We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did not dissapoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Antarctica room for one night with my wife. The hotel was recommended to us by friends. We liked everything about the hotel, great room (fantastic views of the coast line) good food in the restaurant, helpfull and friendly staff and a very good owner/host Max. Breakfast in the room was superb - made you feel special. Nothing seemed to be too much bother for Max and his team. Nice touch was a drink on the house when we arrived. Easily one of the best establishments we have stayed in - we shall return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is absolutely stunning. Everything about it, location, quality, cleanliness, hospitality and attention to detail is perfection.

The location is beautiful, right on the sea front of Hastings.
The decor in the restaurant and hotel itself is impeccable... The furniture is chic and sophisticated. Although very luxurious, it brought out the comforts of being home. Incredibly easy to relax and enjoy the atmosphere.
The restaurant serves absolutely delicious food, great value and variety. The menu offers something for everyone, cooked to perfection.

We stayed in the India room, upon arrival received a quick tour around and a welcome drink of prossecco and nibbles. The room itself was incredible, even better than the pictures and descriptions online. Enormous bed, exotic themed portraying the concept of being in India incredibly well. We chose this hotel particularly because of the bathroom. A spa bath easily big enough for two with jets, mood lighting and a feature rainforest style shower. The attention to detail across the bathroom, room and hotel is impeccable.

The price included a champagne breakfast which we had in our room. The menu caters to all, fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast, juice, tea, toast and champers! It was the cherry on top of our stay.

Best of all, the staff. Eager to help, kind and generous. The hotelier, Max, reminded us of a cross between Mick Hucknell and a young Justin Timberlake in his N-sync days. He was charismatic and welcoming.

I cannot stress enough how much of a wonderful experience Zanzibar hotel was. Will definitely be returning in the short future!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We chose this hotel for our 1 year wedding anniversary, we wanted a nice hotel with nice bathroom as being in the winter we knew we may not get out much! We stayed in India room, very nicely decorated, nice comfortable large bed, gorgeous bathroom with jacuzzi bath, the only downside to the room is the advertised "garden view", the hotel garden is nice to look at, the neighbours gardens (full of rubbish, old furniture etc) was not so pleasant to look at. The windows in these rooms would really benefit from some nice blinds.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly, however the arrival and departure were somewhat hap-hazard. On arrival there was some confusion about where we had parked, and little detail given about the area and places to go, and on departure there was no-one around at reception for a while.
We ate at the restaurant of the hotel (Pier Nine) of which there is a seperate review, but it was delicious!
We also had time to explore the Old Town which is quirky and interesting with some nice pubs and restuarants, we recommend the crazy golf too!
On our second night we ate at the very local Fontes (Italian restaurant), again there is a seperate review), this is only a few doors away.
Overall a lovely hotel, nice touches such as welcome drinks and the breakfast in bed, including champagne but just a bit more attention to guests on arrival and departure.

Room Tip: I would choose sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-Si1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Cannot fault this hotel. Stayed for one night in Africa room for partner birthday. The room was stunning, the food excellent and the service and hospitality is second to none. Ate in the Piernine restaurant also. Also excellent. Never tasted steak so good. Whole meal was excellent standard as was everything else. Can't wait to go back. Already planning next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I needed a nice weekend break before going back to work and this hotel ticked all the boxes, stayed in the Morocco room one night then the India room the second night. Both were equally as nice, and was lovely having breakfast in our rooms both mornings.

The staff were incredibly friendly and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The restaurant we did not eat in but was beautifully decorated and the menu looked great, when i go back i shall be eating there. Both days we did enjoy a couple of cocktails from the back and they were delicious.

I am looking forward to going back in the warmer months for another relaxing weekend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJWG666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A real gem of a b&b in Hastings. We received a complimentary upgrade to the Africa room with sea views. Free parking round the corner, fantastic service, complimentary champagne on arrival. Rooms are a large size and decorated individually. Great bathrooms with jacuzzi bath. Champagne breakfast in the room the next morning felt like totally luxury. We also ate in Pier 9 restaurant which was also fantastic. A great hotel and other b&b's should aspire to be this.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Poshtottytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here overnight with friends...We stayed in the South America room and it was simply fantastic - only one small criticism was the toilet took a bit of time to flush! But nothing major.
We arrived and was met my the wonderful manager who showed us to our room and talked us through what was in the area etc... and then offered us drinks to settle us in - perfect! With the peroni and vodak & tonic came along a lovely olive and toast nibbles.
The room was very clean - mini bar well stocked along with fresh milk to make tea coffee, lovely shower gels/shampoo/conditioner/and body cream! Lovely big soft towels, dressing gown and slippers!
The view although it was rainy was great and a telescope to see if further out to sea, a great touch!
We both had a great night sleep in a great size bed!
All in all a really fantastic stay at a great little hotel with excellent staff - really well worth a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the South America was lovely, friends stayed in the Africa again lovely - at the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Rock Hotel
The White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £173 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing