We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations & Change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expectations & Change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We’ve stayed at the Zanzibar several times before & always been exceptionally happy, the introduction of the busy restaurant in the former lounge and breakfast area has defocused attention to the detail that you’ll expect, for us the intimacy has gone & the Zanzibar is no longer a true five star experience; we will not be returning, real shame.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CockaSparra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    79
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
465
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Well was taking here buy my fella for a couple of nights away last Jan and when we arrived in the town I thought what in fresh hell is this!! The town looks run down and generally uncared for I had visions of some 1950's boarding house with a vile landlady and a 9pm curfew, but boi I was wrong.

We had a lovely greeting as we entered the lady who showed us round was totally charming the hotel and its decor was immaculate. We were led to our room which was stunning something from a New York boutique hotel not what you would expect from its immediate surroundings. We stayed in Antarctica it’s actually the one on the main pic on trip advisor, we had our own steam room and sauna in the bathroom and a bottle of bubbly awaiting us. We had breakfast in our room both mornings which was excellent papers were delivered to the room as well as a news letter letting you know all that was going on that day and good places to visit and places to eat all very informative.

We ate in the restaurant 1 night food was great service was so friendly you almost felt you were at a friend’s having dinner, there is an amazing American girl there for the life of me I cant remember her name but she is the best host possible. All our food was wonderful and to both our beliefs so CHEAP! Also excellent wine list.

Despite its shabby exterior the surrounding areas has many things to offer little lanes with antique shops and the Art deco pavilion is well worth a visit for the exhibitions or just for a bite to eat and a glass of wine on the balcony.

My advice don’t judge a book by its cover go enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVES_A_HOLIDAY_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is in a mid terraced Victorian town house and, when you look at it from the front, you assume that it is going to be nice, but we were wowed! As soon as we were greeted by the owner and shown to our room - Antartic - we knew that we had made a good choice.

The room was fantastic with whtie floors, walls, a huge bay window overlooking the sea, the sauna and steam shower were a little on the small side for two but great fun - especially the shower (lights, music, jets etc). We had breakfast on the chaise long with the window open and the sun streaming in - even in late October!

The food was superb. Dinner in the restaurant was fantastic and well worth going to on it own merits,, even if you are not staying in the hotel - great decorations, great ambiance, very attentive service, and extremely well cooked food.

The breakfast menu is amazing - we had it delivererd to the room and it was perfect. Rather than most hotels which juswt bring hot and cold all together, so by the time you've had your fruits/cereal, the hot has gone cold - here, they bring the 'starter' and then come 10 minutes later with the hot mains. Very thoughtful, beautifully presented and very hearty!

We have enjoyed a great stay and definitely recommend this hotel.

Hastings - for those of you who don't know it, as we didn't - is a great place to visit. The castle, the 'junk' shops, the fishing museum and the sea front. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We loved Antartic - South facing overlooking the sea from a huge bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cang30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We have stayed @ Zanzibar quite a few times now, this time we were in Morocco room over the weekend.It was great fun to stay in and as ever the service, food and extra little touches made our weekend such a lovely experience. We would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return soon.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

After staying there a few years ago, we decided to return to Zanzibar Hotel in Hastings for our wedding anniversary. It was even more wonderful...even though we have not visited for couple of years, we were greeted in the most friendly manner by Eva, who remembered us. She brought us complimenary wine and nibbles to our room. This time we stayed in 'India', a fabulous room on the top floor (opposite 'Africa' in which we had stayed on our first visit. The (new to us) restaurant Pier Nine is absolutely amazing. The incredible food, cooked by superb 25 year old chef Ben is totally outstanding. Imaginative, delicious and beautifully presented. Our dinner guests - Hastings locals, said it was the best food they had ever eaten in the town. Amazing breakfasts...lovely sea view...great cocktails...generous (free) canapés.... we can't what to return!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best. Book early! But the other rooms are lovelytoo (though those don't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegpeg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Lovely themed rooms, we stayed in Japan - not one of the largest in the hotel but really authentic and comfortable. Some practicality is sacrificed for authenticity (the Japanese wardrobe wasn't exactly useful!) but the luxury touches in the rooms add a thoughtfulness that more than makes up for it. Lovely range of coffees/teas, fresh milk and complementary water, with a range of glassware and Denby mugs. Spa bath, lovely soft towels and bath robes. Fridge and mini bar in the room, with free drink from the cocktail bar downstairs on arrival having been welcomed by Max who was very engaging (all the staff were equally friendly and attentive). The restaurant and bar are beautifully decorated and atmospheric. Breakfast was tasty and refreshingly different (with Champagne!) and our evening meal was fab. Even the DVD library was a nice touch, the whole experience has clearly been given a lot of thought and it felt wonderfully indulgent. The hotel sells parking permits for £5 including secure underground parking across the road which was great. Small downside was having to negotiate the stairs (no lift and we were on 2nd floor) but accepting that old buildings don't lend themselves easily to modern convenience. Hastings doesn't have a great deal to offer but thanks to Max and the team we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually styled so go for the one that appeals most. Note that all will invo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This Restaurant totally lived up to expectations! of my partner and myself on Saturday night, starting with drinks in the rather busy small cocktail bar. Drinks are not pricey which made and the cocktails were very good, it was a great start to the evening.
The staff couldn't be more friendly and the Manager Max was fab....
The food was spectacular. The fish cake starter was the best I had eaten! We dived into eating Goats cheese salad, a fabulous sea bass dish... the steak was to die for! We didn't need all this, as well as a side of seasonal veg (again A MAZING)!
After desert,which could have fed the room! We moved back to the Bar where the music was great, the ambiance private but fun and the drinks flowed nicely!
So much for an earliesh night! Loved every bit of the night!

Visited Saturday 27th October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Jonson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Property: Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing