We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hastings
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just about ok.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for one night at the beginning of August as we had escaped from Pontins in Camber Sands and needed a place to stay in a hurry. As a clean and basic accommodation for the night it served its purpose but I would not have wanted to spend another night in this hotel.
First of all - parking. Available but at a charge. £3 for 24 hours. As we had already paid £69 for a room at the hotel I do feel that this extra expense should have been covered by Travelodge.
Secondly - food. Microwaved but edible. I opted for lasagne as that survives a microwave quite well but a chef would benefit this place enormously.
Lastly - rooms. We had a room on the second floor and it was like a furnace. Travelodge obviously realise this as they provided a fan for the room but it was stiflingly hot and the fan moving the hot air around did little to help. I was woken twice by banging doors from other residents (none of the doors have soft closures fitted and slam shut whether pulled or not) and as I usually sleep through anything this needs mentioning.
In summary would I stay again - not if I could help it. Premier Inn are much better and if there had been availability it would have been a better option.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    181
    113
    51
    42
See reviews for
188
245
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Travelodge in Hastings - nice sized room which was clean and the bed was comfy. The staff were very nice and friendly but I thought they were expected to cover all tasks in the hotel and that seemed a bit unfair. The restaurant could be so much better if a chef was employed... the poor girl who heated our jacket potatoes managed to burn them in the microwave and all in all I wouldn't use the restaurant again - but I would visit the hotel again. Walking distance of the beach and town which was buzzing with young people. It was way too hilly for my Mum to manage but we just used the bus service which was good. It made a super break for us.

Room Tip: We had a lot of luggage and the lovely Barbara put us into a downstairs room which was very kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Travelodge advertise their hotels as cheap. Whether this is true depends upon which nights you want to stay - they load up the price on popular days and discount heavily on less popular days. We paid an average of £80 per room including breakfast over four nights in late July. Given the quality of accommodation (ie spacious and clean with a comprehensive breakfast) we did not think this was too bad.

However, looking at other reports some people must have had a different experience but we wonder whether they were comparing with boutique style of accommodation which is generally nearer £100 at that time of year. This 'hotel' is not boutique and does lack ambience.

We had a shock on arrival as we were directed to an oven called Room 21 on the second floor. It had been in the sun all day and had a flat roof. Ventilation was almost impossible, the corridor was just as hot and no other bedrooms were available. I am afraid we dismantled the window catch in order to fling it wide open and turned the room fan on full. By bedtime the temperature had dropped a little. We complained and on the next night we were given a room on the lower ground floor which was beautifully cool. Before leaving we reassembled the window catch.

Otherwise the accommodation was satisfactory and the breakfasts generous. The scrambled egg was rubbish as it is in so many hotels but the sausages and bacon delicious.

A very large plus point was the provision of light to medium evening meals which were surprisingly good and reasonably priced. It was a great relief that we did not need to leave the hotel to find an evening meal - It might have been a challenge to find a good restaurant in Hastings.

Another large plus point was the helpfulness of all staff without exception. Barbara and Jason deserve a special mention as they solved any problem we threw at them with a smile and occasional joke.

In summary we would recommend this hotel as a good utilitarian place to have a good rest overnight in the knowledge that once you have arrived you don't need to go anywhere else. Children will enjoy the hotel also as the rooms and public areas are spacious. If the weather is warm avoid room numbers beginning with two.

Apparently air conditioning will be installed in 2015!

Room Tip: Avoid second floor in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just spent 5 days in the Travelodge in Hastings visiting friends. We have had a lovely stay and this was made so much better by your Chef Roman, he could not have done anymore to have made our stay any better, He always went the extra mile to be as helpful as possible.
The only down side to our stay was that we weren't able to thank him ourselves on checkout as it was his morning off. This man is worth his weight in gold, staff in 4 and 5* hotels haven't been as helpul as Roman was.

Room Tip: If your staying for more than one night ask for a family room as the other rooms don't have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkles0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice, clean, quiet hotel close to seafront. Lovely staff. Had a nice meal here one evening and the lovely lady who served us (July 14th) could not have been nicer or more attentive. Lovely breakfasts too and the gentleman who attended to guests at breakfast was charming and helpful.
Only one quibble, it says there is no car park but there IS parking on site, at the front and side of this travelodge, seems a good excuse to let a 'third party' run the car park then charge guests to park there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Ordered a meal took 11/2 hrs to come with items missing no refund given said would do but already had waited 11/2 hrs just wanted to leave
Next morning no electric in room at 6am unable to have a drink or shower. Was not fixed by time to book out and no alternative offered

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

had a very good night and no noise. Had a room on lower ground floor to rear away from sun and road. Staff very helpful and attentive. I found the new bed confortable but my wife thought the mattress and pillows a little hard

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hastings

Property: Travelodge Hastings
Address: Bohemia Road, Hastings TN34 1ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hastings 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hastings Hotel Hastings
Travel Lodge Hastings
Hastings Travel Lodge
Hastings Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing