We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the outside”
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Firstly, a big thumbs up to the local tourist information centre who not only recommended White Rock Hotel, but booked the rooms for us.
Upon arrival in the carpark at the rear, our expectations were quite low. There was scaffolding everywhere and the entryway seemed small, narrow and not well lit.
We trundled through a cold walkway to a narrow corridor and followed signs to 'reception'. At this point, we were worried that the hotel was going to be less than basic.

An inspection of the rooms quickly allayed any fears we had. They were well appointed with lovely linen, water, coffee making facilities and a small bar fridge. We needed a connecting room for the children which had been arranged without concern. The bathroom connected the two rooms.
The twin room for the children (aged 4 and 6) was perfect - warm, cosy and quiet (and their own tv!). The bedding was fluffy and comfortable for them. I am unsure what security features there are for the door as we just lugged one of the heavy luggage bags in front of it ensuring the children couldn't get out.
The bathroom was spotless, modern with lovely linen and toiletries. The only downside in the bathroom was the glass hinged screen which swung past the bath edge and didn't have an auto return on it - we had concerns one of us or the children would walk into/thru it. This was easily fixed using a bathtowel to keep it from moving past the bed edge.

The double bed was warm and comfortable with fresh crisp linen.

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant only due to extreme tiredness and the local pizza place was more than happy to deliver to the rear carpark (for ease).

We did eat breakfast in the restaurant and couldn't have been happier. It was decently priced and delicious.

The service throughout our stay was pleasant and accomodating.

The only down side is the size of the lift (tiny is an understatement) and the narrow creaky corridors.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooper2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Rooms are nice and it's great to have a window that opens - fantastic shower too. Bit cheeky to have to pay extra for breakfast though. When being shown to your room by the slightly nerdy guy in reception don't be put off by the slim-line darkly painted corridors and creaky floorboards - you aren't in The Amityville Horror, just pray no-one is coming in the opposite direction because there are no passing places and it could be a squeeze. The woman on reception is an unsmiling very unhelpful type who just wants your dosh double quick then 'NEXT!' So apart from the staff, this is a pretty decent hotel and Hastings is great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank memyselfiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I had need to stay in the Hastings area on Business, having stayed at a St Leanords Hotel earlier I the year I was very surprised at he standard provided by the white Rock Hotel – it far exceeded expectations – yes some floor boards creaked but once off to sleep in was fine.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean, the radiators controlled by you, plenty of hot water. The only drawback was it was a shower room not a bathroom, although he shower cubicle was large.

I thoroughly recommend the “Audrey” breakfast – cooked fresh to order and excellent one of the best I have had for ages.

Would I go back – absolutely.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights mid-September and took our two Labradors with us and booked a king size room. I did ask upon booking that we had a second floor instead of third because of the dogs and they had no lift, but they had none available on the second floor so we did have to go up several flights of stairs to get there - good exercise though!
The staff were very welcoming and gave the dogs treats and fussing whenever they saw us and even made bowls of rice for the dogs when they were ill.
We ate in the hotel every day as we were allowed to take the dogs in the restaurant with us and the food was incredibly good and reasonably priced, same with the drinks. We charged most food and drinks to the room and expected a massive bill when we left, but was pleasantly surprised!
The hotel itself is in a great location and is right on the seafront, you could hear the waves crashing as you lay in bed. The room itself was cleaned every day and tea and coffee facilities replenished. The en-suite had some broken tiles on the floor, but they weren't a massive issue. As someone else said, the room was very hot, we ended up using a lot of our water in the air conditioning unit trying to cool the room down - maybe invest in built-in air-con in the top floor rooms?
Overall, it was fantastic value for money and we are looking to go again next year as we have never been to a hotel so welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have a great view but try to get one on the second floor as it'll be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairestar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Staff friendly and helpful but the floor above our room was a bloody nightmare.
The floor above us was so creaky and noisy that we were kept awake late and woken at about 6.30 so not a very relaxing night sadly.
Shame really,nice place otherwise.
I left my phone number with reception and asked them to phone me to discuss the issue but they never got back which was also annoying.
Want a good nights sleep? Dont stay here.

Room Tip: Take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gck1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked a small double room at the rear of the hotel at £64 for one night and was very impressed. Room was on the first floor and spotlessly clean. It was also very nicely laid out with a plentiful supply of tea/coffee/biscuits. Bathroom was surprisingly spacious, with a bath (with shower over) and again, totally spotless. However, upon going to leave the room for the evening we were unable to unlock the door (the lock had jammed) so someone from reception had to come and let us out. She then asked if we would be ok to change rooms, we agreed as whilst this wasn't ideal we didn't like the idea of not being able to get out of our room!
When we came back from our evening out we were given a key to room 303 on the third floor. I think this was an upgrade to a king room (it was slightly larger with a bigger bed) and again we thought the room and bathroom were very nice and to a high standard. However, this room was a lot hotter than our previous room and even when we had the window wide open and the fan cooler on (not air con, just a plug in fan cooler) it was still quite stuffy and difficult to sleep.
It's a shame that I couldn't quite give this hotel 5 stars as I really do think it's excellent value for money - the rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and staff friendly. However, it wasn't very comfortable sleeping in the heat, despite it being cold outside, and for this reason I'm giving it 4 out of 5. If I were to stay again I'd request a room on the first floor and I'd advise anyone who doesn't like sleeping in a hot room to do the same. Perhaps the hotel might think of installing some air conditioners in the rooms on the 3rd floor as they are obviously are a lot hotter than the others?
This is our second time at the White Rock and I would still very much recommend it to anyone staying in Hastings. I would also return to the hotel too but just make sure I request a first floor room!

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Student123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The sea view was great but the main road noise was dreadful. The south facing bedroom needed air-con but just had a noisy free standing air-cooler - which stood no chance. There was a huge street light outside so black out blinds would be the only way to have night darkness - the bedroom curtains stood no chance.Plus the ground floor bar has a road side balcony which is just below the rooms where drinkers revel until the bar closes at 11 pm then throughout the night any passing party goers can sit to loudly talk and laugh - the double glazed windows stood no chance. The corridors to the rooms are narrow and badly lit. This was a bad choice for my husband and I to have a romantic weekend away!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter but you look out over flat roof to the car park. Maybe the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamethley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £86 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing