We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the town”
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Rock Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the town”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This hotel is very good indeed. We had a big family suite - two bedrooms linked by a bathroom. The room was clean and nicely furnished although the carpet had some (old) staining. Bathroom excellent. Breakfast was very good but not included in the room rate. Hastings however was pretty grim - wandering round the shopping precinct at 6 pm on a Saturday there were groups of ASBO type youths hanging around and the shops were standard clonetown fare, not an independent to be seen.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    180
    60
    28
    10
See reviews for
71
223
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here, and it just gets better every time.
This is a family run hotel right on the sea front, with a lovely terrace where you can have breakfast, have a drink or just sit and watch the world go by.
The standard of this hotel is very good, the rooms are lovely, the staff are very efficient and pleasant, the bar is good, and the restaurant food is of a high standard.
We will be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davexanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

I have just returned from this wonderful hotel which overlooks the pier and is located next to the White Rock Cafe. I am amazed at the tasteful work the owners have done to the place since my last visit there. The bar and coffee bar are now in one spacious room, the residents lounge is immaculate and very calming, the old bar has been converted to a conference room with comfortable sitting areas just outside the room for networking and coffee. The sun lounge remains a pleasure to enjoy a spot of sunbathing with a beer or two!
My family and I stayed for three nights and were made very welcome by the staff. I like the idea of paying for only what you eat for breakfast. Choices are wide, from the full 'Audrey', a traditional English breakfast to Greek yoghurt or fruit platter. The cost of meals are very reasonable. We had a lunch there too, which again was reasonable to purchase and nicely presented.
I got into the cocktails - yum! These cost me no more than what I pay at my local cocktail bar in Staffordshire. One evening we went to an Indian Restaurant nearby - Bay Spice, where we had a super meal for 14 people.
I am looking forward to my next visit to White Rock, when I have been promised I will see more improvement. Well done to the couple who own the hotel and thank you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We had the first floor kingsize seaview room with balcony and it was so gorgeous. We went for a romantic getaway and thats exactly how it felt when we walked in the room, romantic and gorgeous! the bed was comfy with pure cotton bedding, a flat screen TV on the wall with freeview. Kettle, cups, milk, fridge, water, teabags, coffee all supplied and were complimentry. around 5 wooden hangers in wardrobe. bathroon was lovely, nice big bath where one end is shaped like a circle, plenty of room for two and water was very hot and bath filled very quickly, shower is a big head attached to the wall (cant take it off) and had a lovely spray. Housekeeping were great. Staff were so helpful and friendly and there terrace bar is gorgeous and when they say no smoking at all anywhere they really do mean that. We got a balcony to enable us to smoke out there but it wasnt a balcony that you could walk out on, just french doors with railings but was still lovely to have them open as you could see the sea from your bed and hear it too, so nice. We stayed in room 102 and we are definately going back and will request the same room. If you decide to stay there you must look up Cosmo chinese buffet restaurant, we were so impressed! enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamward381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed at the white rock hotel on july 22nd for a one night stay and i must say it was a very good experience from booking to checking out.
the location on the sea front is superb and the terrace and the breakfast / dining room very good.
The room it self was smallish but very clean and modern with all the mod cons you could need (we picked the least expensive room). The bed itself was very very comfortable!
There is also parking at the back (and they kindly allowed us to continue parking even after checkout)
The hotel is obviously a work in progress but it is however, the best place we have stayed in, in the Hastings area by along shot.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdx333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Hotel was excellent. Reception was friendly and helpful, regretted going up to the third floor in the lift - we could only just fit us two in there with our bags - very small space! Decided to use stairs after that! Room was a kingsize on the third floor with a seaview. Lovely view and nice to fall asleep listening to the waves. Room was spacious and tea/coffee making facilities were available. Bathroom was big as well with a rain shower over the bath (didnt want to get out of the shower!). Some complimentary toiletries were supplied. Had dinner the first night in the hotel which was nice but not much choice. Had dinner out the second night - the Italian Way was lovely and reasonably priced. Yes the corridors in the hotel were narrow and you could hear people walking past but it is an old Victorian boarding house so what do you expect - didn't disturb us though. Would definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_kelly_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed after a long trip back from Disneyland Paris with the children. We booked from France and used Tripadvisor to look for somewhere to camp out for a night before continuing our journey.
First impressions - good - fresh, clean and obviously been renovated (or in the process of being renovated). Right on seafront and good location (if a little noisy from the road) Reception/Bar - again good, modern environment, think they won an award for Best Bar? Reception book in was OK - wasn't overly friendly but efficient and smooth check in. Asked about food in the bar and was told children aren't allowed in the bar after 9pm - OK. This was at 6:30pm and my two were shattered from 3 days at Disney and travelling - no way would they be up till this time. But I guess I understood, so didn't think too much about it. In the end the kids were too hyper to take into an intimate, trendy bar setting so we settled for Fish & Chip supper and a run on the beach. Came back to hotel for a nightcap and mandatory glass of wine for the adults to wind down - only to be reminded again the children were not welcome after 9pm (8:15pm) - getting a hint here? Also there is a paragraph at the hotel door and in the rooms about well-behaved children being allowed till 9pm but maybe asked to leave if bothering other guests etc etc. Not very welcoming if traveling with children - made me feel uncomfortable.
Hotel pets - I love cats and dogs but my husband doesn't. There was a poodle sat behind reception when we arrived and a cat (Frankie) laid in the desk when we checked out - as I say I don't mind animals but my husband thought it wasn't good. If you don't like animals then you may want to be aware of this.
Rooms - were a let down - OK they have tried - decor is quite modern and fresh but it was a little tatty - carpet badly stained, curtain hanging off, tea stains on wall, windows dirty outside - however linen was fresh and clean, nice flat screen TV with freeview (if signal bit weak). Bathroom was lovely though, nice neutral decor, big bath/shower, nice complimentary toiletries, clean, white fluffy towels so that was nice. Maybe need a word in the maid/maintenance ear to be sure bedrooms are kept up to standard? Also a little odd - in the brochure it said 'take-aways welcome in rooms'? I thought this very odd and maybe explains the bad stains on the carpet - why would you allow this in bedrooms?
Breakfast - we thought was included in the £99 but obviously not. Hotel guests do get 20% discount but still £99 is not that cheap and to throw in a continental breakfast I think would be so much better. A little disappointed here.
Summary - OK hotel - it is trying to upgrade the hotel but needs to keep attention to detail and maybe consider if it is/isn't child friendly? Go one way or the other?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithFamily4_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.7 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Property: White Rock Hotel
Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing