unique”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Very spacious, lovely decorating, felt at home at once. Had a very good time here, even if it was just 4 days. Like to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: de fijne adequate handelwijze van de eigenaar, maakte ons extra welkom.
Liked least: Steile straat, niet gewend, maar was niet echt erg.
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2013
Thank you so much sorry that the flat was not cleaned when you arrived the house keeper was at UNi!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing