We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasctic Loctation and very dog friendly”
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a family weekend staying at the hotel. I could not fault it. The rooms were lovely with wonderful seaveiws. We ate all meals in the hotel and everyone all 8 of us were happy with our food. The price was good. What made this great for me was it was dog friendly, my little wesite was wecolme in all parts of the hotel and was given a few little doggie treats too. Would highly recomded this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Couldn't have had a better weekend. From arrival staff were friendly, the hotel was clean, comfortable, and located brilliantly for everything we needed. Bar and bar food were great and sitting on the terrace basking in the sunshine couldn't have been better. Views along the seafront from the room were great, free wifi, tv, and an amazing shower too.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will certainly stay here when we visit Hastings again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here by default really as the accommodation was booked by my employer. What a lovely surprise - a hotel with a bit of character! As previous reviews have said this is an old building so the corridors are narrow, floorboards creak and stairs are steep in places, but the small lift does it job!
The reception on arrival couldn't have been more friendly. My room was on the top floor overlooking the pier - apparently they are on track to re-open the pier next year, it's still a mess at the moment but fascinating to watch. Room was lovely and bright, bathroom very clean and modern. Good choice of tea/coffee etc. really comfortable bed with wonderfully soft pillows.
My colleague and I ate at the hotel the for two nights and were surprised with the amount of choice we had. The food is reasonably priced and really good, thoroughly enjoyed it.
Breakfast was included in our stay, bacon sandwiches are fabulous!
Really enjoyed being able to go out for walk along the prom in the evening which is a bonus when you are away from home. Loved the comfortable residents lounge, very relaxing area.
Finally a big thanks to all the staff for making this pleasant, enjoyable stay - shame about having to go to work! Fully intend to return for a weekend break!

Room Tip: Sea view room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKIDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked our stay at the White Rock via their website. £64 for a double room seems pretty good to me (local budget hotels were asking the same or more). The location is ideal. The website points out that these rooms are small and at the back of the hotel - we were very pleasantly surprised by what we got: a comfortable (not large but certainly not cramped), modernised, tastefully decorated double room plus good size modern bathroom. No disadvantage to being at the back - if you prefer a sea view go for it: the rooms look lovely but we were very happy with our choice. As other reviews say - the staff could not have been more courteous, helpful and friendly. The food was good - especially the bar snacks which are great value. We also really appreciated the separate residents' lounge. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: See above. As the website says "Double rooms are our smallest rooms - at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelessfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. Very friendly staff and the dog was made to feel welcome too. Rooms were a good size and the shower an excellent size with fresh towels daily. Had a sea view and was not disturbed by the traffic noise being on the third floor. Food was excellent and inexpensive. Quality and quantity were excellent value for money.
Easy walking distance to the town and everything on a level for those with mobility problems. Would recommend this hotel for all ages!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely time in hastings, our room was reasonable priced, there was free parking in the hotel's car park, the room was tidy and there was free water tea and biscuits in the room. The hotel is walking distance from the old town so once the car went into the car park there was no need to take it out again until our journey home. The hot water didn't work so well, but we reported it to the hotel and they advised us it would be fixed, however we were leaving that evening. In my opinion, the best thing about this hotel is it is dog friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

First the good news. All the staff were unfailingly courteous, helpful and friendly.
The seaview bedrooms at the front are noisy so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back. Our seaview bedroom on the 3rd floor with 2 double beds was small but adequate. The beds were comfortable and the usual tea-making facilities were provided. The en-suite shower was clean and more than adequate.The price for Room only was surprisingly high for a 3* hotel @ £188 for 2 nights.The narrow corridors came as a surprise and the tiny lift (suitable for 2 people only without luggage) was claustrophobic and used only once forcing use of the steep, narrow stairs.
The restaurant/bar area looks really tired. Meals for residents (or non residents) were limited but reasonably priced. Expect delays even for residents if the bar is busy.40 minutes waiting was unacceptable. But why oh why is there not a breakfast self service buffet? I accept breakfast is very modestly priced but is it really necessary to charge separately for juices or toast? Why is muesli priced only with milk? If you want yoghurt you have to choose or pay extra unless staff are accommodating which in our case they were. What is wrong with 2 types of breakfast; full or continental? The price could reflect the greater choice and convenience of self service.
Overall this is a typical 3* hotel. Adequate but with no apparent pretensions to improve or get an extra *. Would we return? No.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okwherenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £87 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing