We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel let down by it's lack of thought for guests with mobility problems.”
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good hotel let down by it's lack of thought for guests with mobility problems.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recommended this hotel to a friend who was visiting with a friend who needed a wheelchair. A few weeks before their arrival I dropped into the hotel and was disappointed to find that the lift to the ground floor was out of use. I was told that it would be fixed very soon. Well - very soon became three weeks. My friends arrived to find no lift, the hotel had given them the option to withdraw their booking and promised that help would be on hand.
They arrived and found no help. They said they had a temporary ramp but none was present. No one was available to help. it got worse when they reached their room. A free standing cabinet in the bathroom not attached to the wall almost tumbled on her. There were no grab rails in the bathroom. When I phoned to complain on their behalf, I received a lot of apologies but no promise of help. The mouth piece of the hotel was not able to offer any solutions. My friends continued to labour up and down the stairs with one having to carry a very heavy wheelchair with no assistance.
This is a good hotel with a good bar and mostly good food (I would have to say that the ploughman's lunch is very disappointing.with packaged soft sliced bread - really weird in a town with so many artisan bakers)
They have let themselves down with their lack of thought for my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iclaudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    182
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
71
224
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Level Contributor
410 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First visit. Not the usual kiss-me-quick seaside guesthouse. This hotel is more sophisticated with nice terrace bars and a good breakfast service. We stayed on the third floor with a sea view. Yes the road can be noisy. Yes the room is hot and so we kept the windows open, but there was a portable air-con unit for use so in the end it was our choice to do it this way - perhaps Fri/Sat night the traffic noise is worse but Sun/Mon was bearable and the sound of the sea, when the tide is in, compensates for the occasional traffic.

Room fitted out very well (tea/coffee, biscuits, fridge, water) and bathroom was to a very good standard. The floor was very creaky (not sure what was under the carpets!) an the corridors and lifts very cramped - bit of a rabbit warren to get back to reception.

Staff friendly throughout. One word of caution was that we had an attempted break-in to our car in the car-park round the back.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms do have a good view, but suffer from road noise. First floor rooms have bigger windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The White Rocks hotel sits opposite the damaged pier in Hastings. It has an outdoor seating area overlooking the beach and is probably the best place in Hastings to relax and stare at the sea.

Food and drinks in the bar/cafe are reasonably priced and of decent quality. JJ who does pretty much everything around the bar/kitchen scene is brilliant, spending time with guests, providing excellent service and information and just being generally friendly.

The room was large, with a huge, comfortable bed, decent TV and channels, coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer etc. The bathroom was just a shower but decent, although very dimly lit.

We were here for 4 days and it felt great as a safe and comfortable base to stay in while we explored the surrounding areas.

The only complaint really is that the floors of the hotel are old, loose and creaky, so anyone in the corridors sounded like an elephant pounding past the room, while the room above us was obviously a Rhino.

The cleaners were in every day, with clean linen and towels.
The lift is the smallest we've every come across.
Free parking is available at the rear of the hotel for guests.

I wouldn't bother paying the extra for the 1st floor rooms "with balcony" as although they have french windows, there's no actual balcony.

Don't expect the hotel to be fancy, but it is very comfortable and friendly and in an excellent location.

Room Tip: We have 3rd floor sea view room, perfectly adequate but get used to the rickety stairs down to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank netyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went to this establishment after many years and there have been a lot of improvements, BUT, ......
We arrived early evening and the bar was quiet, 4 staff behind the bar all engaged in conversation. It took some while to attract their attention. We asked for the wine list which was produced in a timely fashion, BUT, it was so sticky and smelly it put us off any drink they might offer. May I suggest reproduce your wine list and advise your staff that paying customers are priority not staff small talk. We did order a drink but felt a bit of a burden and interrupted their moment. Not what one expects.

Room Tip: Was not resident
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I hate to write a negative review but this hotel was far from my expectations. The website looks great but the real thing doesn't look the same.

When we arrived finding a parking space was no trouble. Outside looked a bit tired but I walked into the lobby and changed my mind it was bright clean and modern. We was taken to our room, such a disappointment.

When booking I requested a rear room and that was confirmed. We were taken to a sea view room (number 314) the noise from the road was horrendous even with the window shut and the sea view was somewhat obscured by the dirt and rather large bird poo across the window. The room was tired dated and very hot. Went to reception to explain the situation. She advised that the hotel was fully booked and our reservation had been changed. Manager was out so said we would talk to him when we came back from dinner. When we arrived back. Another room, at the back had been arranged for us to change to. Was great but not sure how if the hotel was fully booked!

The second room was better. Still very hot but more modern and quiet than the previous room. Bed was very uncomfortable a bit like a waterbed with rocks in it. We slept on top of the duvet to try and make it feel better. Bathroom was clean and modern.

Floors very up and down but it is an old building and didn't particularly bother me.

On a more positive note the lounge was great. Modern bright great atmosphere with visitors and dogs. The staff here were great. Breakfast was nice although both days my boyfriend asked for breakfast without beans and both days breakfast had to be sent back. Food quick and hot and staff very professional.

I would not stay here again rooms seem to be pot luck if you get a good one or not. I don't believe my stay was worth £96 per night (inc cost of breakfast) but I probably would visit the lounge as a guest.

Good location about a 10 minute walk along sea front to the old town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for a girlie weekend and had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was lovely. Have the bacon sandwich for dinner, The corridors need a little tlc but apaart from that it was lovely. Will most definatly stay there again

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights here in May. Coming from overseas, but Brits by birth, we knew what we wanted, and weren't disappointed.
The hotel has character.
There was a spot of painting and decorating going on when we arrived in the lobby...but it all got tidied away. And this was early in the season.
Fabulous, friendly staff. Really went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly. Our initial room smelled of cigarette smoke (non smoking, but someone had been inconsiderate...) They immediately found us a replacement with many apologies.
Our room was super-clean. Spacious bathroom. Good towels.
The view from the bed and outside the bedroom window straight to the beautiful sea was a joy to behold. (and the wide, spacious and long promenade...with bike path fantastic for walking along...miles of it...).
Comfortable bed and particularly pillows.
Decor really rather good. Relaxing. None of the usual busy and ugly pictures on the walls.
'Fridge...free bottled water and tea.
Good bar, with lots of customers, many non residents too. We ate there once and it was good food, but there are lots of other good local choices too.
We really hope to make a return trip one day. It will always be a very happy memory for us both. Surely one of the best hotels along the front?

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Property: White Rock Hotel
Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing