We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

The General Havelock pub
Ranked #100 of 378 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just passing and thought I would give it a try.
Well I'm glad i did, the food was great nice selection of beer and wine.
Seating outside
Give it a go

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soxeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great traditional pub!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This was the only pub in the centre of Hastings that looked worth trying. Good beers and nice staff. The place looks quite traditional and has some character. If I return to Hastings I would definitely come here again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaraMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice place for us who are not at college”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I really like this place, it's warm and cosy. We have been for Lunch and had a great time with friends the food was of a good standard and reasonable, really enjoyed it. We go in the evening also for a bottle of wine it's nice not being ripped of as the wine is of good quality and very well priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Instant Regular”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The centre of Hastings has been crying out for a proper pub. The service is excellent, the beer is well kept, the food is good and excellent value, in terms of both quality and quantity, they do the best garlic bread (£1.50) that I've had in the UK.

The locals are friendly and real people, no drooling chas or braying poshos.

The fact that the interior is quietly stunning and that both ends of the room give wide window views onto the passing world are additional attractions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,209 reviews
842 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“havealook”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

the general haverlock is a pub where the locals use they are friendly,the beers are cheap,they have tiles on the wall ot the battle of hastings,and other bits and bobs,seating outside,the staff are friendly,well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The General Havelock pub also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to The General Havelock pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing