We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staffing issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Hastings
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 25 August 2013

have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and have found that it has real issues with communication issues the hotel it self is okay but if you have a issue or complaint regarding your stay there no real customer care set in place for this im highly disappointed as im a disabled customer and on arrival my room had been re booked to someone else it put them in a situation which took a while to sort out the manager david was dealing with it and appeared helpful and apologetic and said because of the incident that my full stay would be reimbursed .

however since then ive had no communication with him even though ive called and been told he aint there or will get back to me im still waiting for the call or code

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

We’re sorry to learn about the poor experience you had eddie c. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted. To help us investigate this further please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Traveled up for honeymoon, charged £6 for a days parking. Staff unhelpful and very rude. Refused to supply jug of water made to pay £7 for two drinks, room was untidy with broken toilet seat. AVOID!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We’re really sorry to learn of the issues you experienced during your stay with us Simon C. We do expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights, 20th and 21st August with husband and daughter in a family room. Firstly, the manager stated he had recently taken over so maybe there are improvements in store? Anyway, he was very friendly, explained about the fact you have to pay to park, they are stuck in a contract with some company but he is trying to get them out of this. He did tell us parking was free in the road and there were loads of spaces so we did that. Right outside. Easy. We used the toilets by restaurant, not very nice to be honest, no toilet rolls in any of them, men or womens, but there was a sign for a wet floor so maybe someone was about to put some in.
The bedroom was large, lots of space to put things, television, kettle with tea and coffee, they gave us more stuff when we run out no problems. Only downside was I have to be honest the toilet stank of urine, but it looked clean everywhere, bath mat looked a bit rank to be honest though! We told the manager and he sent someone out within 10 minutes to clean the toilet. Sheets were very clean and bed very comfortable. Lots of towels, fresh each day and beds made, cups changed, soaps and plenty of toilet roll. So overall the bedroom was to be expected. But was disappointed with the breakfast, the man that worked there was really friendly, he was working as quick as he could clearing tables, bringing new food out etc and he did seem to keep on top of it just about. The only thing was I thought the food was a bit poor in the sense I think it was cheap brands, the sausages and bacon was not very nice. Also the fruit was lacking, some oranges in a syrup it looked like. Some little muffins and cold croissants, there was yoghurts and coffee but it was not as nice as I expected. I would definitely give the breakfast a miss and go to a café. Overall the Travelodge served its purpose as a cheap stay (I mean it is reasonable so can't moan too much), and was clean enough and about a ten minute walk to Hastings seafront which we loved. We had a good break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatMatKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have just spent two nights here and although room very comfortable we had to ask for extra toilet paper as it was nearly empty, also only one large and one small towel for two people so had again ask for more. The bathroom could also have done with being much cleaner as round the base of the shower and on the floor it had a border of old staining.
We were very disappointed in the selection of food for the cooked breakfast and at no time did any staff ask if we needed any help infact there seemed to be a very small staff on duty at any time. The second morning when we went down for breakfast we had to ask for milk, fruit juice (the machine was empty) and bowls for the cereal. We have stayed in other similar establishments and can only say that in comparison the service and attention to any details is far superior and certainly worth paying a little more for. We were also not made aware that parking had to be paid for from a machine outside as although there are notices up it is not something you would expect to do, it would be a good idea if the staff pointed this out when you book in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We’re sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay ChrisBam. We do expect all rooms to be clean and set up correctly for the number of occupants. Furthermore we’d expect our staff to be helpful and provide great service at all times. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care and attention to detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Travelodge have really upped the game with the Hastings Travelodge. All of the normal irritations of cheap & ancient mattresses & pillows, insufficient pillows, no breakfast, noisy premises etc have been addressed beyond recognition - I'll use this one again in preference to the competition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you want a twin room don't book a Travelodge as one of you will get an uncomfortable sofa to sleep on. One night with parking, breakfast and wifi costs nearly £100 - you can get a 4* hotel in Hastings for much less than for that price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Pat B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We’re sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay Pat B B. Not all of our hotels will have twin rooms with two separate single beds, however our family rooms contain a double bed and a sofa bed. We find that this set up meets the needs of our customers although we are sorry that on this occasion you found the sofa bed to be uncomfortable. We understand you are unhappy with your room rate, we are still committed to offering competitive rates and advise customers to book as far in advance as possible to access the cheapest rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The bathroom was not cleanest and the shower curtain had mould on the bottom.We paid extra for the "all you can eat breakfast"as it is claimed to be.It could possibly be renamed the "all you can find" breakfast.We arrived in the breakfast room at 9.00am(breakfast finishes at 10.00am) the hotel had run out of eggs.There were no plates,bowls for cereal or glasses for fruit juice available.Although we were told the hotel was fully booked there was only member of staff on duty in the breakfast room and he had to cook the food,clear the tables and wash the dishes and cutlery.The staff at the hotel didn't seem interested in any aspect of guests stay at the hotel.Had we been asked how our stay was when we checked out then we could have expressed our concerns but as I said before the staff seemed uniterested.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hastings

Address: Bohemia Road, Hastings TN34 1ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £46 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hastings 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hastings Hotel Hastings
Travel Lodge Hastings
Hastings Travelodge
Hastings Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing