We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow factor”
Review of JD Bar Bistro

JD Bar Bistro
Ranked #85 of 358 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow factor”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As the credit crunch its not easy to find a decent meal but this surpasses a decent meal value for money and proper homecooked food; I had duck with cherry and brandy sauce and it was perfectly cooked and it didn't cost laods of money abs perfect

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camchan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    17
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Burgers...”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Being a bit of a (chubby) burger lover I had to check out JD on the recommendations of friends. Me and the lady checked them out last week on an early friday evening. The service was attentive despite being busy. We had starters of pate and squid (not on the same plate) and then treated ourselves to the JD special burger. Brilliantly presented. Would have been perfect but the toilets were a little grim (but as I said - it was busy).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Went for a family meal whilst visiting area on holiday. The place has a really relaxed laid back vibe and the food is superb. I had the fish from the specials menu hubby had the pie of the day & my son had delicious homemade macaroni cheese. The server / owner was really lovely and spent a long time chatting to us. Good value for money too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at a great price!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I had their Chili con carne burger and my girlfriend had the Tennessee burger. The burgers were hand made that morning and the mince was clearly of very high quality. They came with a generous helping of fresh salad and I had the chunky hand cut chips fried to perfection. They came out the kitchen in less than 10 minutes despite the bar being busy and the staff were warm and friendly. I heartily recommend this bar to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan186274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go here rather than old town”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I had the jd burger, my wife the steak and both were delicious. Service was quick, friendly and welcoming. Its a really nice bar bistro and whilst we we went on a Wednesday out of season, id go back there any time. Great value as well ( old town is overpriced). Thanks fir a lovely meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JD Bar Bistro also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to JD Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing