We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent bar with great staff and service.”
Review of JD Bar Bistro

JD Bar Bistro
Ranked #89 of 366 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent bar with great staff and service.”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I had gone to visit a friend in Hastings who suggested we go to the J D bar for dinner and drinks. The food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The proprietors Suzanne and John couldn't of been more
welcoming. A great evening was had by all. I would definitely recommend the J D Bar to anyone visiting Hastings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoRyanDanielDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The homemade burgers are fantastic, and the service is superb. They have a good selection of beers and everthing is kept very well. Have made several visits to JD bar with family and friends and have been delighted every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James100375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings,England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Keeps us going back for more”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We've been going to JDs on a regular basis for quite some time,we are local to Hastings and have tried many of the places to eat the town has to offer,there are some good ones to be sure...but time after time we keep returning to Sue and John.
The menu they offer is quite varied,and the specials board changes often,but it's the quality of the food that always amazes us,their chef(and Sue) put together high end dishes,but not at high end prices.The portions are good and the service is alway friendly.The bar is well stocked,and the coffee damn fine!
It's worth walking that little bit further to find them....you won't be sorry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VmaxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantasic Burgers!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I had the most delicious homemade cheeseburger and thick homemade chunky chips at the JD Bar Thursday 23 May 2013. I strongly recommend eating at the JD Bar. Lovely owners, clean pub and toilets. They also have a very good function room to hire.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSCN1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Serves It's Purpose Admirably”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Have dropped in twice in the last couple of weeks, at lunch times and it was busy.
Mine hosts Suzanne and John, well nothing is too much trouble for them.
A good selection of beers, well kept, also the wine is good quality.
Food wise, the first time, ham, eggs and fries. Good quality ham, good quantity.
The second time, chicken with asparagus and bacon with fries and peas. Very
tasty and well presented but I felt quantity was lacking.
The atmosphere was, as you would expect for a small Bistro.
Plenty of space upstairs if you are a large group.
Toilets clean and clinical.
Value for money, I guess so.
Serves it's purpose very well.
Would I return ? yes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JD Bar Bistro also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to JD Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing