We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish with superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Roydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish with superb service”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our recent stay in the stunning Antartica room was a delightful experience.
Champagne Breakfast in bed with the amazing sea views was a really perfect way to start the day.
The Room and the whole hotel is so stylish, the food in the restaurant - we had both Lunch and Dinner was really very good, great choice, White Chocolate Desert - on my top three list of desserts ever. Service is effortless and friendly - would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    80
    30
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
479
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience of classy and elegant! My husbands 40th birthday present, stayed in the Manhattan suite, what an amazing room, duke box, enormous bath, fabulous bed linen! Sea view was wonderful! Dinner was a delight! Service excellent! Champagne Breakfast a must in your room, you really do want for nothing! Didn't want to leave!! Thanks to max and all the staff! X

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tina2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Literally just got back & really had to leave this review now!! We decided to stay in Hastings for our 1 year anniversary - Chose this hotel randomly which proved to be an outstanding choice. Our first night we stayed in the African room, and the South American on the second. Both absolutely took our breath away... The hostess was extremely catering and hospitable, she guided us to our room and brought up complimentary drinks and thoroughly made us feel welcomed without any feeling of invasiveness and left us feeling that way our entire stay. Both evenings we ordered room service and the food was AMAZING (Great chef, extra high standard) and promptly delivered (highly recommend the sussex 36 day fillet). Everything you need is in your extremely stylish room (including binoculars for sea viewing) leaving you feeling at ease and in the lap of luxury. The second night we caught up with the owner Max, an absolute top bloke just as friendly and as hardworking as his staff! Seriously recommend this beautiful hotel & thank you to everyone who works there, fantastic job everyone. We will be coming back real soon :) C&R

Room Tip: They are all amazing rooms, we stayed in the SOUTH AMERICAN & AFRICAN, both breath-taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbyandcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The missus and I spent two very lovely nights at the Zanzibar International, and I'd certainly happily come back again. We stayed in Antartica, which was a very spacious, warm, beautifully and stylishly fitted out room, with the most wonderful sea view aspect through large sash windows. Waking up (from the mega-comfy bed) to the sound of waves gently crashing was a most pleasant way to start the day.

Situated along a quieter part of the seafront, it's a great place to have a quiet ponder and wander along the promenade, amongst the occasional jogger and doggy walker. It's a good place to lose yourself a little bit. St Leonard's the town is a bit tired looking, but it was good to see some boutique-y independent shops and cafe's dotted around. The old town part of Hastings a healthy walk along the front (just past the pier which is being restored) is definitely worth a visit; the Jerwood Gallery is a pleasant distraction, but the little shops on West Street and the old High Street (especially '20th century fashion and design') really made a surprise. The hotel is also a good base for venturing further afield; unrestricted parking is available around the corner in Warrior Square (busy, but we always found a space) and you've got Bexhill (for the de la warr pavilion, a gig there the reason for our stay) and the very lovely Lewes not too far away.

The restaurant (Pier Nine) on the ground floor made the stay even more exceptional. We had three meals in a row; dinner the night we arrived, complementary breakfast, and an astonishingly good burger with roquefort cheese; yum! Super wine list and great ambiance, in addition to friendly and attentive (not overbearing) staff made each visit downstairs very pleasant. I also thought it was very fairly priced, given the quality of the food.

Overall I couldn't fault our two night stay. The centre-piece was the gorgeous room, and the whole time we had at the Zanzibar International was relaxed, comfortable and couldn't be faulted. Max the owner was clearly and rightly very proud of his establishment, his enthusiasm and warmth shared by all those who worked with him. Top stuff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Friendly attentive staff, great room, wonderful breakfast. All good. We stayed in Japan which, like the rest of the hotel, was full of interesting one off furniture. Hotel is right on the sea front and an easy walk from Hastings old town. Also had lunch at Zanzibar - good food, nice restaurant, excellent value but could serve a better range of beers - something local perhaps?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronblinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Paid the extra and stayed in the Manhattan Suite! Wow is all I can say ! What a gem. Beautiful huge room. Great staff. Nice restaurant to have a beautiful meal in! Will definitely be returning again !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary Dimmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Morocco room. This room has been lovingly furnished with original pieces, not tatty repro. It's quite a quirky room with the bed on a mezzanine above the lounge area, not for everyone but we had a few laughs getting in and out! The shower was lovely. The whole hotel seems to have been treated with a high spec in furnishings and care. We were here in February, and I can imagine the garden would be fantastic in warmer months. Breakfast was lovely, well cooked, nice presentation, and included if you wanted a glass of champagne! The choices were from a full English to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, served in restaurant or your room, we opted to eat in the restaurant. Breakfast is served till 10 am, they realise you don't want to eat at 7.30 when away for a break!The staff are all very attentive, friendly and a credit to the hotel. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening, and the food was excellent, only a very small observation was my partners bass could have had a little more veg included, my dish had a very generous helping, but it was still enjoyable. From the moment we arrived to leaving we can honestly say we enjoyed every moment! Well done to everyone for making our break perfect. We will be back ! This is very much a hotel for grown ups, no children, bliss!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Property: Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing