We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe, friendly service”
Review of The Cookhouse Cafe

The Cookhouse Cafe
Ranked #39 of 378 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Hungarian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome in our cafe! We serve English breakfasts, omelettes, burgers, pastas as usual a cafe does. BUT, we serve HUNGARIAN lunches and HUNGARIAN desserts such as Beef Goulash or Chicken Paprikash. We are NOT restaurant, that is way we can keep our prices lower. If you would like to eat a nice breakfast in the morning, or would like to try something new, Easter-European food for lunch you are on the right place. BE OPEN MIND and you will enjoy every minutes of your visit! PLEASE NOTE: NO TAKEAWAY!
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice cafe, friendly service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were tempted into The Cookhouse cafe after Tripadvisor photo of creamy cake, which I think is a pancake cake! Although there were no pancake cakes or other cakes available on day of visit the owner did apologise and offered to get some ready for a return visit but we happily chose other items. Can strongly recommend the milkshakes - made fresh to order using fresh fruits - delicious. Would visit again but would love to see more cakes on offer please?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aradi A, Manager at The Cookhouse Cafe, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks for review!

Bad news: We will not turn to common cafe with scones and cakes. We are a cafe with HUNGARIAN lunches and desserts. Shame you could not even choose from other 6 different desserts.


P.S.: I took the Pancake Cake's photo off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A very nice cafe but possibly overrated”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I took a look on Tripadvisor and noticed the Cookhouse Café was rated as no 1 restaurant in Hastings so we decided to have light lunch there. Having driven from Maidstone I asked if there was a toilet and was told it was being refurbished which was a real shame as it's nice to wash your hands before eating and I trust the staff didn't have to use the public toilets at Morrisons like us. The food we ordered was good and well priced and we would have had a dessert or a cake to follow but unfortunately the menu was slightly lacking and we couldn't see anything special so we decided to have something elsewhere in the town. My overall impression is the Cookhouse Café is a decent place for a low cost meal and well worth a visit but it doesn't really deserve its rating and I doubt we will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aradi A, Manager at The Cookhouse Cafe, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Customer(s)!



Hope you will understand my position and will forgive me for not starting this with saying that I’m sorry.

How can somebody judge a place after the first visit? You had only cheap meals, did not try any specialities and did not even wanted to order dessert. By the way we have 6 different types of puddings and 3 different Hungarian deserts which are constantly available. If there is need we provide! Our menu is full of Hungarian specialities; that is why on some rare occasions we cannot provide some of them. This is because the ingredients come from Hungary and unfortunately we cannot buy the same quality in England.
Also please do not mix „low cost meal” with low cost price! We provide restaurant quality food, service and atmosphere with café prices.

It is shame you were complaining about our toilet. We decided refurbish our old fashioned, badly worn out toilet with our two hands a sign of respect to our customers.
As we cannot afford to close the cafe during this period (refer back to "low cost price") we spent time (often extending into at night) only after our long shifts. And some other customers were told it was being refurbished, they did not even complain.
Now the toilet is available to our customers and believe it, no other restaurant have a toilet like ours! We done it with our own hands the same way the decoration has been done in the cafe. Now you can decide
– Is the first place well deserved?



I think your rating was wrong!

Given points: Value-4, Atmosphere-3, Service-5, Food-4 added up equal
to 16. 16/4=4, Your overall rating was 3. Why? It shows something for me!


„My overall impression” about this review: You were disappointed by
the toilet issue (should not be!), but as its not really related to the service and
food, you had to create some made up problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much more than just a cafe”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food and menu choices a real delight to eat there the hungarian man's sense of humour is hilarious a real nice guy and nice place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeygas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great eating house”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Wow visited this cafe for the first time excellent food it cant be faulted and plenty to choose from !
a warm welcome and lovely atmosphere highly recommended !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite cafe in Hastings! ”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Best cafe in Hastings, lovely husband and wife team! Love the fact you have typical English food cooked well and the very very tasty Hungarian food!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cookhouse Cafe also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to The Cookhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing