We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“havealook”

The General Havelock pub
Ranked #93 of 396 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 October 2013

the general haverlock is a pub where the locals use they are friendly,the beers are cheap,they have tiles on the wall ot the battle of hastings,and other bits and bobs,seating outside,the staff are friendly,well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This pub is a lovely relaxing place to have a quiet glass of wine while watching the world go by. To the rear of the pub is a lovely cosy sofa (akin to the TV series 'Friends') Each time i return to visit family in Hastings and St Leonards i make this my pub of choice...

Thank Sile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Was aiming for Yates next door and found it to be closed for refurbishment. Liked the look of this pub from the outside so the four of us went in. Excellent choice of real ales for myself and father in law, and batman was knowledgeable about what he was serving. Ordered food which was excellent lunchtime bar food with a little extra class, though not cheap. All in all very nice old fashioned 'Boozer' but probably boring for youngsters which I'm happy about. Would recommend and will return next time we visit Hastings

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robthemod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Recently changed hands and had heard the new owner was running a good establishment , unfortunately definately not the case upon my visit, I would go as far to sat probably worse than it use to be, dirty pub, especially the toilets, rude staff and over priced drinks for cheap booze , what a shame , a no go .......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Whiterabbitrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The General Havelock pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

I dont know where you ended up but it wasnt at the General Havelock we have had our toilets refurbish to a very high standard and are inspected every hour buy a member of our staff. Cheap booze we do not only sell only top quality brands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My friends and I visited the pub after we had eaten nearby. There was a live band on which was playing good and varied music. It was quite busy but we got served quickly by the lovely staff. There where a few locals who we started chatting to, which made the night even better. Well worth a visit if looking for a pub in that area

    • Service
Thank shazzafee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The General Havelock pub also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to The General Havelock pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing