We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Youmethai

Youmethai
Ranked #73 of 357 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing view, service, food and atmosphere, we had a wonderful meal with friends and we have all definitely said we will return, the food was full of flavour, generous portions with great service. A wonderful place to come in Hastings

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hastleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    16
    0
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The main compliment I would give this wonderful place is the exceptional service my husband an I received.
The food was very good and priced well also, but the service was the stand out feature of this restaurant.
I would certainly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank misslisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb room - very disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently had dinner on a Friday evening at the Youmethai. The room is spacious, elegant and has a splendid view over the sea. Our French waiter was pleasant and friendly.

We ordered a set menu and this may have been a mistake. The starters seemed dry and lacked variety of flavour. The main course was rice and noodles accompanied by several dishes which all tasted the same. The main ingredients were there in abundance, juicy prawns, chicken, slices of beef, etc., but each dish was bland and we tried in vain to detect the characteristic flavours of Thai food - coconut, ginger, tamarind, lemon grass, chillies and so on.

We chose this restaurant after reading a series of favourable reviews on Tripadvisor. What happened?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All the ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered this quite elegant restaurant with its friendly welcome. Our table had a lovely view of the sea and the beach. The service was prompt and attentive and the food was excellent. The menu includes some interesting specials as well as the choices one finds in most Thai restaurants. We had a lovely dinner, at a very reasonable price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

booked a table for 6.a very pleasant restaurant indeed ,ambience of the place is delightful .opposite the seafront ,in town,ample parking on the seafront {at a cost) be wary of the mobile traffic wardens here in hastings they never stop ,so pay your parking fees .now on going into the youmethai was welcomed by a very courteous waiter who opened the door for you ,showed you to your table and even pulled the chair out for you ,( not many places do that where ive eaten )very friendly staff who accomadate all your needs .food was wonderful and a plenty. although there is a little niggle I had was that they don't do draught bitter.only tiger lager .or bottled lager and usual spirits good wine selection even thai wine if you like .however I did have the tiger lager for a refreshing change ,enjoyed it .a very good selection of thai dishes was welcomed to our table ,as I was dining with my 2 brothers and there partners ,my wife is thai and she really enoyed the selection of dishes from the menu .wholeheartadely I would recommend youme thai .not being biased, lovely setting on the first floor overlooking the sea,absolutely spotless in the restaurant as are the toilets .beautifully laid out .not to cramped at your table .overall an excellent night here .will be back again on my next visit .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baz653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Youmethai also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Youmethai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing