We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic luxurious boutique hotel that is good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic luxurious boutique hotel that is good value for money”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this luxurious lovely warm friendly hotel on the seafront of Hastings.
We were welcomed by Jason who was friendly and welcoming.
The room was large and warm with luxury elemis toiletries with a bathtub in the middle of the room.
The bed was comfy with luxury Egyptian cotton sheets .
We were given a choice of any drink on arrival that was served with nibbles .The minibar was well stocked and even had fresh milk for the tea. We had a great meal in the restaurant where we were joined by 6 friends.The menu choice was excellent and the food was local produce .
The breakfast was superb . We had a choice of breakfast in our room, the garden or restaurant. We opted for breakfast in our room at a sensible time of 10am.
The breakfast menu had a huge choice and even included a Buck's Fizz and gluten free bread.
The staff were all very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
Our overall experience of this hotel was fantastic it offers good value for money with luxury and service comparable to five star luxury. We cannot wait to return .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    82
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
489
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great time at Zanzibar. It was every bit as luxurious as we hoped it would be, especially the deep, Japanese-style bath. Great little touches - like the free welcome drink and the excellent breakfast - really made the difference, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjforrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Well, secret surprise for a very special person and the surprise was kept by the excellent staff at this absolute top notch wonderful hotel. Everything I asked for prior to our arrival was met with prompt email response.

We stayed in Manhattan......WOW!!! It is absolutely stunning...did I say stunning?...I meant REALLY stunning. We were lucky that we had a beautiful sunny day. We were planning on having a bag of chips on the seafront but didn't have to....chips from the restaurant listening to the Jukebox with the window open full in our suite, listening to the waves lapping....wonderful.

Then the bath....well, if you have a wife who is as beautiful as mine, smiling like a Cheshire cat soaking in the biggest bath I have ever seen, surrounded in rose petals....need I say more?

Dinner was absolutely fantastic, intimate and relaxed....food was out of this world(if a little overpriced) and we were still smiling at the end...didn't want it to end!!

Slept wonderfully in the amazing bed; even had the luxury of falling asleep watching the stars through the roof windows; the snoring from the other side of the bed slightly changed the scene though ;-) (Wifey getting old!!)

Breakfast was simply what you think you might wake up to in heaven!! Beyond good, beyond brilliant!!

BUT....this cannot be missed. The beautiful staff member that is Monica MADE my stay. I travel and stay in many places and I have never met such a beautiful person and committed member of a fabulous team that made the ZANZIBAR HOTEL quite possibly the loveliest stay ever.


6****** Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Stayed in Manhattan......WOW!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed 1 night to celebrate an anniversary and certainly wished it could have been longer. The Penthouse suite is huge, stylish, very quiet and comfortable with a breakfast bar and kitchenette and glorious sea views. Champagne breakfast in the room is indulgent and filling. The stated aim of the hotel is to provide a luxurious bolthole to unwind and re-charge and without doubt the friendly relaxed staff, small intimate nature of the hotel and host of little luxuries provided for guests, go a long way to fulfilling this ambition.
If you are looking for 5* conventional hotel standards and facilities which come with a big corporate chain, then this may not suit but for stylish, quirky short break accommodation , the Zanzibar warrants all the excellent ratings.

Dinner at Pier Nine restaurant was top quality in a lovely setting.

Possible minor irritations
- no lift - Our bags were carried to the top floor by Max
- no car park - free parking in the Square round the corner and luggage could be dropped off outside the Hotel
- on the busy sea front road - honestly didn't hear a thing at night on the top floor
- it's a tall thin converted property in a sea front terrace where not all properties have been as lovingly restored - enter this smart grey house and you are literally transported round the world. The bar,restaurant, garden area, rooms have been decorated with flair and imagination and solid quality.


Hastings on a bright and breezy spring day was a revelation too! Cliff top walks, interesting harbour area, small independent shops /cafes in the attractive Old Town with little alleyways and hidden gems, some fine architecture, miles of pebbly beach and all the fun of the fair if you wanted it. Hopefully the rather sad looking pier is being restored too.
Already saving the pennies as I would love to visit the Zanzibar again!

Room Tip: Manhattan suite is huge and fantastic but is up a lot of stairs. Saw Sth America which was also stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for valentines weekend in the Bali room, the room was lovely dined in the restaurant which was also lovely. Would stay again. Managed to get parked outside the hotel but had to pay but was only a tenner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better venue to see in my husbands 30th. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We had room service to our room from the Pier Nine restaurant which was just divine and just what the doctor ordered. My only comment would be the sound from the jukebox, I understand it can't be loud but I could hardly hear it. However, I am sure if I had asked the lovely Max to turn it up a notch he would have done.
The bath was incredible and the bed was so comfortable too! Hastings itself has a certain charm to it however, we didn't really leave the hotel!! We played mini golf but was straight back to have a very long lunch downstairs. It really felt like we were on holiday! We will return there soon, especially as they are restoring the pier too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorygetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We checked in to "India" on a last minute whim for Easter. It was the only room they had left and it's one of the not-so-good ones, with no sea view. We loved the room nonetheless. It's India without being an overdone pastiche, just tastefully done. The bed was lovely, so was the bathroom. We'd have cheerfully stayed another night if they'd had a room left for us to stay in.

Breakfast, which we had in the room, was well presented and delicious. We ere overjoyed that they cater for veggies without fuss, soya milk and all, and no need to make special arrangements. Everything we asked for the previous night just arrived, precisely on time, and with a smile. Really, it was that good.

The staff are lovely and very much seem to like working there.

Room Tip: Sadly, you have to turn a blind eye to much of the rest of the seafront road, and the area in genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#6 of 11 in Hastings
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#5 of 11 in Hastings
591 reviews
10.0 mi away
The George in Rye
6.2 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Property: Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing