We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How hotels should be run! Just brilliant from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We both travel regularly and get taken to some pretty swanky places but after a 1 night stay at Zanzibar we both said this was one of the best places we have ever stayed.

It's not that the hotel is particularly beautiful - it's a large townhouse effectively right on the sea- it's what they have managed to do with the space (a gorgeous little garden area at the back, a well-appointed restaurant) and the level of attention to detail. From the well stocked minibar (Sancerre & gin & tonic with a lime for slicing) to the incredible champagne breakfast which comes as part of your nightly rate- this is how hotels should be run. Jason took our booking and met us when we arrived- very funny and charming.

Free, fast wi-fi and a great big shelf of DVDs (including The Life of Brian) they really have thought of everything. We stayed in India which isn't sea facing but it didn't take away from the experience.

Nice work guys.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayitjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wow - what a gem!

I normally would not choose Hastings as a place to stay but forget about that and visit this wonderful boutique hotel!!

From the start we were warmly welcomed, comp drink, lots of info.

The rooms are beautiful - we stayed in the Moroccan which was to die for - only criticism would be more space for using the complimentary tea/coffee area, larger sink but we are scraping the barrel here.

It is a real oasis and once inside or In the garden you could be anywhere in the world !!

The relaxed but stunningly designed restaurant was fab and the food top notch - nothing was too much trouble - This hotel should go on your bucket list !! Thank u :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyJSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had a fantastic overnight stay in the "Africa" room. Arrived to be greeted by genuinely friendly staff that were helpful and accommodating, we then had a superb lunch, the peppercorn sauce was to die for, the restaurant itself is very classy. The spa bath was very romantic and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was a feast, the best we have experienced. Then upon departure we met the max, who was charming and very helpful, cannot recommend this highly enough, cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Africa was very comfortable and stylish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Unique and wonderful boutique Hotel. We stayed in the Manhattan room - felt very indulgent. Best hotel breakfast I've ever had. Big stylishly decorated room. Nice big, deep bath big enough for two. Great views of the sea. With the windows open we could hear the waves lapping on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a lovely weekend break. Very comfortable room and super breakfast. Enjoyed dinner at Pier Nine too - delicious! Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Stayed in the Moroccan room - quirky and cosy. Will certainly return to try another room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely amazing!!! The owner Max showed us around personally, which was very nice.
The hotel was very unusual in a nice way and decorated beautifully.
We were upgraded to the lovely Indian room with the best jacuzzi bath ever :-)
The complimentary drinks to the too on arrival was a lovely thought, especially after we had driven two hours to get there.
The evening meal in the hotel was perfect and the setting was very romantic. Food was five star!!!
Breakfast was ordered for the room the next day and was outstanding!!
We will defiantly be going back and maybe next time we will try the Manhattan suite :-)
Thank you Max.
Catherine and Rabin :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank catherinePorstmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I needed to be in the Hastings area on a Saturday night for a event in Rye on the Sunday morning and the only hotel I could book that looked remotely half decent was Zanzibar. I travel alone and am very definitely NOT a light traveller - that would make possibly a difference as you can't park directly outside but it is possible to pay for a voucher form the hotel. The young lady who greeted me was calm with quite reassuring authority as I was quite stressed about the parking! Her customer care skills were superb.

I had probably the smallest room 'Bali' and would opt for a bigger room next time but it was none the less fabulous and exotic but functional.

I do think the USP apart form the rooms has to be the restaurant which is like being transported to a hot Mediterranean climate but with stylish and contemporary touches of elegance. The ambiance stunning and I felt very comfortable dining alone. The breakfast probably the best I have ever had including a glass of Bucks Fizz.

These are the words that best describe Zanzibar:

Quirky
Elegant
Stylish
Cosmopolitan
Inclusive
Warm

Room Tip: All the rooms are different - 'Bali' is possibly the smallest and better suited to single t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
627 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £174 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing