We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay - excellent value, shame about room change” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Second stay - excellent value, shame about room change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked a small double room at the rear of the hotel at £64 for one night and was very impressed. Room was on the first floor and spotlessly clean. It was also very nicely laid out with a plentiful supply of tea/coffee/biscuits. Bathroom was surprisingly spacious, with a bath (with shower over) and again, totally spotless. However, upon going to leave the room for the evening we were unable to unlock the door (the lock had jammed) so someone from reception had to come and let us out. She then asked if we would be ok to change rooms, we agreed as whilst this wasn't ideal we didn't like the idea of not being able to get out of our room!
When we came back from our evening out we were given a key to room 303 on the third floor. I think this was an upgrade to a king room (it was slightly larger with a bigger bed) and again we thought the room and bathroom were very nice and to a high standard. However, this room was a lot hotter than our previous room and even when we had the window wide open and the fan cooler on (not air con, just a plug in fan cooler) it was still quite stuffy and difficult to sleep.
It's a shame that I couldn't quite give this hotel 5 stars as I really do think it's excellent value for money - the rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and staff friendly. However, it wasn't very comfortable sleeping in the heat, despite it being cold outside, and for this reason I'm giving it 4 out of 5. If I were to stay again I'd request a room on the first floor and I'd advise anyone who doesn't like sleeping in a hot room to do the same. Perhaps the hotel might think of installing some air conditioners in the rooms on the 3rd floor as they are obviously are a lot hotter than the others?
This is our second time at the White Rock and I would still very much recommend it to anyone staying in Hastings. I would also return to the hotel too but just make sure I request a first floor room!

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Student123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    180
    55
    27
    10
See reviews for
66
219
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The sea view was great but the main road noise was dreadful. The south facing bedroom needed air-con but just had a noisy free standing air-cooler - which stood no chance. There was a huge street light outside so black out blinds would be the only way to have night darkness - the bedroom curtains stood no chance.Plus the ground floor bar has a road side balcony which is just below the rooms where drinkers revel until the bar closes at 11 pm then throughout the night any passing party goers can sit to loudly talk and laugh - the double glazed windows stood no chance. The corridors to the rooms are narrow and badly lit. This was a bad choice for my husband and I to have a romantic weekend away!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter but you look out over flat roof to the car park. Maybe the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamethley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We enjoyed a two night stay during Hastings week at the start of August. We had a small rear double, which for £64 we considered value for money. Our only suggestion would be to improve the lighting in the bathroom and also install a towel rail/hooks.

We enjoyed breakfast both days which was delicious and good value. Hotel residents get a 20% discount off beakfast menu prices if charged to their room.

This was our second stay and the we have always found the staff helpful and friendly. We will be booking in again for next year as it is our hotel of choice in Hastings.

Room Tip: The hotel has free parking which is a boon for Hastings as lots of the other options lack this, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillnBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the White Rock for 1 night and were pleased with our stay which was good value with a £25 discount through Trivago and then Bookings.com. The hotel was very clean and the sea view room was immaculate. There are some nice touches such as water in the fridge, quality tolieteries and helpful information. They have a lovely balcony overlooking the sea, but for smokers it is poor as you are not allowed to smoke outside on it, despite it being outside and also not even on the steps. There are 2 sides and they could at least have allowed one side for this. The breakfast was not included, but you get a 20% discount as a resident. The full English was good, although they say 'Audrey has been cooking the eggs for 45 years' and that's why it's named that way, but all 4 eggs were hard! The young guy on reception on the afternoon of 25/8 who showed us to our room was excellent. He took us to the room, explained a lot and delivered great customer service. Overall, enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have a poor view, front one lovely sea view but noisy with traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeep69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed for one night as a stop over for my husband to go kite buggy-ing in Camber Sands the next day.
Easy to find, and right opposite the pier so easy access to town, bars etc.
Our room was on 2nd floor sea view, looked recently redecorated, was very light and modern room, with excellent bathroom (except pressure on shower which was not great!) Clean room, and outside areas, pet friendly which is a bonus, and 2 large terraces which are non smoking.
Ate dinner, standard pub type food and very good priced, overall service was good

Would stay again if needed to be in that area

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed for 4 nights over a long weekend. Room well appointed and actually had 2 easy chairs and a table so we could relax with a book. Very convenient location.
Breakfasts enormous but plenty of choice and cooked to order. We did have dinner one night and found the service somewhat haphazard - thought the staff were unsure of their roles and tried to do everything or nothing.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have just come back from a long weekend in Hastings and pre booked this hotel, after reading the reviews.
There is a small private car park at the back, good job we arrived early, spaces are limited, the reception staff were very friendly, our room was on the third floor so we were shown to the lift and the receptionist said she would take the stairs and meet us there, we wondered why, when we got in the lift we understood, it was tiny!! do not use if you suffer from claustaphobia!!
Our room was spacious, bright and clean and overlooked the sea (and burnt down pier) but, in fairness, it was not the hotels fault that some mindless yobs had set fire to the (victorian built structure) quite sad really.
The outside terrace was nice, the bar area, lounge and eating area were also nice however, the narrow dark corriadoors and steep stairs were not so nice!
If you turn left out of the hotel, walk for 10 mins, you come to a lot of things to do for the kiddies (ours are grown up) but just beyond the crazy golf ect.. there is the lovely old town, with nice pubs and places to eat, also a couple of museums (free addmission) and a sealife marina.
There is also a lift up to 'West cliff' lovely views from the top but beware, the lift is quite reasonable but once at the top, there is a charge for the old castle ruins tour and also the smugglers caves tour which we thought were quite expensive.
If you go right out of the hotel you come across a nice Indian restaurant called 'Bay spice' we ate here twice, if you go along a bit farther you go into St.Leonards on sea.
The beaches are stoney and sea didnt look too clean but the weather wasnt good whilst we were there so we did not venture out for a swim!!
Going back to the hotel, the food was nice, service a bit slow but all in all we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Property: White Rock Hotel
Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing