We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Haven in Hastings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Haven in Hastings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here by default really as the accommodation was booked by my employer. What a lovely surprise - a hotel with a bit of character! As previous reviews have said this is an old building so the corridors are narrow, floorboards creak and stairs are steep in places, but the small lift does it job!
The reception on arrival couldn't have been more friendly. My room was on the top floor overlooking the pier - apparently they are on track to re-open the pier next year, it's still a mess at the moment but fascinating to watch. Room was lovely and bright, bathroom very clean and modern. Good choice of tea/coffee etc. really comfortable bed with wonderfully soft pillows.
My colleague and I ate at the hotel the for two nights and were surprised with the amount of choice we had. The food is reasonably priced and really good, thoroughly enjoyed it.
Breakfast was included in our stay, bacon sandwiches are fabulous!
Really enjoyed being able to go out for walk along the prom in the evening which is a bonus when you are away from home. Loved the comfortable residents lounge, very relaxing area.
Finally a big thanks to all the staff for making this pleasant, enjoyable stay - shame about having to go to work! Fully intend to return for a weekend break!

Room Tip: Sea view room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKIDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    180
    55
    27
    10
See reviews for
66
219
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked our stay at the White Rock via their website. £64 for a double room seems pretty good to me (local budget hotels were asking the same or more). The location is ideal. The website points out that these rooms are small and at the back of the hotel - we were very pleasantly surprised by what we got: a comfortable (not large but certainly not cramped), modernised, tastefully decorated double room plus good size modern bathroom. No disadvantage to being at the back - if you prefer a sea view go for it: the rooms look lovely but we were very happy with our choice. As other reviews say - the staff could not have been more courteous, helpful and friendly. The food was good - especially the bar snacks which are great value. We also really appreciated the separate residents' lounge. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: See above. As the website says "Double rooms are our smallest rooms - at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelessfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff and the dog was made to feel welcome too. Rooms were a good size and the shower an excellent size with fresh towels daily. Had a sea view and was not disturbed by the traffic noise being on the third floor. Food was excellent and inexpensive. Quality and quantity were excellent value for money.
Easy walking distance to the town and everything on a level for those with mobility problems. Would recommend this hotel for all ages!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely time in hastings, our room was reasonable priced, there was free parking in the hotel's car park, the room was tidy and there was free water tea and biscuits in the room. The hotel is walking distance from the old town so once the car went into the car park there was no need to take it out again until our journey home. The hot water didn't work so well, but we reported it to the hotel and they advised us it would be fixed, however we were leaving that evening. In my opinion, the best thing about this hotel is it is dog friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

First the good news. All the staff were unfailingly courteous, helpful and friendly.
The seaview bedrooms at the front are noisy so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back. Our seaview bedroom on the 3rd floor with 2 double beds was small but adequate. The beds were comfortable and the usual tea-making facilities were provided. The en-suite shower was clean and more than adequate.The price for Room only was surprisingly high for a 3* hotel @ £188 for 2 nights.The narrow corridors came as a surprise and the tiny lift (suitable for 2 people only without luggage) was claustrophobic and used only once forcing use of the steep, narrow stairs.
The restaurant/bar area looks really tired. Meals for residents (or non residents) were limited but reasonably priced. Expect delays even for residents if the bar is busy.40 minutes waiting was unacceptable. But why oh why is there not a breakfast self service buffet? I accept breakfast is very modestly priced but is it really necessary to charge separately for juices or toast? Why is muesli priced only with milk? If you want yoghurt you have to choose or pay extra unless staff are accommodating which in our case they were. What is wrong with 2 types of breakfast; full or continental? The price could reflect the greater choice and convenience of self service.
Overall this is a typical 3* hotel. Adequate but with no apparent pretensions to improve or get an extra *. Would we return? No.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okwherenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights but knew nothing about the hotel as we hadn't pre booked. The hotel is on the coast road, opposite the (burnt down) pier, conveniently close to the town & within easy walking distance of the charming Old Town.
We were given a lovely sea view room, which was clean & nicely furnished, with a good sized bed. The bathroom was well equipped with a large bath & overhead shower.
The bar/restaurant serves reasonably priced, well presented food. I would recommend the Mediterranean Platter, olives, humous, grilled halloumi, dolmades, salad & pitta bread for £6.50. The breakfast is not included in your room price, bizarrely. However, if you charge the price of your breakfast to your room, you get a 20% discount, making a cooked breakfast £4.80. We ate both nights in the hotel & the food was delicious.
There is a small car park behind the hotel & if you can't get in there, the hotel will give you tokens to park in the car park opposite.
The hotel is in an old building, so be prepared for narrow stairs & dark corridors, however the rooms are bright modern & clean. All the staff were friendly & very helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatingforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for one night with my girlfriend on the May bank holiday Monday on the way back from the south east coast. We didn't realise it was the Jack on the Green Festival when we booked! As we approached the main road into town we were greeted by 35000 bikers and 1000s of people! An exciting arrival. I love bikes but the GF was gobsmacked.
Found the carpark at the back of the hotel - quite small but still some spaces for us. The entrance into the hotel from the carpark is a bit grim and not very welcoming - metal stairs that could do with a spruce up and intercom security door.
The receptionist was lovely and showed us to our room. We had the sea view room with french doors. Clean, Newly refurbished, with a good bed and new bathroom. Plenty of tea and coffee for us.
The reception and bar area downstairs could do with a refurbish and investment in new sofas but was ok. We went out out for a tasty curry at flavours of india in town and were entertained by the local revellers being filmed for "cops on camera" on the way back to the hotel. lol.
Despite the festival we had a good nights sleep. The breakfast price in the hotel was a bit steep so we wandered down the far end of town into the lovely old fishing area. Fair play to the council - they were up early and had cleaned the streets. You would never had thought there were thousands of people in town earlier. Had a massive breccy for two including chips for a tenner at the mermaid cafe. yummy.
We didn't have to check out until 12 which was good. The friendly owners were on reception when we checked out along with their two dogs and lovely old cat.

Room Tip: Nice sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Property: White Rock Hotel
Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing